We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Country Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ellenborough Park

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Ellenborough Park to your Saves list
Ellenborough Park
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Southam Road, Cheltenham GL52 3NH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Cheltenham
Wiltshire
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Wonderful Country Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

I stayed for the weekend at Ellenborough Park with my wife and was very impressed with the hotel. We ate in both restaurants, I preferred the Bistro due to the more informal atmosphere but both served good quality food which was well presented. The service was exceptional, our luxury room was pleasant if not a little small but had everything you would need such as wifi, Sky TV and a good sized bathroom etc. The heated outside pool and gym were excellent, my only criticism would be that the spa is a little small with only four loungers, tiny jacuzzi, steam room and sauna. Overall I would not hesitate in recommending Ellenborough Park.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllenboroughPk, General Manager at Ellenborough Park, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We are pleased that you and your wife enjoyed your stay here and found the food very good and the service exceptional. thank you for saying that you would recommend Ellenborough Park.
We look forward to seeing you here again.
Kind regards
John Hanna
Ellenborough Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

715 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    555
    95
    48
    12
    5
See reviews for
111
408
9
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Just a fantastic place to eat & stay, The Spa is exceptional and the staff throughout are highly trained. Everything about Ellenborough is first class and we will be back time and time again. Love it!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllenboroughPk, General Manager at Ellenborough Park, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you for your comments following your stay at Ellenborough Park we are delighted that you enjoyed The Spa and that you found the teams throughout the hotel exceptional. We look for ward to seeing you here again.

Kind regards
John Hanna
Ellenborough Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We enjoyed a lovely weekend here last fall. Our room was beautiful. We stayed in the castle and had a huge suite with a large, comfortable bed. The bathroom was gorgeous. Our dinner was delicious, atmosphere exceptional. Breakfast was the best I've had anywhere! Would highly recommend this hotel for a weekend getaway.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllenboroughPk, General Manager at Ellenborough Park, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. we are delighted that you had such an enjoyable stay in the Main house. We are pleased that you found your bed bathroom very comfortable and that you enjoyed your meals here. We hope to see you here again for another weekend stay.
Kind regards
John Hanna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsmonden
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

All staff was attentive, friendly and helpful. The location is stunning with a view of Cheltenham Race course in the distance.
We arrived early but a big effort was made to get our room ready so that we could get changed. The reception area was too busy with a wedding party ready to leave. It may be an idea to try and manage that a bit more differently.
Our room was good size, clean and well equipped. (the WiFi speed could be better). Nice bed and bedding. Brilliant walk in shower with heated floor.
We needed help with some arrangements before we arrived; the concierge was very helpful and efficient.
Bar-Brasserie and Restaurant were both busy and buzzing the evening (a Saturday) we stayed.
We had dinner in the restaurant and it was just delicious. Very well presented and surprising tastes. Portions were small but that suited us on the night. We had had a nice lunch. I can imagine if you have dinner as your main meal, it would be a bit small.
Thanks for the tip from another Trip Advisor to book through IPrefer. Worth it!!
We liked it so much, we go back next week for a midweek break.
Definitely a place on the list for future reference.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in main house. We were in room 7.Great room. (shower only)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllenboroughPk, General Manager at Ellenborough Park, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
We are thrilled that you enjoyed your ' Romantic weekend away' and that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay here. We have now rectified the problems of the slow wi-fi so thank you for highlighting this.
We look forward to seeing you here for your next mid-week break.
Kind regards
John Hanna
Ellenborough Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

I stayed here this weekend with my boyfriend for our anniversary (we're mid 20s) and while it was definitely somewhere special to book, it was so overpriced for what it was. The room was really nice, but nothing different to every other 5 star hotel, no character and nothing worth writing home about. For the price, it was nothing special and you can go abroad for the cost of a room here!

But most importantly the food served in the whole hotel was below poor. I'm a real foodie and I like to go away and have one of the focal points be the food, whether it be good, traditional pub grub or small, well presented Michelin style dishes, I really don't mind- but it needs to be delicious. The food at Ellensborough was boring, unappealing and pretentious. The service was impeccible but it was a really horrible environment that my boyfriend and I both hated. The portions were tiny, the food was bland and while we had our hearts set on a 3 course meal, we couldn't even face having a dessert.

We instead had a dessert in the more informal brasserie- both again were bland, a pannacotta that could have been from a packet, and a pavlova that didn't taste handmade.

Then don't even get me started on the breakfast- how hard is it to get a fry up right? Instead it was another pretentious plate of boring, bland food.

Everything about the hotel is uninspired, and I would have much preferred it if we booked a small B&B in one of the lovely villages surrounding the hotel and stayed for 2 nights, rather than spend £250 on 1 night at ellensborough and over £250 on the food and bar tab.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllenboroughPk, General Manager at Ellenborough Park, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you for your comments on your recent stay here at Ellenborough Park. Naturally we are very disappointed that you felt this way regarding your stay here. I am pleased that you considered the service impeccible even if you found the environment not to your taste.
Kind regards
John Hanna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

My daughter's wedding reception was held at Ellenborough Park in early June and we all had the most wonderful day! The weather was perfect and so was the service and the general atmosphere amidst the really beautiful surroundings of the hotel. In all the dealings with the hotel beforehand we had been struck by the friendliness and efficiency of the staff and this continued in all aspects of the day from the attentive serving of the arrival drinks through the excellent wedding meal, the evening hog roast and right up to the late night bar service.
Our guests were impressed with everything and those that stayed at the hotel, including ourselves, thoroughly enjoyed the luxurious rooms with so-soft pillows and comfy beds and every facility you could wish for. Breakfast was a real feast of good things to choose from.
A real piece of specialness on a very special occasion that will be in our minds for a very long time and a superb start to my daughter and son -in law's married life.
Thank you, Ellenborough!

Room Tip: The rooms around the courtyard lawn are excellent, especially the ones that have their own little ga...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllenboroughPk, General Manager at Ellenborough Park, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Firstly, we would to offer our Congratulations to your daughter and son-in-law and hope they have a long and happy married life.
We are delighted that everything went to plan on their special day and that you were all blessed with such beautiful weather.
We look forward to seeing you all here again soon.
Kind regards
John Hanna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, England
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

My parents, husband, daughter and I had a fabulous Sunday lunch in the Beaufort Restaurant - absolutely superb food, beautifully presented and served by first class staff. This is a luxurious first class hotel in a fantastic location and all the public rooms are gorgeous. We have stayed at and eaten in many amazing hotels all over the world but this truly has a wow factor - and we are not easily impressed. The staff are very attentive and provide excellent service - the very best kind of service which attends to your every need without being obtrusive or showy. There is a wonderful atmosphere and ambience here which appeals to all ages. All the staff are very pleasant, polite and really well trained. I love it here! It has everything a hotel and restaurant should have. We have also previously eaten in the Brasserie and always had an excellent meal there.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllenboroughPk, General Manager at Ellenborough Park, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you for voting our hotel as 'your new favourite place' we are very pleased to know that you enjoyed every aspect of your experience here including the teams, the meals and the rooms.
We are also pleased that you like the atmosphere of the hotel.
Thank you and we look forward to seeing you again.
Kind regards

John Hanna
Ellenborough Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ellenborough Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ellenborough Park

Address: Southam Road, Cheltenham GL52 3NH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Cheltenham
#1 Business Hotel in Cheltenham
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cheltenham
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cheltenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Ellenborough Park 5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, Hotels.com, MrandMrsSmith and Jetsetter so you can book your Ellenborough Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ellenborough Park Hotel Cheltenham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ellenborough Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.