We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect place to relax for a few days” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ellenborough Park

Save Saved
You added Ellenborough Park to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ellenborough Park
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Southam Road, Cheltenham GL52 3NH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 18 hotels in Cheltenham
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A perfect place to relax for a few days”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We were extremely well looked after throughout our two-night stay. Attention to detail means that it's a perfect place to unwind and we felt thoroughly spoiled. The staff are incredibly helpful (we ate in the brasserie on both evenings and could not fault the service or the food) at all times. Our luxury room was quiet and comfortable and we enjoyed lounging by the pool. The only problem with our stay is that it means anywhere else will now seem disappointing in comparison!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllenboroughPk, General Manager at Ellenborough Park, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you were able to fully relax during your two-night stay here and are very pleased. you were able to unwind. Thank you too, for your positive comments regarding your food and the service you received in the Brasserie. If everywhere else seems disappointing you are always welcome to return here.
Kind regards
John Hanna
Ellenborough Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    431
    67
    29
    5
    1
See reviews for
81
309
5
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Advertised as a 5 star hotel, it isnt . Arriving on Sunday the 25 August for a one night break in a Duplex suite we encountered a surly receptonist who when we enquired about getting access to our room at 2.15pm was unwilling to ring housekeeping to see when it would be ready . The brasserie manager who was clearly concerned at the time we had been waitng and also enquired , but got the same short response. Eventually when we were shown to the room the member of staff walked past it and it was only when we said what had happened did she realise . Only one toweling robe was avaiable in the bathroom which had a low ceiliong ( we are both tall ) which made the shower awkward and one tea cup had Lipstick on it from we presume the previous occupant . Both matters were brought to the attention of management ( nicely ) at dinner , but when we got back to the room still only one robe and now only one tea cup . this should have been attended to at turn down . Dinner was excellent , but service in the dinning room was clealry under pressure .We orderd breakfast in bed for the next day , with cereal and fruit , which arrived minus any spoons to eat the same !!! Not acceptable at these rates . Room service were apologetic but doesnt anyone check ? unlikely to return as we prefer Lucknam Park in Bath a true 5 star hotel

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllenboroughPk, General Manager at Ellenborough Park, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are sincerely sorry that on this occasion our service fell short of our usual high standards. We work extremely hard to ensure we provide the best possible experience for our guests and this time we did not manage to do this.
Would you please contact me personally at your convenience.
Kind regards
John Hanna
Ellenborough Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hughenden
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

This was our second visit.. Initially we were in ellenborough gate room 64. This was a lovely room, great view and huge bathroom. unfortunately the bathroom fan was broken and wouldn't turn off. We spoke to reception who after sending us a porter suggested moving us.. We were given the istabraq suite it's in the house.. Wow what a room. 4 poster bed.. Enormous bathroom. we had dinner In the main dining room on Saturday.. Service wasn't great initially. We had to ask for menus and then for someone to take our order.. However the rest of the evening was excellent. Breakfast is lovely, great choice and the yogurts are the nicest I've ever had. We had a late lunch on the patio by the brasserie, again excellent standard and dinner in the brasserie. The service and the food were of a high standard. We love this hotel, I think the staff really make you feel very welcome and clearly enjoy working there. We will be back.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllenboroughPk, General Manager at Ellenborough Park, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you for returning to Ellenborough Park and we are sorry that your initial room in Ellenborough Gate had a problem. We are pleased that we were able to accommodate you in one of our suites and that you enjoyed the experience. Please accept our apologies for some slightly erratic service initially, however, I am pleased to note that we redeemed ourselves and that you enjoyed all subsequent meals.
We look forward to seeing you here again for your third stay soon.
Kind regards
John Hanna
Ellenborough Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I endorse everything that has been said positively in previous reviews and I thought it would be appropriate perhaps to give some recognition to the man behind the management of this fantastic hotel. I have never met John Hanna but his staff think highly of him and it is abundantly clear that he sets and maintains very high standards. As an introduction to a nigh on perfect English country hotel you will not do much better than Ellenborough Park.
We appreciated the handwritten notes from John in both our room and in our car on departure. It made us feel special and made our celebratory stay at the hotel memorable!
For our American readers, I would recommend that you make a stop here as part of a tour of the Cotswolds. You will not be disappointed.
I think John has set the bar with Ellenborough and I look forward to another stay there during the winter months.

Room Tip: We had a room in the old stable block with very pleasant views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllenboroughPk, General Manager at Ellenborough Park, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments. I head up a team that is committed to providing our guests with the best possible service and to ensure that each guest has a truly memorable stay here at Ellenborough Park. Each department works incredibly hard and we are very pleased when we recieve praise such as yours. So thank you for taking the time and trouble to comment on me and my team we all appreciate it.
We shall look forward to welcoming you here again in the winter months.
Kind regards
John Hanna
Ellenborough Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalkan, Turkey
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Only stayed here for the one night so didn't explore the area/location.
Hotel itself is in a grand old house, perfect for Cotswolds, England.
Rooms were a good size and furnished well, contemporary. Facilities were good with the restaurant, bar, spa and gym.
Great Cotswolds all English breakfast!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllenboroughPk, General Manager at Ellenborough Park, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you for choosing Ellenborough Park for your one night stay in the Cotswolds, we are sorry you did not get the opportunity to explore the area as it is beautiful and there are so many different actvities to choose from. Thank you for your comments on all areas of the hotel and we are pleased that you enjoyed yourself in this grand old house.
We look forward to seeing you again.
Kind regards
John Hanna
Ellenborough Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

An amazing building with attentive service and wonderful breakfasts. The food in the brasserie was above average and the staff charming. The air conditioning was a bit fierce in our room (54). Otherwise a very nice place to stay in a beautiful part of England.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllenboroughPk, General Manager at Ellenborough Park, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay here. We are pleased that you found all aspects of your stay here enjoyable and we will look into your fierce air conditioning.
We look forward to seeing you here in the Cotswolds again soon.
Kind regards
John Hanna
Ellenborough Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

My husband and I stayed for one night at this hotel to celebrate a birthday. I spent three years here as a boarder when it was a school for girls, and thought it would be nice to return as I had really enjoyed my time at Oriel School.
The hotel is marvellous, with excellent food and very comfortable accomodation. We choose to stay in the main building.
The staff were all very friendly and efficient. There were lots of special little touches, such as the bed turned down at night, curtains closed, slippers by the bed and a bottle of water and a chocolate.
When we departed, our car was brought to the front door, our luggage inside, a bottle of water and a note thanking us for staying. We would definately like to return.

Room Tip: We stayed in the main house. The rooms near the pool would also be very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllenboroughPk, General Manager at Ellenborough Park, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay here at Ellenborough Park. It must have been an interesting experience for you having boarded here at Oriel School. We hope it generated some happy memories for you and that you enjoyed checking out the changes that have occured.
I am pleased that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay here and hope that we can welcome you here again soon.
Kind regards
John Hanna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ellenborough Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ellenborough Park

Address: Southam Road, Cheltenham GL52 3NH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cheltenham
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cheltenham
#1 Family Hotel in Cheltenham
#1 Business Hotel in Cheltenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Ellenborough Park 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Preferred Hotels, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, MrandMrsSmith, Jetsetter, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Ellenborough Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ellenborough Park Hotel Cheltenham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ellenborough Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.