We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit of a let down” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Trevone

Trevone
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bourton-on-the-Water
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Trevone
Save
You added Trevone to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Moore Road, Bourton-on-the-Water GL54 2AZ, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Brisbane
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“A bit of a let down”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2010

Chose this B and B based on other reviews and price. Lovely old Cotswold cottage. The rooms are nice, good size although up some steep stairs which may be a problem for some. A good price was available for single use of a double room.
Mainly let down by lack of availability of owner, not contactable when we arrived, eventually found at cafe. Not available when the toilet overflowed - had to just manage and leave a note. Agree with previous reviewer that owner is stretched running 2 businesses.
Breakfast was served at the cafe, a 5 min walk away, Ok if not raining. breakfast was nice, full english.
Handy location for sightseeing, limited parking however.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    15
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
10
25
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
England
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2009

We chose Trevone after reading previous reviews.The room was large , the fittings were quality and the price good .What let it down was a number of small defects.The toilet seat fitting was broken The chair collapsed when I was sitting in it.A previous guest had removed the smoke alarm battery.All were reported to Lin.
What also let it down was the fact the room wasnt cleaned for the 3 days we stayed there.The bins were not emptied no vacuming etc
Lin was very friendly but with running the nearbye cafe she owns and the B+B she seemed too streched.Lin has the cafe up for sale and hopes to sell soon.Maybe we were just unlucky and stayed at the wrong time of the year.I know she reads these reviews
so hopefully she will put all the problems right by next year.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2009

We were looking for a B&B for 2 nights (Fri & Sat)... while Fri was easily available... most of the places didnt want to commit to a single day Sat...

Got the contact details of Lynn the owner of Trevone from the Tourist Info centre... i am sure she is their top of mind given how close the mad hatter (a cosy eating place also owned by Lynn) is to the tourist office....

And boy were we lucky or what... while we wanted the place just for Saturday, we decided to cancel our Fri booking and stay both days at Trevone... and in hind sight i can say that was one wise decision.. the room was huge with very comfortable bed and fresh linen...bathrooms squeaky clean... owner accomodating and warm.... breakfast was disaster on day one but that was because we are vegetarians and chose to eat after the other residents and couldnt stand the meat filled air.. the second day we were the first to eat and it was a delight... Lynn is very accomodating and helpful.. she even allowed us to use her kitchen and cutlery when we decided to eat in...

Trevone is located just a short walk (3-4 mins) away from the heart of the town.. and when there, dont miss the wonderful cakes at the Mad Hatter....!! Chocolate cake is to die for and the Carrot cake is heavy and heavenly...

Over-all one of the Best B&Bs that i have stayed in... Absolute value for money and an absolute delight...!! HIGHLY RECOMMENDED..!!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2009

Stayed just one night in Bourton while touring the Cotswolds. The location of the guest house was perfect ... a very short stroll into the main street. Our room had the most comfy bed ever and the bathroom was huge for a B&B. I really appreciated how welcoming the owner was and also the tea and biscuits at the end of the evening. Would highly recommend the Trevone.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2009

My wife, 2 kids (7 & 11 y.o. boys) just returned from our stay in Bourton on the Water and our 2 day stay at Trevone B&B. It's very well located just a couple minutes from the river. The owner also owns the Mad Hatter Cafe in the center of town. She was very welcoming and friendly. The room was comfortable and well equipped. And the English Breakfast was a big, big hit with the kids.

We felt very comfortable with our children here - they are well behaved, but even so, some place don't want guests below 12 years old.

I would recommend Trevone. Enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North of England
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2009

I'm sure many had the same problems as myself trying to find Bourton accomodation for 1 night. "Sorry, 2 night minimum" policy saturates the market here but I only wanted/needed 1 night. So Trevone saved the day-it has a peaceful location just a couple of minutes stroll to the heart of the village. The best way I can describe the experience was like being at home. Things that I'm used to and appreciate at home (Christy Towels, Feather pillows and duvets,modern alarm clock, trendy fixtures) are all too rare in B&B's so that may explain why I loved this place so much. The breakfast was fine and for £50 a night, the place is very reasonable. Lynn, the owner, also runs the Mad Hatter tea shop in the village (well worth a visit too) and was kind enough to offer a later breakfast at the shop rather than an earlier one at Trevone...heaven if you've been on the drink until late. Yes, there are tiny little things that could be improved but I guess that made it feel all the more like home and less like a sterile business venture. All in all, highly recommended.
PS. May want to change the calendar !

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2009

We stayed at Trevone B&B after an exhaustive search on the internet for a resonably priced place with a village location (close to a Pub!). In the Cotswold's you would think we would have been spoilt for choice..................not so!
Trevone offers that rare and simple outlook, the price you see is the price you pay!
Having being 'enticed' to contact numerous other B&B's in the Cotswolds and to be let down by such peculier statements such as............We only accept bookings if you stay 2 nights or more.............Friday's are classed as a Week-End so that will be an extra £10.00 per room......................
So, if you have being confronted with these choices then please give Lin a call at Trevone. You will be made very welcome, enjoying recently refurbished rooms to a high standard with some very nice touches. In the morming you will be served with a very full English breakfast. Trevone is far enough off the main High Street to be seclued and quiet and close enogh to be well within walking distance of the pubs and restaurants. This place is a rare find but don't expect to remain this way!!
I would not hesitate to book again or recomend it to friends or family.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Trevone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trevone

Address: Moore Road, Bourton-on-the-Water GL54 2AZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Bourton-on-the-Water
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Bourton-on-the-Water
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Trevone 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Trevone Hotel Bourton-On-The-Water

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trevone, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.