We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real foodie place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bistrot Coco

Bistrot Coco
30 Cambray Place, Cheltenham, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #43 of 331 restaurants in Cheltenham
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: New restaurant
cheltenham
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“A real foodie place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Despite living in the area for over 20 years I'd never been to Coco. It's quite unusual when you walk in - there a funky glass floor and beach bar. But when you go downstairs into the restaurant it has a totally different vibe. it has a lovely intimate feel. A buzzy place and everyone seems to be loving the food. You just feel the contentment in the building. This is good food, good device and everything is as it should be. No complaints here. Wine served in large or small carafes and it's delicious. Loved the whole experience.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    138
    66
    20
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“faboulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

this was one of the best meals out for a while. great food well cooked. great choice. great service even if i did know the waitresses but yet still treated me as a new customer. i could not say enough of this great little find. if you havent tried it please do and defenitely book in advance. the great little cocktail bar above is also another great find. i will be back for more great food and drink.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lush!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

Came here 09.02.13 with work, what a great night we had! Well looked after by very friendly and accommodating staff, lovely venue and the food was delicious. Great for an intimate meal or bigger group, cosy, really nice. Will defo visit again 10/10!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Worth every penny!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

Been for lunch today with a group of friends, the service, food and atmosphere were amazing, we will return and would recommend a visit if you like French bistro food...

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A real treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

I took some friends to Bistrot Coco last night and they were hugely impressed. I was not surprised though as I have always had wonderful food and service here. The restaurant is quirky and cute; small enough for intimate date nights but relaxed enough for groups too. I was disappointed that my staple, goat's cheese, was not on the menu; but the waitress asked the manager, and the manager asked the chef (and the queen asked the dairy maid etc) and they were able to rustle up for me my own off-piste goat's cheese starter which was delicious. Their flexibility and desire to help was most appreciated.

We all opted for steaks - butter-soft and perfectly cooked with their trademark twice-fried chips - apart from one who went for the cassoulet which he declared as excellent. The food is beautifully presented without being fussy, delicious and the portions are just right. Even the bread to start was soft and very 'French'. Thank you to the staff for such a special evening. 5 stars from all of us!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistrot Coco also viewed

Cheltenham, Cotswolds
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
 
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
 

Been to Bistrot Coco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bistrot Coco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.