We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional British Pub Grub” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Swan

The Swan
37 High Street, Cheltenham GL50 1DX, England
01242243726
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #110 of 344 Restaurants in Cheltenham
Price range: $5 - $29
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Late Night
Gatwick
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Traditional British Pub Grub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Proper English Pub now with new owners, who have gone through the entire menu, and made sure every dish is perfect English pub grub.
Freshly cooked to order, not a plastic pub serving frozen dinners, tried nearly everything on the menu, only problem is deciding what to pick as all the dishes are fantastic.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    26
    10
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“a little jewel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Meeting with some friends in town, we wanted to have a light lunch whilst catching up with all our gossip! What a great find in the Swan-comfortable sofas, relaxing atmosphere with just enough background music. But the best thing of all was the food! Between us, we had a chicken and mayo sandwich, cajun wedges and a blue cheese salad-all were excellent (generous portions and very tasty). Prices were good too! The staff were very friendly and helpful. Definitely a return is promised, perhaps to try more of the menu which we were told had just been changed for the Autumn/Winter. Well done to all!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Great pub but don't eat here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We had heard this was a great place to go for lunch, how wrong can you be? The food was edible, just, which was a shame as it's a very nice pub with very friendly helpful staff. We had fish and chips, can't go wrong you would think, WRONG. The food is supposed to be rustic which the cook must think means cooked to within an inch of it's life. Both the chips and the batter were so dark they were almost chocolate coloured. Thank God for ketchup

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kk517Cotswolds, Manager at The Swan, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear guest,
I am so sorry your meal was not the standard we strive for, food should be looking its best when it leaves the kitchen without fail.
Thank you for your kind words about the pub and staff, it's always appreciated and i would love to hear from you personally and see if our kitchen can delight you.
Kate Alder
Manager
01242 243726
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
“A great place for a relaxing Saturday afternoon drink and lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

My wife and I live about 10 minutes' walk from The Swan and used to frequent it fairly regularly. However, a poor experience about 18months ago stopped us from returning for quite some time. The food then was very pretentious, with small portions and over-elaborate presentation (not to mention ambitious prices).

Well, what a change The Swan has gone through since then! We ordered the corn cobs and butter, side portion of chips (actually wedges, which were delicious) and a sandwich. All were good-sized portions and well-priced.

Moreover, the drinks are well-priced for the area and the atmosphere in the pub is really warm and friendly. There are comfy sofas, more formal seating, a great conservatory and good outside space too.

The Swan is, once again, a place I'd recommend. Especially for lunch.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The best burger and chips in a long, long distance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

I visited The Swan on the recommendation of their hand-made chips and decided to go for the burger, at around £8.50. It was amazing.
The chips did not disappoint having a good, crisp bite to them and they were obviously fresh with that potato-ey taste that fresh chips have to them
However I preferred the beef burger. It was real, good beef, not too overcooked - a tinge of pink inside (I like my beef rare but I would say consistency and taste wise it was not at all rare) - but with an array of subtle herbs and flavours mixed in, like the more-ish after-taste of a good lamb shish kebab. On top was a decent serving of cheese that was melted over in the way you see from American restaurants on Man v Food, but rarely anywhere else, and it came with a relish that was amazing too. Definitely returning and hoping that this chef does as good next time.

It also had a nice array of beers and ciders, and a comfortable, comforting yet interesting decor.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kk517Cotswolds, Manager at The Swan, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Thank you so much for your lovely review, the chef is so proud and determined to make sure it is always the best so please come back anytime!
Kate Alder
manager@theswancheltenham.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Swan also viewed

Cheltenham, Cotswolds
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
 
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
 

Been to The Swan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Swan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.