We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over priced for what you get” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bourton Model Railway Exhibition

Bourton Model Railway Exhibition
Box Bush | High St., Bourton-on-the-Water GL54 2AN, England
01451/820686
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Specialty Museums, Museums
Attraction details
Essex
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
75 attraction reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
“Over priced for what you get”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Popped in here whilst in Bourton and felt it was expensive at £8.50 for a family of 4 as there is really nothing much to see. I would judge a place based on how good it is AND price paid for what is on offer.

There was just 2 model railway displays in 2 rooms with a few press buttons to make the trains go. What there was was well done, but just very little there! Have been to much better and larger model railway exhibitions. We tried to stay as long as possible to get our moneys worth but 15 minutes was about as long as we could manage staring at 2 displays and sadly the place smelled really bad too. Would of rated it higher if we had paid £4 which we felt would be about right for a 10-15 minute look.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    45
    15
    7
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
203 reviews 203 reviews
97 attraction reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Not bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

This is an ok model railway, three decent sized dioramas with stop/ start buttons on the 2nd two dioramas that will keep the kids entertained. Is a bit tired ( and there's a noticeable amount of dust on the models) but its reasonably priced, £10 for 5 of us,mand we spent a good 45 minutes before the kids got bored

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“My two sons loved this more than I expected.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

I remember visiting this 30 years ago when I was young and it probably hasn't changed much. In truth when I first walked in I wondered if my children would like it compared to modern-day high-tech entertainments, but they loved it. Simple pleasures. What really grabbed them was the fact you can control the trains yourself, however, being picky, it was not always easy or immediately obvious what you were controlling, but persevere, and this became part of the fun of working this all out.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“My Son loved it, but very rude staff which totally spoiled it for us.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

I grew up going here and now my son could spend all afternoon in there when we visit grandparents. However, when we visited just after Christmas, the couple (especially the lady) serving us were very rude and not at all family friendly telling me 'you're not going to win' as I politely asked a question. The whole experience was extremely disappointing and quite upsetting. If this kind of poor customer service can be overlooked, then it is suitable for children who will enjoy it if they are into trains. I hope she was just having a bad day!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadway, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
47 attraction reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Model railway with a certain charm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Over the Christmas holidays the weather didn't lend itself to getting outdoors too much and in need of a distraction to stop our young boys going stir crazy we scooped up Granny and headed over to the Model Railway Exhibition in Bourton. Although I had visited the toy shop more recently, it was my visit to the exhibition since I had been a boy and it was exactly how I remembered.

The boys were entranced by the first layout with the changing lights and equally with the other layouts and the buttons to control the trains. Okay, the layouts are many years old now, but the good variety of stock ensures interest is kept and keeps children (young and old!) happily entertained.

My only reservation would the size of the place. When we visited in winter we almost had the place to ourselves. I would imagine in summer it gets a lot busier and more crowded which would impair the experience.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bourton Model Railway Exhibition also viewed

Bourton-on-the-Water, Cotswolds
Bourton-on-the-Water, Cotswolds
 
Bourton-on-the-Water, Cotswolds
Bourton-on-the-Water, Cotswolds
 

Been to Bourton Model Railway Exhibition? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bourton Model Railway Exhibition, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.