We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disappointed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Chestnuts Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Chestnuts Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Chestnuts Bed and Breakfast
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   High Street, Bourton-on-the-Water GL54 2AN, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Wallasey, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Bob and Janet were very good hosts and the breakfast was good. we booked by phone and were told the room had a nice view of the river which turned out to be a small side window which you had to lean out to see it. The room was an attic room with very steep stairs ( I am 70 ). my wife while carrying her suitcase up, banged her head on a pertruding beam, no apology was given.
The shower room was VERY small and wasn.t very clean,the door was hard to open as the latch didn't lift properly the toilet seat was loose(although it was repaired after we complained). the TV was an old 14in stuck high up on the wall that far away from the bed that you could not read the channels. bed was a moden iron bed of which
the head board was like a railing so when you sat up to watch TV your head would fall through
the gaps. All in all not a very pleasent stay. Suggest the host stay in the room to experience it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    29
    11
    0
    1
See reviews for
23
40
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

we have just stayed here for 3 nights and we both found it to be a very nice place to stay with very accommodating owners,the breakfasts were superb with a variety of fresh fruit and cereals and of course the full english,i even had soft boiled eggs which you dont get to see much at other b &bs.
also a very nice lounge area with tv,books and board games for those rainy days
set right in the heart of this very picturesque little village 3 great pubs within a stones throw(try the king burger at the kingsbridge).
and the quirky motor museum is well worth a visit too.
all in all a most enjoyable weekend had at the chestnuts.
thank you very much jan & bob hope to return soon.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallasey, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

The owners were friendly,breakfast was good and service during breakfast excellent.However the ergonomics of the room and ensuite ,finishes and building work and cleanliness of the shower let it down badly.I suggest that Bob and Jan stay in room 6 for at least 24 hours, using the wardrobe;reading and watching T.V and using the bathroom to form their own impressions of where improvements could be made.
The location was excellent,parking ok and the B and B is right at the heart of Bourton close to good restaurants and cafes.

Room Tip: Travellers,do not stay in room 6.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chestnutsone, General Manager at Chestnuts Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 5, 2012
I,m sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us,particularly our most popular room no.6. To date I have not had a single complaint about this room,quite the reverse infact.We do take any complaints very seriously indeed,and we shall be looking into your comments.It was a shame that you did not feel able to talk to us about them while you where staying with us,as we where under the illusion that everything was fine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llanelli, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

Just come back from a 3 night family stay at The Chestnuts B&B. A warm and friendly welcome from Jan and Bob. Ideally located in the heart of Bourton. The living room for guests is a good idea. Should have stayed longer as there's so much to see and do in and around the area (always next year).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

We stayed 3 nights at Chestnuts and loved the quaint and quirky character of the property. Bob and Jan are very friendly and welcoming. We booked 2 rooms, Room 2 and 3, a double and a family with double and single. Our double room was quite small but the character of the property made up for the smaller rooms (which you would expect in a 300 yr old cottage, anyway). The boys used the family room and had a little more space. Lovely exposed beams, uppy downy floorboards and unusually shaped rooms. Cute little windows that opened out to views of the village. We loved our allocated parking space and the ease of popping out the witches' hat to reserve our spot when we drove out for the day. Meanwhile, the throngs of tourists struggled to find parking so our location could not have been more ideal. Bourton is centrally located and we enjoyed day trips out to the Cheltenham car boot sale, antique shops at Lechlade (thanks for the tip, Bob) and a day trip to Avebury. Plus we had plenty of time to explore the village. Staying in the heart of Bourton made us feel like locals. WiFi was not possible with the ultra thick walls in our room however, Jan and Bob were very happy for me to use the dining room when they were home to access WiFi on my laptop. There is also a lounge available for guest use. Breakfasts were plentiful and all the other guests were very friendly and we enjoyed chatting with Jan, Bob and the other guests at breakfast. Our boys were made very welcome. When we checked out we left behind a crucial item - my son's dental plate, which Bob and Jan held onto and we had a return trip to collect it. Very grateful for them both hanging onto it for us. Fully recommend Chestnuts if you love simple period charm.

Room Tip: I spotted a room with a gorgeous fire place one day when guests were checking out. It looked lovely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Another great stay here. Allocated parking - always useful. Such a nice couple with a warm greeting and great memory of previous visits. We asked for breakfast a little earlier than normal and nothing was too much trouble. Comfortable rooms and right in the centre of Bourton. It's warm, cozy and clean and the quirky floors and walls just add to it. We love the fact that we can come and go easily, with keys to the outside doors and feel completely at home. Thanks Jan and Bob, that's why we keep coming back!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Chestnuts is extremely convenient for the village amenities. The rooms are comfortable and the breakfasts are excellent - plenty of choise and very well cooked.
Jan and Bob are very friendly, welcoming and helpful.
I have just spent seven nights there and would certainly go again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chestnuts Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chestnuts Bed and Breakfast

Address: High Street, Bourton-on-the-Water GL54 2AN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Bourton-on-the-Water
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Bourton-on-the-Water
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chestnuts Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Chestnuts Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chestnuts b&b
Chestnuts Hotel Bourton-On-The-Water

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chestnuts Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.