We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary Weekend” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Cheltenham Queens Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Cheltenham Queens Hotel to your Saves list
Mercure Cheltenham Queens Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Promenade, Cheltenham GL50 1NN, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SAVE UP TO 30% OFF
Ranked #16 of 19 Hotels in Cheltenham
Write a Review

683 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    253
    146
    67
    39
See reviews for
70
318
26
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Stayed here on the 2nd November and had a great experience from start to finish.

When you arrive at the hotel it looks very grand from the outside. Reception staff extremely helpful and friendly, room lovely and modern - a bit on the small side but was perfect for what we needed. Also fantastic bathroom with powerful shower. Great selection at breakfast, very tasty!

Location is fantastic, situated in the Montpellier quarter with lots of quirky shops and restaurants and 10 min stroll in the town centre.

All in all this was a great hotel and I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter W, General Manager at Mercure Cheltenham Queens Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments and compliments. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Mercure Queens Hotel in Cheltenham, and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Peter Watt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midlands
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

We love returning to the Queens, receptionist even remembered that we had been before which was lovely. Room was a little small this time with a view that wasn`t the most glamorous but we were only there for one night. Staff always very professional and helpful. Breakfast is a must with lots of choice and will set you up for the day. Great location.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter W, General Manager at Mercure Cheltenham Queens Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay again at Mercure Queens Hotel in Cheltenham and look forward to seeing you soon. Kind regards, Peter Watt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

We stayed in a privilege room very good size, a bit noisy though, doors banging early in the morning. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good but tables were too close together, you felt like you were breakfasting with strangers, and a silly 2 slice toaster took too long. Good position in Cheltenham.

Room Tip: we stayed in 310 bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter W, General Manager at Mercure Cheltenham Queens Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit at the Mercure Queens Hotel in Cheltenham. We have noted your comments regarding the breakfast tables and will address this as much as possible.

I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards, Peter WattI
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

It's an impressive building right in the town centre. My wife and I took a short break away the recharge the batteries. The central position made me worry about parking but there was plenty of space in the car park and the cost was £10 for the night which I thought was reasonable. We arrived at reception desk at 12.30 to find out about paying for the car park and we were pleasantly surprised to find that our room was ready. The executive room was quite dated and had no view, three of the six lamps in the room were working but it was very spacious with a fridge and a fab en suite so it was definitely worth the money. The bed was the most comfortable I have ever slept on and massive. It wasn't a four poster like the picture on hotels.com but it really didn't matter. After a great nights sleep the breakfast was probably the highlight of the experience. Fresh, with a great choice and wonderfully presented. Unfortunately our waitress didn't tell us you could also order from the menu and we didn't realise until we'd nearly finished. The eggs Benedictine looked delicious and I would order that next time. Overall the experience was very pleasant. Cheltenham is a wonderful place with lots of beautiful buildings. I would recommend it to everyone. Please ignore the swimming pool rating. The hotel has no pool.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter W, General Manager at Mercure Cheltenham Queens Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments and compliments. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Mercure Queens Hotel in Cheltenham, and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Peter Watt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

My partner and I stayed at The Queens over August bank holiday with my parents. The location of the hotel is excellent, it's just around the corner from some bars and restaurants.

The hotel looks very grand from the outside, and also is inside. The room was traditional, yet I think is looking a little dated and would benefit from re-decoration.

We only had 1 drink in the bar over the weekend - it was pricey and was very dark in there.

The breakfast was great - you could choose from an extensive buffet selection, or could order from the al a carte menu - worth shopping around to try and get a good rate with breakfast included.

All in all a very enjoyable weekend and I wouldn't hesitate to return.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter W, General Manager at Mercure Cheltenham Queens Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Mercure Queens Hotel in Cheltenham and look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Kind regards, Peter Watt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Cheltenham Queens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Cheltenham Queens Hotel

Address: The Promenade, Cheltenham GL50 1NN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Cheltenham
#9 Luxury Hotel in Cheltenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Cheltenham Queens Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star hotel in the city centre with 79 en suite rooms. Easy access via M5, 1 mile to Cheltenham railway station. 50 miles to Bristol airport. Meeting room suite (natural light) for 100 people. AA Rosette award winning Napier Restaurant, Gold Cup Bar andLounge, WiFi internet (public areas and most rooms). Free access to local leisure club. 24 hour room service. Pay parking (5 to 10 GBP). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, ACCOR and Agoda so you can book your Mercure Cheltenham Queens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel Cheltenham
Mercure Cheltenham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Cheltenham Queens Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.