We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A most enjoyable evening” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Turkish Grille Restaurant

Turkish Grille Restaurant
49 Winchcombe Street, Cheltenham GL52 2NE, England
01242 771444
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 325 Restaurants in Cheltenham
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $6 - $33
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Turkish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: 60 seater very friendly family restaurant.Very reasonable in price. Turkish -Med cuisine,Occasional belly dancing entertainment. Has a real very nice fireplace Children are always welcome.Open seven days a week lunch 11-3,evenings 5.30 onwards.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A most enjoyable evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

I went to this restaurant as part of a large group, and was really surprised by the friendly atmosphere and the quality of the food. We had a wide variety of hot and cold starters, which gave a good taste of Turkish food. There was an excellent choice of main meals, and we all enjoyed our meals.
Overall this is an excellent restaurant, and I will definitely go again when in Cheltenham.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    255
    67
    25
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Jolly good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Don't be put off by the exterior, this place serves good food at decent prices. They even give a free nan bread and dip so remember that when ordering . The restaurant is fairly basic as regards furniture and lighting but , as previously mentioned, there is a warm welcome and a nice "feel" to the place.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Excellent Turkish food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

I sought out this restaurant on a recent trip to the area because we love Turkish food and because of the reviews on Trip Advisor. We weren't disappointed so thanks everyone.
We arrived at 6 on a Sunday evening so it was reasonable quiet. It was also rather cold but the waiter immediately turned on the radiator next to our table so that wasn't a problem.
We decided on Ezme and Lamb Borek with bread. We also received extra dips upon asking.
For main course we chose Lamb Guvec and Incik Kebab. Both came with bulgur rice (which was new for us) and salad. Everything was excellent and the lamb was probably the most tender and tastiest that we have ever had. Along with a bottle of Efes it certainly made us want to return to Turkey. We would certainly return if we were ever in the area again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brackley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A bit tatty and crafty but a warm welcome”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

We came here based on the Tripadvisor reviews. The staff are very welcoming, with an effusive chap (the proprietor I assume) wandering around in a large blue M&M apron asking diners "how's it going?" approx every ten minutes throughout the meal. It could be a bit much for some, but he was a genuinely nice chap so we didn't mind it so much.

The place itself is a bit tatty, the lighting very bright, and on a cold November night was a bit on the chilly side (some diners kept their coats on).

We chose the Sultan Meze which was nice, the meats were cooked well, but the courses came out very quickly and we were a bit unsure as to what was what.

Would we come again or recommend it? Probably not. It didn't really stand up to its 4.5/5 rating in my opinion - but this could probably be explained by the fact that the proprietor offered to significantly reduce the bill for cash payments ;)

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chipping Campden, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“great fun in nice surroundings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

comfortable surroundings. Very friendly,good natured staff. Nice open fire at front of restaurant. Good food, reasonably priced. Chef comes into restaurant to chat with diners. Will be going back

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Turkish Grille Restaurant also viewed

Cheltenham, Cotswolds
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
 
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
 

Been to Turkish Grille Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Turkish Grille Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.