We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seek out SVEA it's worth it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Svea Cafe and Restaurant

Svea Cafe and Restaurant
24 Rodney Street, Cheltenham GL50 1JJ, England
01242 238 134
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 345 Restaurants in Cheltenham
Cuisines: Swedish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Cinderford, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Seek out SVEA it's worth it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

Had lunch here today, it was our first visit and it was the best lunch we have had in Cheltenham for many months. We are certainly going back when next in Cheltenham cos it's too good to miss. You will not be disappointed

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    26
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Light and tasty lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This is one of our favourite places to have lunch in Cheltenham. The décor is traditional country pine and the people who run/cook/serve are all friendly - and of course the light Swedish food is just perfect. We have never been disappointed.
We have one friend who always puts this restaurant at the top of her list for somewhere to have lunch with us.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Saturday lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Something different to the usual restaurants. Good, fresh food. Friendly staff. A very pleasant lunch.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
“A nice reminder of being in Stockholm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

After spending a long weekend in Stockholm it was lovely to visit this little haven of Swedish cooking. We enjoyed lunch here and were not disappointed in the quality of food. Service was very friendly and welcoming.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“An evening with a real flavour of Sweden”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Give it a try for something different.
My wife is Swedish and thought it would be good to try out this venue.
We had an excellent meal at a reasonable price and the wines were very good. It is interesting that the proprietor chooses bin ends for the house wines and they are well worth trying.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Svea Cafe and Restaurant also viewed

Cheltenham, Cotswolds
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
 
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
 

Been to Svea Cafe and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Svea Cafe and Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.