We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sitting room Welcome Cottage
Sitting room Welcome Cottage
Sitting room Welcome Cottage
Welcome Cottage
Garden with patio dining
View of garden
Conservatory from garden
Bourton-on-the-Water
|
Rental Home – 
6 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
petralia1...
big bear lake
1 review
“A wonderful time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Our stay at Welcome Cottage in the picturesque village of Bourton-on-the-Water was one of the most enjoyable highlights of our trip! We were eight adults traveling together including some family and close friends. The cottage was spacious and comfortable and absolutely charming. It is located just a couple of short blocks from the village center and we all enjoyed several walks a day into town for shopping and dining and seeing the sights. At the end of the day Welcome Cottage was the perfect place to simply relax and experience what it is like to live in a quaint English village.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The comfort and charm of the cottage and its' close proximity to town.
Liked least: Our stay was not long enough!
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 10, 2013
Our sincere thanks for your very kind review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Chris F
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Welcome Cottage lives up to its name.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

Our week at Welcome Cottage was the perfect venue for my 60th birthday celebrations with our extended family and friends. Its location just beyond the village centre is ideal as it was extremely quiet but just a few minutes from the high street. There was plenty of space for 12 people to eat, sleep and relax with a sunny conservatory overlooking the garden. The cottage is very tastefully decorated and although spacious, felt very welcoming and homely. If you want a holiday cottage in a lovely part of the Cotswolds that can accomodate a large group I can thoroughly recommend Welcome Cottage.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Plenty of space for a large group and the standard of upkeep.
Liked least: The noise water softener working at 1.30am one night.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 26, 2013
Thank you very much for sending us a lovely review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Sare75jc
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect house in a perfect location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013 for a stay in March 2013

We parked the car up and didn't use it again until going home. The property is a short stroll from all the town has to offer. We travelled with 4 children (aged 3-6) and there was plenty to do for the weekend. The house is decorated to a high standard with plenty of room for a large party. Highly recommended.

5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Location
5 of 5 stars Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 5, 2014
We very much appreciate your lovely review. Thank you for taking time to submit it.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Nicola B
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“Very Pleased”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013 for a stay in January 2013

We visited as a family group for a birthday celebration varying in age from grandparent to newborn. Welcome Cottage works well for a large group especially as the different seating areas allow everyone their own space with TV! The property is very central, with good, comfortable facilities, generous size bedrooms and was immaculately presented. Other than a frying pan, the only thing we thought the property could benefit from was a downstairs cloakroom.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The beautiful period property
Liked least: No frying pan
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 7, 2013
Thank you very much for your lovely review. We have responded to your frying pan request and have added one to the kitchen.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
JMS719
Haverfordwest, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Charming property, beautifully decorated and situated, ideal for large group”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012 for a stay in November 2012

Ideal situation in a quiet street 50 metres from the centre of Bourton-on-the-Water. Easily accommodates 12 in large, spacious rooms, with a magnificent communal dining room seating all 12. Also has 3 sitting areas where everyone can get together or retreat alone when needed! Decorated with great flair and taste - all furnishings are of the highest quality and beds are extremely comfortable. A new downstairs wing provides sitting room, bedroom and en suite ideally suited for those with impaired mobility or those wishing to be a little "separate" - in our case it was the couple without children who wanted a lie-in! Owners very accommodating re our need to include 3 babies and all but one bedroom were big enough for travel cots, 2 of which were provided. Our only "niggle" was the plethora of "thou shall not" notices - we appreciate that not all parties have the degree of respect for other people's property that we hope we had , but do feel this was a counter-productive exercise. There were so many, they just got ignored and common sense prevailed! Amongst the "do-nots", there was a non-frying policy (confirmed by owner's note in visitors' book), to the extent that, despite a generally well-equipped kitchen, there was no frying pan. Instead, microwave alternatives were provided. Again, a bit counter-productive - we felt people would just use baking tins on the hob and probably ruin them! Despite this, a fantastic property, highly recommended.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Location and standard of property
Liked least: Notice over-kill!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 4, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to write us such a lovely and complimentary review of Welcome Cottage. It gives us a great lift to hear that you liked the quality, the decor, the amount of space and the ambience. We love to get such feeback as we are trying to make clients delighted.

We acknowledge your comment about the notices on display and hope they did not offend. They are the result of several incidents over the years e.g. groups who have upset neighbours with very rowdy outside behaviour during the night or those who have left the cottage in a filthy mess. (The havoc that can be wreaked over a weekend when alcohol is flowing has at times been shocking.) Truly, the vast majority of guests do not behave in this way so we very much hope that - as you did - they just ignore the notices.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Joanne W
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012 for a stay in June 2012

I have stayed at Welcome Cottage on two seperate occasions and I have to say that each time was a wonderful experience.
The first was for a Hen Party (a very civalised one!) the second a family holiday.
The accomodation is 1st class, every little detail has been thought of and the decor is just lovely and really captures the feel of the Cotswolds.
On our second visit we were particularly impressed by the new double room with en suite facilities.
There is ample room for 12 guests and is the perfect house for a family holiday.
The house itself is a two minuite walk from the village which hosts a nice variety of shops, caf'es, bars and restaurants.
I will definatly be going back to Welcome Cottage!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The cosy feel of the house
Liked least: it was all lovely!!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 5, 2014
Sincere thanks for your very complimentary review of Welcome Cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$227
/
Night
Week
Make Inquiry
Owner
Margaret W
44 1625879853
Speaks English
Listed since : May 2006
Response Rate: 90 %
Response Time: Within a day
Calendar Updated: 5 days ago
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing