We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon stay.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chester House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Chester House Hotel to your Saves list
Chester House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Victoria Street, Bourton-on-the-Water GL54 2BU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
worcestershire
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Honeymoon stay.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2010

Ideal location right in the centre of town, can park the car and leave it as many lovely walks. Hotel staff all very friendly & helpful, food at the hotel first class & their Croft restaurant equally as good.
Complimentary bottle of champagne to celebrate our wedding a lovely surprise will definitely return and recommend to others.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    144
    30
    16
    5
See reviews for
73
270
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
bristol
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2009

I have stayed at the chester house 3 times now (and have 3 'chester' ducks to prove it :D

The first time I stayed was with my disabled mother. The disabled room is really well set out.

The second time I stayed was with my partner upstairs in the coach house, again a wonderful room.

third time was with my partner in the main hotel. gorgeous :)

The hotel is privately owned and very,very well cared for. All the rooms appear to be different. Public spaces are beautifully maintained and all staff are friendly.

the price is outstanding value. the hotel is right in the very centre of Bourton on the water.

as a smoker I would recommend the coach house as there is a covered area outside where you can smoke without getting wet :)

My only gripe is that you can't stay in the coach house for one night, there appears to be a 2 night policy.

go there and get yourself a chester :)

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2009

What a lovely place. The staff are a credit to this hotel, i have never felt more at home!
The room was cozy & warm with a lovely big soft bed. The food was just perfect but for me this place was the staff and they will be the reason i will be booking again next year and the reason i felt compelled to write a review. Thank you all so much for looking after us.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berks
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2009

Recently spent a weekend at The Chester House Hotel. The hotel is ideally located in the middle of the village with most places within walking distance. The hotel has a resonable sized car park compared with others nearby but it can get busy so try and arrive early. The staff were friendly and helpful and the room clean and well laid out. We stayed in one of the 4 poster bed rooms which cost £120 per night B&B. The breakfast was good, although not huge. The hotel's restaurant is called "The Croft" and is located opposite the hotel. We ate there the first night and were so impressed with the food that we returned the second night. There was a good selection on the menu, fair prices, and the food was of excellent quality with a lot of local produce appearing to be used.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2009

I stayed at The Chester House Hotel for 2 nights in a (huge) twin room with my mum. The hotel is lovely and all the staff very friendly and helpful. It's in a great location for exploring Bourton which is busy all year round. No problem at all parking in the car park. Breakfast was tasty and plenty of choice. We also ate in The Croft restaurant where I had the most delicious burger I've ever tasted - oh and the puddings are delicious and huge! The one thing that could be improved with the room we stayed in was the bathroom. It was spotlessly clean, but very dated. A new white bathroom suite would make all the difference! We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottm
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2009

Chester house is a great place to stay on Bourton as its so close to the centre of the village and yet not right at the front of the tourist route. We were able to park in the car park on every occasion. The staff were all so very friendly and helpful too. Our room was great and we had lots of storage space so that all our luggage was tucked away from view. We liked the two sinks in the bathroom too ! We only ate at the restuarant on one occasion and the service and food was good. We are certainly planning to go back again in Feb and next time we will take the dog and stayb in the pet friendly room.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2009

Having stayed with family including children the hotel was perfect. The location was excellent and we didn't use the cars at all. The staff were extremely friendly with a special mention to Nick in the bar who went out of his way for all of us. Will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chester House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chester House Hotel

Address: Victoria Street, Bourton-on-the-Water GL54 2BU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Bourton-on-the-Water
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bourton-on-the-Water
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chester House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Non-smoking throughout. Disabled/wheelchair facilities. Residents lounge/bar. Residents Restaurant. Families welcome, cots and baby monitors available. Large bookings welcome. Beauty therapist available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Chester House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chester Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chester House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.