We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting but needs some attention” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Cheltenham Queens Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Cheltenham Queens Hotel to your Saves list
Mercure Cheltenham Queens Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Promenade, Cheltenham GL50 1NN, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SAVE UP TO 30% OFF
Ranked #16 of 19 Hotels in Cheltenham
Uk
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Interesting but needs some attention”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

This hotel is in a commanding position in a very nice part of town and overlooks gardens to its front, whilst being on the fringes of the Montpellier district, and a short walk to the wonderful shops on the Promenade. We spent 2 nights here last week when the weather was bitterly cold, and I had misgivings about how warm our room might be. Unlike another reviewer, our room was so hot that we had to turn the heating off as we simply couldn't sleep! Our room was very comfortable, but the bathroom had a blind that was dragging on the floor, and a table lamp with a bulb that would not stop flickering and made you feel dizzy. Having reported it to Reception they had the problem resolved within minutes and this was a relief. However, this sort of complaint would not have been necessary with good housekeeping and maintenance prior to a guest arrival. Breakfast on our first day was excellent, as was the service. It was very poor on our second day: no bowls, no spoons for cereal, milk missing with the tea-and a snappy response from the waitress when asked for it, no scrambled eggs. A very elderly gentleman was wandering around with his cereal on a side plate, clearly because there were hardly any staff in the dining area for most of the time we were in it, so he had no one to ask for a bowl. This was on a Saturday morning and NOT shortly before breakfast was finishing. There were in fact 3 members of staff on duty but they were rarely apparent or visible.

This is a nice hotel, the staff really are very pleasant [in the main!], the rooms are well-appointed BUT someone needs to spend some money in sorting out some of the more shabby things which let it down. A few tweaks and a bit more attention to what is going on, or should be-but isn't, will make all the difference.

Room Tip: Check whether you are near the air conditioning units! Not a problem in the winter, but would guess...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter W, General Manager at Mercure Cheltenham Queens Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to the Mercure Queens Hotel in Cheltenham. We have noted your comments and will investigate the issued you raised

I am pleased to say the hotel is due for refurbishment including public areas and bedrooms and I expect the programme date to commence soon.

Kind Regards

Peter Watt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

683 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    253
    146
    67
    39
See reviews for
70
318
26
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Beautiful old building, and really lovely reception area. Reception staff seemed very capable and professional.
Room was a nice size, lovley and warm, but bathroom could do with a lick of paint.
Smashing breakfast and good value all round for the room we had

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter W, General Manager at Mercure Cheltenham Queens Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Mercure Queens Hotel in Cheltenham and look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Kind regards, Peter Watt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

My partner and I stayed at the Queen's Hotel in Cheltenham in February. We chose the Queen's as it was our last weekend together before I went away serving with the RAF and wanted a good hotel that would give us good service, one less thing to worry about. However, this wasn't what we got. The hotel was beautiful and the location was perfect, the room was clean and tidy of a good size and the bathroom was also excellent. Our room was seemingly outside the staff smoking area and also the location for the bottle bin which, at nine o'clock in the morning is not the best way to be woken up. This said, my biggest disappointment was with the level of service we received.

Service in the bar was slow and just shoddy, this was even at a non busy time of the day. Seemingly un-trained staff struggling to figure out how to operate the till was disappointing. Benefit of the doubt given at this stage.

After returning to the hotel we decided to order a bottle of prosecco to the room, this took almost 45 minutes and I was about to cancel it when it finally arrived. An apology from the staff.

My main gripe however, was with our breakfast. We ordered room service breakfast and a paper to be delivered the next morning. The breakfast was one hour late and no paper arrived. This was extremely disappointing as it affected the plans we had made for the rest of our day, no explanation on the paper though we weren't charged for it. The quality of the breakfast was good though.

We paid for a late check out so we could relax before coming home and on returning to the hotel after 12 o'clock our key card had been reset meaning a trip to reception to get access to our room. A small inconvenience but at this stage I'm starting to question whether this is actually a four star hotel we're staying at.

On check out we were presented with the bill which didn't have the bottle of prosecco charged to it. This, I assumed, was to compensate for the long wait for the prosecco however, once we had returned home we got a sheepish call from the hotel explaining the mistake and asking to charge my credit card which I agreed to.

Not once on check out were we asked whether we were satisfied with our stay, when we got the phone call asking to charge the prosecco I wasn't even asked then. I did manage to explain my grievances to the chap on the phone. He assured me he was going to bring it up at the subsequent staff meeting and that we would get a letter of apology at the very least. This, never happened.

My girlfriend and I were very much looking forward to what was going to be our last weekend together for some time and this was the reason I paid a little more than what we would usually pay so that we wouldn't have to worry about these exact issues. This was compounded by what seems a brush off from the hotel itself who are yet to reply to my emails. A lovely hotel let down severely by an impersonal, unprofessional service standard.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter W, General Manager at Mercure Cheltenham Queens Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am sorry that on this occasion you were disappointed with your stay at Mercure Queens Hotel in Cheltenham.

The standard of service you received is not indicative of our usual high performance. and I apologise that on this occasion we have let you, as well as ourselves down.

I am receipt of your letter and have responded to you direct in more detail.

Kind regards, Peter Watt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glos
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We stayed at this hotel last weekend. Firstly check the carpark price on arrival, i didnt and it cost me another £10 on top of an overpriced hotel. We have stayed in far better for a fraction of the cost that mecure are charging. The paintwork is grubby
, old wallpaper and if you drink coffee in the morning the filters do not work so you may end up with a mouthful of ground coffee.Staff very friendly and a great location on the prom. Would i go back..... not at that price in that condition.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter W, General Manager at Mercure Cheltenham Queens Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to the Mercure Queens Hotel in Cheltenham.

I am glad you found the location suitable and that the staff were firendly.

I have noted your comments about the coffee filters and will inspect them all immediately. The hotel is due for refurbishment including public areas and bedrooms and I expect the programme date to commence soon.

Kind Regards

Peter Watt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheltenham
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

It was so cold last Sunday afternoon in Cheltenham we decide to have a hot drink.As it happens we were outside The Queens so we dashed inside to see if they were doing afternoon tea! Yes,great!.
We sat near to a fire, fueled with coal and firewood and if you don't know this hotel, it is a Regency building, so nice windows,high ceilings, etc etc.Tea was lovely, people around us were friendly and the fireplace was a talking point for all.Bosses,managers please note the young lady who served us (from New Zealand) was a credit to the hotel.Polite efficient,kept her eye on all the tables,and had clearly plenty of experience with the public.All hotels need staff like this!
We are going next Sunday for a meal on the waitresses recomendation.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter W, General Manager at Mercure Cheltenham Queens Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review in particualr your kind comments regarding the waitress who looked after you, she will be delighted to know that her efforts were appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you back again next week.
Kind regards, Peter Watt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

12 of us had afternoon tea last thursday poor service, sandwiches like cardboard. Only nice thing were the scones. Cakes you needed a magnifying glass.Strawberries no taste. Overall experience bad, would not go there again!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter W, General Manager at Mercure Cheltenham Queens Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am sorry that on this occasion you were disappointed with your afternoon tea at Mercure Queens Hotel in Cheltenham.

We are in receipt of your letter and my Food & Beverage Manager will respond to you direct when he has completed his investigation into the issues you faced.

Kind regards, Peter Watt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Cheltenham Queens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Cheltenham Queens Hotel

Address: The Promenade, Cheltenham GL50 1NN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Cheltenham
#9 Luxury Hotel in Cheltenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Cheltenham Queens Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star hotel in the city centre with 79 en suite rooms. Easy access via M5, 1 mile to Cheltenham railway station. 50 miles to Bristol airport. Meeting room suite (natural light) for 100 people. AA Rosette award winning Napier Restaurant, Gold Cup Bar andLounge, WiFi internet (public areas and most rooms). Free access to local leisure club. 24 hour room service. Pay parking (5 to 10 GBP). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, ACCOR and Agoda so you can book your Mercure Cheltenham Queens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel Cheltenham
Mercure Cheltenham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Cheltenham Queens Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.