We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NYE 2013” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old Manse Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Old Manse Hotel to your Saves list
Old Manse Hotel
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   Victoria St., Bourton-on-the-Water GL54 2BX, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“NYE 2013”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Excellent location, really great food & drink and a rocking party atmosphere on New Year's Eve. The staff were brilliant - we couldn't have been looked after any better. Really good value for money too. Catered for 14 in our party from the ages of 13 to 75 - and there was something for everybody. Booked accn. in Bourton the Water for next NYE already - and this was partly due to the great experience we had at the Old Manse on 31st.

Room Tip: We stayed in a cottage in the town and used the hotel to eat, drink & party.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at Old Manse Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you for your great feedback, we are really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your New Year break with us. We will of course pass on all of your comments to our team who will be delighted to read what you have posted. Once again thank you for your kind words & we sincerely hope to see you again soon...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    134
    72
    40
    41
See reviews for
51
259
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Granada, Spain
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

My husband and I live in Spain and came over for four days over the Christmas period.
We had a wonderful time at the Old Manse, it was like home from home, very comfortable and the room was very clean. The staff were so friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The food was very good and the staff made sure you knew exactly when the dinners were served and the christmas buffets.
We will definitely be staying there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at Old Manse Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
I am glad that you had a good Christmas with us and I will pass you feedback on the team as I am sure they will be pleased. Have a happy 2013. Ian and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Arrived for the Christmas package and in spite of flood worries (they wanted to give us a room in the hotel in case of flooding) settled in for a lovely 3 night stay with excellent food and friendly service. Could have done with a few more bar staff at busy times as people were having to clear their own tables, otherwise everything was excellent.
Note to dog owners - our dog was made very welcome and there are lots of wonderful walks without even leaving Bourton.

Room Tip: We were in the cottage annex with our dog. It was nice & cosy and we had access to the street wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at Old Manse Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thank you taking the time to leave you feedback its always welcome I will pass your feedback on to the team as its always nice when we receive nice feedback we look forward to seeing you and your dog soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redbourn, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We stayed at The Old Manse for Christmas having always previously spent the festive season at home. All the staff were friendly and cheerful despite having to work over Christmas! We were made very welcome and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Our room was rather small (what can they do about that in an old building?) but very comfortable. The bathroom could have been better designed as the shower door could not open very far before hitting the hand basin. Overall, we had a great time and would thoroughly recommend the hotel - and Ian and his team.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at Old Manse Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you taking the time to leave you feedback its always welcome I will pass your feedback on to the team as its always nice when we receive nice feedback we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Excellent service for our Christmas break at the Old Manse. The staff were all very friendly & helpful...made sure we had a really good time. The food was very good, as was the restaurant service. Beautiful location as well. Would definately consider going back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at Old Manse Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thank you for your feedback Its always nice to be able to pass on such nice comments to the team. We look forward to seeing you soon have a happy new year
Ian and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter Devon
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here with a friend for a Christmas get together. We met a lunchtime, and caught up over a glass of wine. We tried to find out what time they were serving lunch until - this was at 1.30pm - despite all their food signs and menus being out they decided they had stopped serving food as they had a large group in (of 20 people as it turned it!?) we expressed our disappointment as we had already purchased a bottle of wine, and explained we were residents. Eventually they said they would, do us food in an hour or so if we told them what we wanted which we did (we didn't want to eat immediately anyway) only for it to arrive in about 5 minutes anyway! It was cheap though, and we got what we paid for!
Anyway, on to the room. We were in the annexe, which I do find irritating when you book a hotel based on the hotel and you find your are put somewhere else. But if the room is good it rarely matters in the end. Sadly this was not the case. This was a twin room, and the room was so narrow that they had to use mini single beds, they were extremely narrow, and so were the duvets they used. My friend and I are smallish, but both of us were up in the night trying to get warm, stop ourselves falling out of the beds and generally just not comfortable. Had either of us been with our husbands we would not have been able to stay the night. Frankly this room is suitable for children at best, not adults and especially not at 0ver £100 a night. Add to this the mould around the roof lights, the poor heating, the mouldy bathroom and the completely unusable shower curtain set p and to be honest it was extremely poor.
Breakfast was a shambles (dirty table, missing toast followed by cold toast, wrong food) the waitress cheerfully informed us it was not her day - alas I fear it was our day which was not going well!
On check out (indeed at any point in our stay) had we been asked if everything was ok I would have given feedback however we were not asked which leaves me with tripadvisor as a place to leave my comments.
I think that with its location and building, they have guaranteed footfall and as a result do not feel they have to bother ensuring people return. Such a shame and waste of what should be a lovely place.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at Old Manse Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thank you for your feedback I am sorry to here that we did not meet the high standard we normal set our self’s on this occasion I would appreciate it if you could call the hotel so I could look in the points you have raised in person I look forward to hearing from you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

My wife and I and our 4 friends recently stayed here for the weekend. Right from the moment we arrived when we were guided carefully into the rear car park, nothing was too much trouble for Ian, Beata and the staff. Helpful advice on what to do and where to go, flexibility on what we required during our meals (The breakfasts are excellent with a lot of choice),with an excellent Christmas Party on the Saturday evening with the DJ playing all the right tracks.The rooms are small being an old building but clean, comfortable and warm. The weekends enjoyment was all the more because of the ameability and enthusiasm of the management. Well recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Owner at Old Manse Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. We are glad that you had a great time with your friends and your lovely comments have been passed to our team. We are hoping to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Old Manse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Manse Hotel

Address: Victoria St., Bourton-on-the-Water GL54 2BX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Bourton-on-the-Water
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Bourton-on-the-Water
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Manse Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Manse is a delightful English country inn overlooking the river Windrush, which flows gently through the centre of this picture-postcard Cotswold village. You can enjoy exploring this historic area of outstanding natural beauty with a stroll around the quaint little village of Bourton or simply curl up in front of a roaring log fire. Our rooms are all en-suite, where their size and layout do reflect the historic nature of our building, great for short stays and as a base to explore this beautiful location. Some of our rooms are located in the Old Manse Cottage, a short distance from the main building, but equally full of quirky features. A great selection of food and drink is available from our restaurant and bar. Guests should be aware that our car park is limited, however our team are always willing to assist guests with luggage and finding local alternate parking facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Old Manse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Old Manse

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Manse Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.