We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Green and Pleasant

Green and Pleasant
Waterfront, Bourton-on-the-Water, England
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
London
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

Cute place to stop for tea or coffee. I was hoping it would be a bit more fresh, local or organic, but the tea is Twinings (not nicer loose tea), the scones were lukewarm and a bit rubbery, and jam was a national brand served in a little plastic package (this despite them selling really nice local jams in the store!) Good hot chocolate though.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    43
    17
    13
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful location - terrible food and service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Anyone who's been to Bourton-on-the-Water will know that there are lots of places to eat - from snacks to three course meals. We chose Green and Pleasant to sit down and have a cream tea as it was in a beautiful spot right by the river. However that's where the positives come to an end. The young lady serving behind the till was very miserable, didn't make eye contact, smile or say thank you during our transaction. When the food arrived it was very disappointing - everything looked and tasted synthetic. The scone was flavourless, warm and damp - it had been warmed up in the microwave. The butter, jam and clotted cream all came in plasic peel back containers. We'd seen other establishments serving up butter, jam and clotted cream in white crockery, which looked much nicer. At £4.95 per cream tea this was not very good value for money at all. We really regretted chosing our eating spot by location instead of the quality of the food. The location is all this establishment has going for it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Disappointing.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

We stopped for a snack and to get warm. We enjoyed our food - the toasties were lovely. However it was cold because one side of the cafe was open to the elements for ice cream sales. Our car registered 1 degree on the day of our visit. And there really is no excuse for the state of the loo. No soap. No towel. And a dirty nappy in the bin which hadn't been emptied for too long. Ah come on!!! You guys are in a prime location on the riverside. How much effort does it take to offer paying customers a clean loo?

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clacton on sea
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Don' use the toilet !!!!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

What a beautiful village, wonderful scenery. Went into the Green and Pleasant for a cream tea, there were 5 of us. One large scone, butter in a foil, jam in a small plastic peal back container, also this was how the clotted cream was presented, really disappointed. After we had finished a toilet visit was needed. Well, if we had visited the toilet before we had eaten, we would have certainly walked out. Totally disgusting, mould on the walls and the curtain, nothing to wash your hands with or dry them with. Toilet filthy, Health and safety would have a field day!!!!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middle East
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Awful food, grubby surroundings”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

This cafe has the advantage of being right on the water in a prime spot. Unfortunately the soup took about 20 mins to arrive. The "French" bread was almost frozen in the middle and the fruit scone for afters was a little like one of those sponge stress balls in consistency.

The toilet was miserable with no towels ... but there was a very dirty dish towel on the window sill!

The couple next to us were told that the scones were "made fresh YESTERDAY"!

A very sad place that looked as though it was close to shutting up shop forever.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Green and Pleasant also viewed

Bourton-on-the-Water, Cotswolds
Bourton-on-the-Water, Cotswolds
 
Bourton-on-the-Water, Cotswolds
Bourton-on-the-Water, Cotswolds
 

Been to Green and Pleasant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Green and Pleasant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.