We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Exterior 1
Exterior 1
Exterior 1
Exterior 2
Garden
Living Room
Living Room
Bourton-on-the-Water
|
Rental Home – 
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ziegler10...
Redhill, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A little piece of history with all mod cons”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed at Allerton Cottage with my husband and toddler. The house is beautiful with low beams and wooden floors. It is tastefully and comfortably furnished and there are some lovely touches like Portmeirion crockery and good toiletries. The owners also left us some handy provisions like milk, tea, coffee, dishwasher tabs and washing up liquid. Although entering the house is like stepping back in time, it also has enough modern touches to make your stay a relaxing one eg dishwasher, washing machine, DVD player. People with kids will be glad of the stairgate, travel cot and high chair but should be aware that the garden is not enclosed and that there is no light over the very steep, dark staircase which leads up to the twin bedroom at the top of the house. The location on Bourton High Street is perfect for town and it's a great base for exploring the rest of the Cotswolds by car.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Olde worlde yet comfortable
Liked least: Lack of light over upper staircase
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Cobra1943
Bowral, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The best cottage ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

We had the privilege of staying in Allerton Cottage for the last week of our UK holiday and what an experience it was! Diane made sure that we were comfortable and was extremely welcoming. Not only was the cottage immaculate but on arrival we found bread, milk, orange juice, wine and chocolates left there for us. We truly appreciated this thoughtfulness. We had the best time in this beautiful village and were sad to leave it. Being a touristy area with hundreds of visitors daily, we loved the fact that they all had to go home at the end of the day and we had to only walk the few metres back to this very homely and cosy cottage

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Nothing!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Jospanner...
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent cottage full of charm in fab location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Cottage was very well equipped and comfortable. Great location in centre of village, Very clean and lovely welcome gifts from owner. The driveway to the rear parking area was very narrow, only just got our Astra through the gap so be aware. The church is directly behind the cottage and the bells chime every 15 minutes day and night. Not ideal if like me you are a light sleeper but the others in my group did'nt hear them at all. Cottage had every thing you could possibly need. Had a great stay.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
4 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: cottage comfort and decor
Liked least: Driveway and church bells (not that they can be helped)
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Bexwat
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic, cosy cottage”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed at Allerton Cottage with my husband and daughter, and we had a brilliant time. The cottage itself was full of character, beautifully furnished and all in all very comfortable. There was plenty to do in Bourton-on-the-Water, and we found it was a brilliant base for exploring the Cotswolds, even as far as Bath. The only improvement I can think of is wi-fi, but other than that, it was great!

4 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
kame66
Gifhorn, Germany
1 review
“Excellent cottage in superb location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

The cottage was in a very good shape, very clean and tiday, all appliances were functional, the beds were perfect, there were more than enough towels for us (2 adults, 2 children), wonderful crockery and enough cutlery and everything else for the kitchen. So all we can say is that we had a very nice holiday at Allerton Cottage!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
lc00k
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 for a stay in December 2012

We booked Allerton Cottage for a week over Christmas and it was absolutely perfect in every way. We arrived to find a host of complimentary goodies provided by the owner, including champagne, chocolates, biscuits, milk, tea and coffee. Every attention has been paid to little details: there are candles and soft lighting throughout, lovely throws for cosying in front of the log fire, a selection of umbrellas in the hallstand, plenty of books and games, DVD movies, a great selection of CDs....the list is endless.

The cottage is spotless, the bedlinen immaculate and the towels are huge, plentiful, soft and fluffy. The master bedroom is so romantic and the upstairs twin bedroom is an absolute delight.

We enjoyed every minute of our stay here and have no hesitation in recommending Allerton Cottage.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: The local pubs were quite lacklustre.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Emeraldth...
Windsor, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The perfect cottage with everything”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012 for a stay in September 2012

My 2 year old daugher and I stayed at Allerton Cottage for a weekend break. We managed to have amazing weather and the cottage was the perfect place, conveniently located steps away from all the shops and restaurants and things to do. It is super close to a lot of the small market towns so a good base for exploring.

The place was charming, warm and inviting and had everything we needed. I loved the low ceilings, beams and character of the place, exactly as you see it in the photos. The kitchen was well stocked and Diane left us some biscuits and coffee which was a nice touch. Having a toddler I always have lots of 'stuff' so it was nice that the car park was just steps away from the back door. Thank goodness we have a small car because when I saw the space between the buildings we had to drive through, I had a little bit of a panic but all was good.

The place has no wifi and I had no phone reception in our around the cottage, so this is really about getting away, leave it behind. I would highly recommend a stay and we will most definitely be back!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Cottage character
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$1,015
/ Week
Make Inquiry
Owner
Diane P
44 07973 728931
Speaks English
Listed since : Jun 2010
Response Rate: 100 %
Response Time: Within a few hours
Calendar Updated: 15 days ago
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing