We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Food and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Joules Cafe, Bar & Restaurant

Joules Cafe, Bar & Restaurant
Clarence Square, Cheltenham GL50 4JR, England
01242 580411
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 362 Restaurants in Cheltenham
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $9 - $28
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Romantic, Families with children, Special occasions, Doing business, Large groups, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Dessert, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Joules is the perfect place to meet and relax. Whether it is a leisurely breakfast, a fantastic coffee with friends, a light bite, a quick drink or lingering over a sumptuous dinner we really do have it all. We are passionate about our food with fresh local produce used as much as possible and our Pizzas are second to none!
Coventry, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous Food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

This restaurant has my vote! Whilst on an overnight trip to Cheltenham, we were looking for somewhere lovely to eat and spend our evening. Joules was recommended to us by our hotel and it didn't disappoint. Fabulous food, amazing service and a lovely atmosphere. Will definitely be returning here on our next visit. Couldn't of hoped for a more enjoyable evening with the most beautiful food. Thank you to all the staff!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    30
    12
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London UK
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Our local!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We live very nearby and often pop in for a drink and sometimes food. The staff are very friendly and the food is always good and freshly made.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halesworth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“not as good as it thinks it is”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

On the lower ground floor of the clarence court hotel, this restaurant has an italian/mediterranean menu. The starters were good, particularly the halloumi, but the main corses were disappointing, in particular a pizza smothered in cheese. Service was OK.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clarence99, Owner at Joules Cafe, Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thanks very much for your review. I am really glad that the starters were good but very sorry to learn that the Pizza was disappointing. We do aim to keep the pizzas authentic in the Napoli style without too much cheese, it is however a 'balancing' issue as in the UK as many people like more cheese and indeed this is reflected in some other TA comments. It does sound from your comments however that your Pizza was 'over cheesed' and I will be closely monitoring this over the next few days to ensure all our Pizzas are being delivered to our normal standard. Thanks again for your comments. Regards Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great night out with friends.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic location with outside seating for pre dinner drinks in the sun. Menu vast and difficult to choose but was advised that the chef cooks a fantastic steak and was not disappointed. One of the best steaks i have had. Really good value for money and every one had good size portions cheese garlic bread to die for. Pizzas stone baked massive and very hot. If you want a good choice of good food this is the place to go.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
“Ok food but nothing special.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Ate here early as a party of 10 and to be honest I was slightly disappointed after reading so many positive reviews on here. I had a pizza, as did my partner and when my partner asked for the deep dish option the waiter would not allow it and said the thin base was better. Whilst this may be the case, if the option is on the menu then guests should be able to request it. We were also told not to have starters as the desserts were fantastic and they were not that special. Overall the food is alright but certainly did not wow me.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clarence99, Owner at Joules Cafe, Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thanks for your review. I am sorry that you found things 'just ok'.

The waiter to which you refer was Scott, the Restaurant Manager who is mentioned many times on Tripadvisor and from all the other reviews I think the reader will see that this is not his normal style. Scott was very sorry to learn that you were not happy with his service, he did advise you that the thin crust pizza is the authentic Italian way but of course if you wanted the thick crust version he would have been more than happy to oblige. He also recalls 'joking' with your party to leave room for desserts but again was not suggesting that you could not or should not have starters.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joules Cafe, Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Cheltenham, Cotswolds
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
 
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
 

Been to Joules Cafe, Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Joules Cafe, Bar & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.