We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A genuinely Eastern experience in the middle of Cheltenham” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thai Emerald - Cheltenham

Thai Emerald - Cheltenham
60 St Georges Place, Cheltenham GL50 3PN, England
+44 (0)1242 522004
Improve this listing
Ranked #53 of 344 Restaurants in Cheltenham
Price range: $0 - $51
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Buffet, Late Night
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“A genuinely Eastern experience in the middle of Cheltenham”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

As you walk through the doors of the Thai Emerald you may have to do a double take.

Walking through the fairly nondescript entrance you could be forgiven for thinking you had entered Dr Who's Tardis and ended up in another time and country.

The interior is much larger than you would expect and a visual sensation. Temple statues, golden elephants, hanging plants – if it comes from Thailand this place probably has it. The tables are carved, the chairs are carved - you really don't know where to look next.

And the food for your stomach is as good as the feast for your eyes.

Thai Emerald mixed starters comprised battered crab, spring rolls, deep fried chicken, spare ribs and giant prawns - served on a bed of carved vegetables - £6.50 a head was extremely good value.

My partner's main course of Goong (Tiger Prawn) Gaeng Kiew Wan – green curry - although only rated with two chilli symbols proved way too hot. I'd gone for a similarly rated Pla (monkfish) Gaeng Daeng - red curry which proved to be somewhat milder - so we did a swap.

If you like it hot you may want to try the Gaeng Paa - Jungle curry - rated at three chillies - but you may need a fire extinguisher.

Despite the heat the flavours of coconut, bamboo, lime leaves, aubergine and basil leaves were all detectable.

The lady couldn't resist the ginger cheesecake. I'm unsure if that's authentic Thai but it got the thumbs up from her.

A couple of Singha beers and a reasonably priced bottle of red brought the bill to just under £70.

The service was impeccable without being over fussy. If you're staying at the Strozzi Palace Apartments it's literally 100 yards away.

A great find and somewhere we will definitely revisit next time we are in Cheltenham.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    82
    30
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Great decor, good food, eccentric service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2011

We met friends who live locally and have ate in this restaurant before.

We ordered pre dinner drinks, then on being shown to our table the waitress removed the wine glasses. We asked for them to be returned saying we wanted to order wine with our meal. A few moments later the wine list was removed and we repeated the same request.

Our food ordered, and wine eventually ordered (and glasses retianed) a set of food warming burners were delivered to our table; each one meticulously arranged and rearranged with almost aspergers syndrome precision. Jokingly we moved one out of line and it was instantly put back.

The food was fine - a good standard Thai offering.

The decor was ornate, interesting and intriguing.

We were there on a Monday night - so it wasn't frantically busy.

I think I would go back if I were nearby.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The decor is a huge distraction from sub standard food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2011 via mobile

We went here last night for my husbands birthday and apart from the look of the look of the restaurant, which is impressive, the place is a let down. We finally ordered an hour and a half after arriving and the food was definitely not worth the wait. We ordered from the banquet menu and had been told there was a lot of food, so ordered four between six of us but this wasn't allowed! When it arrived there did seem to bena hug amount of food until close inspection revealed that decoration made up for half and dishes had for example only three prawns. Tastes ranged from meat/shellfish coated in breadcrumbs (yuck) through to bland or just over spiced. This is like a Thai equivalent of Macdonalds and if you love Thai food, which I do, then don't bother.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Slightly disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2011

We chose the Thai emerald after reading good reviews, it was an ok experience.

The service was disappointing, the staff were pleasant and cheerful but very slow and disorganised.

I sent back 2 flat vodka and tonics and gave up and just had water.

The food was tasty, not the best Thai we have had. The mixed stater was good and I particulary liked the coconut wrapped prawns. For our main course we had green chicken curry, not special, the prawns with garlic, beans and chilli was lovely. We also had Thai Emerald sizzling steak, it took a while to ensure the waiter understood we wanted the steak rare not well done which is how he said it came. We were sceptical but when it came it was indeed rare.

  • Visited May 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Beautiful restaurant.. Service is attentive.. Food... Well it's Thai isn't it?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2011 via mobile

Out of pure accident we stumbled onto this beautiful thai reataurant for our 18 month anniversary and sat Down for what we thought was going to be equisite Thai food. Starters I ordered mussels to find that 1/3 of them were closed anyone who eats mussels knows not to open the closed ones (I wasn't best impressed)

My partner ordered From the specials menu and I had a duck dish. The special dish was merely grilled chicken tossed in a sauce and my duck was 4 pieces drowned in pineapple and tomatoes.. I ordered an extra dish - seafood which was nice.. All in all pleasant but dissappointing at the same time.
The decor and restaurant layout was amazing spectacular to look at

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Emerald - Cheltenham also viewed

Cheltenham, Cotswolds
 
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
 

Been to Thai Emerald - Cheltenham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thai Emerald - Cheltenham, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.