We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel & location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chester House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Chester House Hotel to your Saves list
Chester House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Victoria Street, Bourton-on-the-Water GL54 2BU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Leicester, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice hotel & location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights in Nov 2012. Picked this hotel following the reviews from Tripadvisor as they have never failed me before!
I would agree with the reviews this is a lovely hotel. Its set in a nice location, didnt find parking any trouble & overall was pleased.
The staff were friendly & I felt they couldnt do enough for you.
We selected a 'Better' room out of the 3 choices. It was a spacious room & was actually a family room with a double bed & 2 single beds.
The bathroom was okay but could be updated but the shower worked & there was constant hot water.

We ate in The Croft both nights of our stay as the food was really nice so I would definately recommend eating there.

Only thing I would point out is we 'paid' directly through the website & asssumed it was all paid for. On checking out of the room we were told that the details were used for holding only & in fact we had to do chip & pin again. Just think it should be made clearer on the website that full payment was actually done on checkout of the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    145
    30
    16
    5
See reviews for
73
271
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

My husband and I stayed for a 2 night weekend break at the Chester House Hotel in NOvember 2012 (sorry for the late post).

On arrival to the beautiful village of Bourton on the Water, we were pleased with the choice that we had made. The hotel was cosy and clean with a lovely breakfast. The hotel is central to the village and the other surrounding cotswold villages. We ate one night at the hotels restaurant 'The Croft' which is just accross the road from the hotel. I can honestly say that we had the best steak meal and the price was very reasonable.

We loved it so much we are returning again for a weekend in Feb 2013. I would say that this is one of the if not the best hotel in the village,

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

We spent a night here and wished we were staying for 2. It was really just right for a pre Christmas break. Beautiful room great food and very friendly staff, pity about the beeping smoke alarm but it wouldn't put us off going back. Would recommend if you want a relaxing few days

Room Tip: Room 15 is superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at this hotel in December for two nights. Everything was first-rate. Reception staff were friendly and obliging. The room was cosy and comfortable and the hotel was in a great location.

The breakfast was fantastic, with fresh local produce. We had dinner in the attached restaurant which was also fantastic.

I can't recommend enough for a quiet weekend away.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Location is probably the best thing about this hotel. It is right at the center of Bourton-on-the-Water, which is great to visit other popular towns in Cotswolds and has a great selection of restaurants by the canal. We had a room in the lowest category since the other rooms are just bigger, which we didn't need anyway. It looked out to the garden, which is nice. The room itself is good size with standard furniture and comfortable bed. The bathroom, however, is super small. I feel like they could have designed it better, taking away more space from the entrance into the room to expand the bathroom. It was kinda difficult to maneuver in there. There was a big family with children above us and one morning after breakfast, they were being so loud and running around upstairs. We were just thankful it didn't happen during any of the 3 nights we stayed.
Breakfast was ok; staff was friendly. The garden/backyard was nice to hang out in the afternoon on a lazy day. It was kept nice and clean. But one annoying thing is there is no Internet in the rooms. So we had to go to the lounge room or bar to get access to the Internet, which was super slow, too.
Overall, it was a good value compared to the whole expensive area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampshire
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

This is a real gem,central location lovely building with nice rooms.The most attentive staff at any hotel we have stayed,everyone of them is 1st class and this makes a real difference.A lovely quality breakfast,and a amazing evening meal.Thank you chester house for a lovely weekend,and my duck!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012 via mobile

When ever I go away I always choose the top hotel recommended by trip advisor and once again this one did not disappoint. Fantastic location within Bourton! The staff here are all a credit to the hotel, extremely attentive, well mannered and helpful. Not a huge menu in the croft, but it is a sound menu and all the food we had in there was pretty good and very reasonably priced. We stayed in room 25, which was very homely and warm with the little extras thrown in. Would definitely come back and recommend to friends!!

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chester House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chester House Hotel

Address: Victoria Street, Bourton-on-the-Water GL54 2BU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Bourton-on-the-Water
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bourton-on-the-Water
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chester House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Non-smoking throughout. Disabled/wheelchair facilities. Residents lounge/bar. Residents Restaurant. Families welcome, cots and baby monitors available. Large bookings welcome. Beauty therapist available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Chester House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chester Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chester House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.