We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fab food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Mousetrap Inn Restaurant

The Mousetrap Inn Restaurant
Lansdowne | The Mousetrap Inn, Bourton-on-the-Water Gl54 2AR, England
+44 1451 820579
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: English, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: The mousetrap inn is an old traditional Cotswold inn. Serving good traditional English food & beer.
wales uk
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
“fab food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

a good selection using local sourced ingriedients fab tasting food not overpriced quick service very nicely presented also

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    33
    12
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Best food in Bourton on the Water”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Home-cooked, good portions and very delicious - try the prawn starter and the braised steak main. This was the best meal we had during our stay

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subang Jaya, Malaysia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Strangers not welcomed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

My wife and I visited Bourton on the Water in April 2014. The village of Bourton on the Water is a very quaint and picturesque place to spend a few days. There are numerous restaurants to choose from and almost all the restaurants that we visited, the 3 days that we were there, were good.
We visited The Mouse Trap Inn on 11/4/14 for dinner. Reservation was made earlier in the day.
The food was excellent but we have never been made to feel so unwelcomed in all my visits to the UK. The proprietor, a bespectacled, middle aged man greeted all his regular customers warmly,and by their first names. However he ignored all new customers giving them the impression that he was just tolerating them. The saving grace was the young waitress, who was worked off her feet, single handedly, on that very busy night. She was friendly and warm and helped made us feel better. I cannot understand why the proprietor bother to take reservations from people he doesn't know yet ignores them when they come.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

3 decent local real ales and good value food. Three of us ate there on 2 consecutive nights. Really good.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montevideo, Uruguay
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Scrabble in the Cotswolds!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

We had a nice dinner with good food, excellent service ans a game of scrabble while we ate.
The town ....exquisit!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mousetrap Inn Restaurant also viewed

Bourton-on-the-Water, Cotswolds
Bourton-on-the-Water, Cotswolds
 
Bourton-on-the-Water, Cotswolds
Bourton-on-the-Water, Cotswolds
 

Been to The Mousetrap Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mousetrap Inn Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.