We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good day out” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Birdland

Birdland
Rissington Rd, Bourton-on-the-Water GL54 2BN, England
01451 820480
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Birdland is a natural setting of woodland, river and gardens, which is inhabited byover 500 birds ( swans, pelicans, flamingos, hornbills, cranes, storks, cassowary, pigeons, owls and many more) with the only group of King Penguins in England, Wales and Ireland. More than 50 aviaries, open enclosures and a Desert House and you will also see a display of fish, reptiles, amphibians and insects in the Discovery Zone There is the Penguin Café, indoor and outdoor Picnic areas, an indoor and outdoor play areas, Gift Shop and much more.There are several new aviaries and more to be built which will allow for some new species of bird to be seen in the future.We have just added another 2.5 acres to the site and have developed a nature trail area called ‘Marshmouth Nature Reserve’. The area is a maze of paths and copses with marshland and ponds and views over the Windrush River that will develop over the next few years. This will be a chance for you to immerse yourself in a small area of the Cotswold countryside where you can see many species from a dragonfly to a kingfisher. We have the support of Gloucestershire Wildlife Trust and their early surveys have already acknowledged the presence of Otter and Water Vole on the site with over 60 species of bird recorded and hundreds of plant and insect species.The Discovery Zone offers a dry area to explain the Life Cycle of the Egg and the Life of Birds, seating and soft play area. We also have ‘Trigg Hall’ our new Conference/classroom/lecture theatre facility which will expand our educational facilities for schools, the visitor experience and small business conferences. For more details please contact us. The Encounter Zone is where visitors are able to get up close and personal with many animals from spiders and snakes to chinchillas and eagle owls.Many events planned each year including ‘Bird of Prey Encounters’, ’, ‘Meet a Keeper’ , Summer Trail, evening experiences like ‘Owl Night’, ‘Parrot Night’ and much more. Please look at our website for further details.This also includes daily Penguin Talk, Meet the Pelicans and soon Flamingo Talk.Easter and Summer Quiz trails and the Nature Reserve Warden’s Quiz and please contact us for any group and School visit requirements.Family Ticket, Season Ticket, Bird Adoption and Educational sheets.Arrange ‘Keeper for the Day’ or ‘Feed a Penguin’Newsletter ‘Pelican Notes’
oxford
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“A good day out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

A good day out with plenty to do , we took ourselves a picnic and found lot of seating areas around the park
Is worth a day out if you have little one's with a nice park area , they also have feeding times for certain birds which is good.

Only problem was there were no small food outlets open when we went to get a ice cream ect , but the main eating area was open which were very busy

Will visit again sometime

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    198
    192
    49
    19
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Golikovo, Novgorod, Russia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Birdland experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

A pleasant family day out that brought you close to the birds. It was clean, friendly and informative. The birds seemed to like it and so did the visitors. I was suprised to find such a gem in a very crowded tourist village. There was a lot to see and even some woodland walking.
We were only there for three hours, but could have taken a couple more.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Birdland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

was amazed at how many species of birds they had lovely visit huge area to cover and the food from the Flamingo Cafe was lovely.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Waste of money”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

As we were visiting bourton-on-the-water last week we came across birdland whilst walking through the village. We decided to pay the £9 per person as the map looked like there was going to be a lot to do. There was 4adults and an under 3. As we paid we wasn't given any information and had to ask for a park map. As I work front of house for a busy attraction myself I know how important the first impressions are to the customer.
Whilst walking around the park we noticed that each section had the same birds in. We took a picnic with us to save money, we found a nice bench area but no toilets. We looked at the map but even that didn't show where the toilets were. Another lady asked us if we knew where they were, and another family did after her. We were all walking around trying to find them.
After we ate we followed the trails but we turned around in the end as there were no birds to see and all the signage were either torn or wore out. It was just bend laminated posters with one sentence on each one.
We were bored, just wanted to leave but our little girl wanted to go on the park. The park was ok but no swings.
We spent more time having a picnic than we did enjoying the park. I felt very disappointed and would not recommend it to anyone. We spent nearly £40 to do everything that I can do for free at my local park.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon B, General Manager at Birdland, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
I must say I feel very disappointed, by one of the latest reviews that gives Birdland a 1 star rating. Everyone expects and wants a certain amount of constructive criticism that compliments and drives to improve.

We have had some suprerb comments this year and the staff are all tuned to making sure everyone enjoys their visit, with the occasional mistake.

We have over 130 species of bird from King Penguins to Java Sparrows over a 7 acre Park with the River Windrush running through and have been complimented many times for our signage and information given. There is also an extra 2 acres to a fairly recent development of the Marshmouth Nature Reserve and this is exactly what it is a nature reserve where you have to sit and wait for wild creatures to come to you.

Only the other day a visitor said they had visited specifically to see the Kingfishers and had finally managed to see one and get a photograph. Otters, water vole, 60+ species of bird, insects, plants and so much more if you sit and watch.

11.30 Flamingo talk/12.15 Meet a Keeper (a presentation with unusual birds and snakes etc)/2.30 Penguin Feed Time/3.15 Pelican feed time. Once you have purchased your ticket have your hand stamped and leave to visit the village and return later to see any of the presentations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

I visited Birdland Summer '13 and it was very well presented i ran straight to see the penguins and took loads of pictures i then walked around and saw the penguins getting fed at 2 the guide was very helpful as i walked around we went through the forest and this cute cat followed us. I would recommend this place to anyone.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Birdland also viewed

 
Bourton-on-the-Water, Cotswolds
Bourton-on-the-Water, Cotswolds
 

Been to Birdland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Birdland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.