We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Break in the Cotswolds” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Duke of Wellington

Duke of  Wellington
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bourton-on-the-Water
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Duke of Wellington
Save
You added Duke of Wellington to your Saves list
Sherbourne Street, Bourton-on-the-Water GL54 2BY, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Calne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Lovely Break in the Cotswolds”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This Pub with rooms was Bang on......Rooms were functional, but the service, hospitality was great, all very friendly staff and enough food on you plate to satisfy even the biggest appetite. Breakfast was 1st class and set us up for the walks we had planned during our stay. We would recommend this venue for a base to enjoy the Cotswolds

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    27
    15
    6
    2
See reviews for
9
48
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stafford
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

I have stayed in Room 1 for one night, and whilst the Duke of Wellington seems quite nice to begin with, the cracks start to appear, the room was in need of a re-paint, it was a little tired round the edges and felt a little unloved, which in turn (of course) makes the customer feel unloved.

I could hardly sleep due to what I can only describe as sleeping behind a vending machine/fridge freezer, but I think it was the extractor fans (which were on through the night, not noticeable during the day!) coming from the kitchen area perhaps, which was below and slightly to the left of the room, also the bright light from the television had to be covered up as it was exactly that - BRIGHT! OK, that is minor to some but when you simply want a bit of shut-eye any light radiation is a pain.

The bed was far too soft and I'd say for too soft to those that enjoy soft beds, each time my partner turned in the night it was like being a board water bed, imo it simply needs replacing.

I'd suggest the people who decide whether a room is fit for purpose, stay for one night (after paying full price) and tell me it's a room that showcases the 'Duke of Wellington'.


Positives; the breakfast was good, location perfect, parking good.

This review is based on my own experience and is my genuine opinion of this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Stayed 3 nights in room 2. May have been refurbished but needs refurbishing again. paintwork round windows, skirting boards and some walls are peeling and grubby. Room very small. Take your own hangers as there were only 6 between two of us and two of those were wired as you would get from the dry cleaners. View over the carpark and waste bins. Bathroom very airy due to not being able to close the window. However it did have a piece of cardboard over it trying to help keep the draught out. Didn't succeed. Toilet seat hanging on by a thread. Had to sit carefully.Shower so small, if you dropped the soap you wouldn't be able to bend to pick it up. Shower head needs cleaning as it only sprayed sideways towards the door. We are only at the start of the season so they need to look at the maintainance of the rooms before it really gets busy. No need for an alarm as you will be woken up by the pub dog every morning in the carpark. Heating only comes on for a few hours. Very cold at the times when we needed it most.
On a good note. Beds were clean and comfortable. The breakfast was excellent and the pub itself is busy and good to pop in on a visit to the area for a drink.Can't comment on the food there as didn't eat there.
Didn't seem to be anyone in charge of the accomodation. Shown to the room by one of the bar staff, then never saw anyone that looked like management. No doubt there will be people not agreeing with these comments but I am only telling it from our point of view. Not an enjoyable stay.
Bourton on the Water is a beautiful place to visit. One of the best places in the Cotswolds

Room Tip: Only saw room 2 and would not recommend
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

We fancied a bite to eat, so came to The Duke of Wellington. We arrived quite late, about half 8 and even though the kitchen closed at 9, we had one of the loveliest meals we've had in ages. I had the special, cooked by chef Josh, of the Chicken Breast and Black Pudding Stack, with a lovely sauce and perfectly cooked veg. My Mum had the Salmon special which again, was cooked to perfection. My dad had something off the standard menu, but was equally good. A lovely setting, pub with good ales and great food. Most pleasing visit!

Stayed May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Me and my partner have been to this b&b twice now.
We will definitely be back on our next trip to the Cotswolds! I got home and my grandma booked herself in after!
The b&b is a lovely cosy place and the rooms are clean and modern. The staff are friendly and are helpful :).
We went in feb this year and it was very cold outside unfortunately bourton and a power cut, but the staff managed to do alternate breakfasts. The area is lovely I would definitely recommend this :)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

when we arrived the women who took us to our room was great and explained and shown us everything we need to know, the hotel itself was nice(bar a few cobwebs in the room) right on the river and i was very impressed!
Then that changed..... i was half way through having a shower before dinner when a member of staff knocked on the door and told us to turn the shower off as it was leaking through to the kitchen downstairs and we were left at that, no apolagies or offer to move to a new room so we were left not being able to have a shower(good job we were only staying one night).
The room itself was freezing as the heating was only on for a few hours during the day, the bed was 2 singles put together and you could feel every spring so we woke up aching and freezing

Food was average, overall it was a cheap stay and if your looking for a average room and food then you will love it but if your looking for somewhere to relax at a higher standard then i would recommend paying a little extra and stay at the redesdale in morton on marsh or the four pillars on the water in the cotswolds

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

we had a great stay at this hotel, they were very welcoming and the room was homely. Only slight criticism is that the double bed was actually 2 singles and you could feel the springs in the mattresses! Breakfast was very nice.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Duke of Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duke of Wellington

Address: Sherbourne Street, Bourton-on-the-Water GL54 2BY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Bourton-on-the-Water
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Bourton-on-the-Water
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Duke Of Wellington Hotel Bourton-On-The-Water

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Duke of Wellington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.