We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable, good food, could be fantastic” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Tavern

The Tavern
5 Royal Well Place, Cheltenham, England
01242221212
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Tavern is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #117 of 345 Restaurants in Cheltenham
Price range: $2 - $2
Cuisines: American, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Enjoyable, good food, could be fantastic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

The service is very good, the attitude of the staff is great, I did feel one waiter for the upstairs area wasn't quite enough, but Luke was very good and clearly interested if we were having a good meal. My only real criticism was the Flat Iron Steak was undercooked, but being English my husband didn't like to complain, so just left the middle bit, which was a waste but he said it was a very good steak. We did mention this at the end of the meal, and once again the staff seemed genuinely interested in our comments. The menu probably isn't to everyone's taste, but I loved it. The Thai Mussels were fab, followed by Salt Pepper Squid, really tasty. We both thought it was great value, so not sure if the prices have reduced since earlier comments, or if people need to get out more, as a main meal for £8 is pretty reasonable. We had starters, mains and desserts and a bottle of wine £63 (we were very full!) It possibly is trying a little hard to be cool but everyone was really friendly and helpful. As its only be open six months, its doing very well, and I'm sure it will get better & better. We will definitely be going back.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    82
    40
    32
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

I visited with my partner after hearing from friends that this place was a gem, and we were certainly not disappointed! We booked a table on a Thursday night, which i'm glad we did as it was very popular. The atmosphere was lovely, and i absolutely loved the decor and feel of the place (we sat downstairs). We shared the sticky chicken to start with and then went on to have the Burger (me) and the Steak. Everything was delicious! Yes the prices do tend to range a bit higher, however, you go knowing this as we had looked on the website, so you cannot complain about this as they are clearly stated and you do not mind paying it when everything is fab. The service was also very good; all staff that we encountered were lovely, friendly and efficient. I really cannot wait to go again!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinckley, Leics
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Expensive wannabe dross!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Just returned from an evening at the 'new' Tavern - what a nightmare. But let's start with the good points: great service from both the waiting and bar staff, that's it.

Since being taken over it clearly cannot decide whether to be a bar or a restaurant - loud (and gradually louder) music would suggest a bar, the relatively expensive menu a restaurant. It is clearly neither and needs to decide on one or the other.

But we went on the assumption that it was (still) a restaurant, having enjoyed lovely times there in the past. Initially, because of the service, things looked good. We ordered starters and mains and waited - and waited. Eventually they arrived, but two "super salads" had to be returned because of excessive salt. The other starters were ok. Then we waited - and waited - and waited for our mains, during which time it was clearly the objective for us to buy more inferior but very expensive bottles of wine (as an example a "regular" glass of Sauvignon Blanc from the bar turned out to cost £8.00!).

Mains eventually arrived, 2 salt & pepper squid, 2 racks of ribs & a "flat iron steak", the latter supposedly very succulent akin to a fillet steak. The squid were accompanied by an "Asian slaw", yet again dominated by salt and, just to make it 'Asian', a coriander leaf and some chilli! The ribs were apparently not bad, but again nothing special considering the price. The steak had to be sent back due, again, to excessive over use of the salt cellar.

And the prices are so over the top - £4.20 for a pint of beer, £8.00 for a glass of wine, let alone the food prices, which you can see on their website, etc, etc.

We're told that it was taken over by a local multimillionaire businessman, if you want to keep him that way and bask in the glory (as a number of the clientelle appeared to be doing) do visit the place; otherwise, give it the widest berth possible.

Five very dissatisfied customers.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Nothing like it in Cheltenham”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We love The Tavern for lunch or dinner, it's somewhere very cool & reminds me of an Allsaints store inside. We been with friends, our niece & also parents on separate occasions, everyone loves it. Our massive favorites are the macaroni cheese (I have to push myself to choose something else), Spam fritters, the French Dip & the ribs (however we had a gristley batch last time).

You will not be disappointed if you eat here, it's a trendy yet laid back restaurant/bistro/bar you can go after work, with friends, colleagues or family, for get togethers however big or small.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great eatery.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Gastropub is about where this place is and I believe they've won a Michelin Bib gourmand in the past, so you know it won't be average food.

I went last night and was impressed with the whole thing, from start to finish. Drinks were pricey, but my ale was good and my wife enjoyed her wine (and you get what you pay for). The food had well composed flavour combinations and was perfectly executed, the service was good (not great), the decor just the right side of cool, without being pretentious.

We had a desert from the specials menu - port-roasted figs, with cinnamon fritters (like Portugese donuts) and creme fraiche. Probably very simple to make, but a perfect combination and other diners were equally blown away!

This definitely isn't formal dining, but we can't wait to come back with our mates, before a night on the town.

My only issue was the added service charge, which was unfair. I didn't spot it, so the waiter must have been chuffed with the ridiculously generous tip that he hadn't earnt.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Tavern also viewed

Cheltenham, Cotswolds
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
 

Been to The Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.