We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth discovering.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Green Dragon Inn

The Green Dragon Inn
Cockleford | Nr Cowley, Cheltenham GL53 9NW , England
44 01242 870 271
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #81 of 344 Restaurants in Cheltenham
Price range: $39 - $55
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Outdoor seating, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: A traditional country 17th Century inn situated in the Cotswolds only 15 minutes drive from Cheltenham, Gloucester and Cirencester. The Green Dragon Inn continually proves to be a popular retreat for those appreciating good food, fine wines and real ales. Set in the countryside for a relaxing experience and great walks from the door.On a fine day, sit outside amongst the honeysuckle and hanging baskets or on colder days relax by the log fires in our Oak beamed bars. Browse over our extensive menu and daily changing specials board, where our chef uses his creativity in producing “pub food with a difference"One of our special features of the pub is the ‘Mouse Bar’. The furniture and the bars themselves have been made by Robert Thompson, the famous ‘Mouse Man of Kilburn’ with small mice running all over the hand carved chairs, tables and mantelpiece! To complement the food there is a wine list notable for its range and value. We also have a good selection of fine ales; Hook Norton, Otter, Doom Bar and GL Cider. Nine comfortable bedrooms are individually furnished to a high standard, all with their own en-suite bathroom. The rooms are all doubles and twins, and extra beds for children can be provided if needed. In addition we have the St. George’s Suite and has its own sitting room. Also an ideal venue for weddings.
Cheltenham Spa
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Well worth discovering.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

Have passed the Green Dragon sign on the Cirencester Road out of Cheltenham many times.
Today we followed the sign and found a lovely old inn in a beautiful Cotswold setting. Large car park which was needed as as this was a very busy p[lace at lunch time. It seems that they serve all day. The lunch menu is limited but everything is prepared to order and the food was really very good. The staff were efficient and friendly. I also mention that they offer wine in 125ml. measure, something some other establishments refuse to do these days. This is important because as a driver I will not drink more than 125ml. with lunch so in fact I just have water in the restaurants that only offer larger measures. It was a rather chilly day even in August so there were log fires burning. Very nice. I noticed that this is also a residential inn. Must be nice to spend some time here and they do have special two night offers. We will be back.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    36
    13
    12
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham area
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Atmospheric pub with very good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

We stopped for lunch at The Green Dragon on the day we were exploring the Duntisbourne villages. It is a lovely pub, and surprisingly has a room with lots furniture decorated with carved mice by the Yorkshire Mouseman (Robert Thompson). The menu was very traditional as to choices (eg sausage and mash; gammon, egg and chips; fish, chips, and mushy peas). We both ordered the fish & chips and were NOT disappointed. A healthy serving of crispy, hot fish, excellent fries. The service was attentive enough and friendly. We also indulged in dessert -- excellent quality ice cream for one of us, and banoffee pie for the other. We both agreed that we would go there again if in the area!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Super”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Had no prior knowledge of this pub save a recommendation from Sawdays.
What we found was a very friendly, pretty and busy pub. Good beer and comprehensive pub menu. Children's lunch came to the table quickly (which is exactly what is needed) followed by adults' nosh. Fish and chips were excellent with proper homemade minty mushy peas - sandwiches were great too.
Landlady spent time to make us feel really welcome, in spite of being busy, and we will definitely be back to this lovely pub.
Well done the Green Dragon.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upton upon Severn, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“A wonderful break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

We stayed 2 nights under their "Dinner, bed and breakfast" offer. We needed a bit of space to plan our Golden Wedding celebrations next month. The George Suite was an ideal place for space and comfort, and a bit of luxury. Also did some great walking on the nearby Gloucester Way. The staff were very welcoming, the food superb, and the atmosphere that of a real "olde worlde" country pub. We loved it.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Lovely”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Stayed here last week and had a lovely stay. Great hosts and service even when busy on a Saturday night. The venue itself is a lovely old Inn in Cotswold country on a little winding country road. Make sure you log on to the Green Dragon Wi Fi as there's no signal out here in the wilderness! The accommodation was clean and nicely furnished just behind the Inn itself with adequate parking. Food in the Inn was good , better than "pub" food although not quite restaurant standard and there was a good choice of beers and ales. The only downside was that there was nowhere to sit and have a nice drink and a chat , just room for diners only although you could stand at the bar . We prefer a lounge or seating area where we could spend time if we chose not to eat. That's just a minor point I hasten to add. All in all a lovely stay, breakfast was wonderful , so much choice so the £9.00 per adult price was justified in my opinion. Would I stay again? Yes, do I recommend ? yes.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Green Dragon Inn also viewed

Cheltenham, Cotswolds
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
 

Been to The Green Dragon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Green Dragon Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.