We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5* Luxury at its finest” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ellenborough Park

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Ellenborough Park to your Saves list
Ellenborough Park
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Southam Road, Cheltenham GL52 3NH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Cheltenham
SW London
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“5* Luxury at its finest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

I am writing this review on behalf of my parents. I gifted them a nights stay at the Ellenborough Park Hotel. Upon arrival they were greeted by the they valet who dropped took their car for parking, they were then shown to their suite they stayed in the Kuato star suite. They said it was absolutely divine, it was luxury at its finest. They later settled to some afternoon tea in the afternoon, which they loved followed by dinner at the Beaufort dining room. My mother is a vegetarian and fussy eater, she came home singing nothing but praises over how attentive the staff were in catering for her needs. My father also enjoyed his meal and was exceptionally delighted with the level of service. All in all it was an amazing stay of luxury.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllenboroughPk, General Manager at Ellenborough Park, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Thank you for writing following your parents' stay in the Kauto Star suite. We are very pleased for you all that your present was so enjoyed and that your mother and father loved everything about their stay. We are pleased too that your mother was well look after in the Beaufort Dining room.
Our teams are always delighted to know that they have helped give our guests the best possible experiences.
Perhaps next time we can welcome you here as well.

Kind regards

John Hanna
Ellenborough Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    490
    81
    37
    7
    3
See reviews for
102
349
6
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Planned a surprise Saturday overnight stay for my partner for her birthday.
It could not have been more perfect. The grounds and surroundings are breathtaking, such a peaceful place.
Walking up from the car park you can't help but feel overwhelmed by the architecture and it fills you with expectation as you enter through to reception.
Internally, the building is traditional yet quirky and you can't help but look around at every single detail and decoration.
The staff, without exception are wonderful. Helpful, reverend and pleasant.
The room we had was outside in the courtyard and although it was a short walk from the main hotel, this didn't matter as it was wonderfully spacious, with a beautiful bathroom.
The spa is second to none, I would certainly recommend getting a treatment there with the very experienced staff.
We had cocktails in the bar before dinner, which were most excellent.
Dinner in the Beaufort suite was divine, we had a beautiful bottle of wine suggested by the very knowledgable sommelier.
At night, the hotel was pin-drop quiet. Which is generally what you don't tend to expect of hotels and so was a very welcome bonus.
Breakfast again, was delicious. Locally sourced food, fresh and tasteful.
I cannot fault our stay and it made a special day even more special.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllenboroughPk, General Manager at Ellenborough Park, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Thank you so much for your review of your surprise stay for your partner.
We are delighted that you both enjoyed your time here so completely and found everything to your complete satisfaction. We are also very pleased that your stay was so peaceful and quiet.
We hope you both felt fully recharged and we look forward very much to seeing you here again.
Kind regards
John Hanna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welovetotravel
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

We just spent 2 nights here to celebrate our 10 year wedding anniversary. It was a relaxing break with wonderful food and drink. We enjoyed the spa and went on a great 6 mile walk on the common that we accessed from opposite the hotel. The staff are really helpful and friendly which made the stay so enjoyable. I'd totally recommend this hotel for a romantic break.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllenboroughPk, General Manager at Ellenborough Park, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Firstly, congratulations on your 10th wedding anniversary-here's to many more.
We are delighted that you chose to mark this occasion by staying with us and we are very pleased that you had such an enjoyable stay and managed to enjoy a 6 mile walk on Cleeve Common, we look forward to seeing you here again hopefully before your 20th!
Kind regards
John Hanna
Ellenborough Park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

We have had afternoon tea at the Ellenborough a few times and it is amazing! Lovely large, yet cosy siting room with crackling log fire. Staff are very respectful and helpful making you feel very special. Reception staff greet you with a warm smile and are very helpful, Sarah was on reception when we last visited and she was very professional, yet warm and welcoming. Waiting staff very attentive. Thank you so much for a lovely afternoon

Room Tip: not the cheapest but possibly one of the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllenboroughPk, General Manager at Ellenborough Park, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Thank you for your glowing review on your afternoon tea experience here at Ellenborough Park.
We are delighted that you consider our teams to be of such a high calibre.
We look forward very much to welcoming you here again soon.
Kind regards
John Hanna
Ellenborough Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

We had an amazing dinner in the Beaufort Room this evening. The food, service and location were all fantastic.

I've eaten in a lot of places in Cheltenham (including Le Champignon Sauvage) and this is the best dinner out I've had in the area. Could not recommend it highly enough.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllenboroughPk, General Manager at Ellenborough Park, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Thank you very much for your glowing review of your experience in the Beaufort Dining room. We are delighted that you had such a good time and that you considered the food to be excellent. Our teams will be delighted to recieve such a nice review - Thank you.
We look forward to seeing you here again soon.
Kind regards
John Hanna
Ellenborough Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

Had lunch in the Brasserie for my birthday - the ambience, food and service were without fault. We asked for a tour of the dining room and were given a leisurely tour of the dining rooms and great hall.

Perfect place for a dinner party as there are rooms of various sizes for private dining.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllenboroughPk, General Manager at Ellenborough Park, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
We are delighted that you had a very Happy Birthday and celebrated your day here in The Brasserie. We look forward to seeing you here again maybe to try the Beaufort dining room or perhaps afternoon tea.
Kind regards
John Hanna
Ellenborough Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

We stayed for one night 22 Feb and absolutely everything was wonderful. Have no complaints and whilst expensive it really is worth it if you have something to celebrate - or even if you don't!
I did ask for a room in the main building which we got and we did use the spa as well - very hot in there! All food and breakfast were good as were the staff.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllenboroughPk, General Manager at Ellenborough Park, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Thank for reviewing and for your very kind comments. We are delighted that you had such an enjoyable experience and were able to use the Spa facilities.
We look forward to seeing you here again to enjoy, perhaps two nights next time.
Kind regards
John Hanna
Ellenborough Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ellenborough Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ellenborough Park

Address: Southam Road, Cheltenham GL52 3NH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Cheltenham
#1 Family Hotel in Cheltenham
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cheltenham
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cheltenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Ellenborough Park 5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Venere, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, MrandMrsSmith, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Ellenborough Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ellenborough Park Hotel Cheltenham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ellenborough Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.