We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B & B we've ever stayed in!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cranbourne House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Cranbourne House to your Saves list
Cranbourne House
5.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Moore Road, Bourton-on-the-Water GL54 2AZ, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Kent
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best B & B we've ever stayed in!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2011

We spent four nights here in the Westcote Suite, and for most of that time we more or less had the place to ourselves. As hosts, Shona and Graham ( and Chocco the dog!! ) were exemplary in every respect; from greeting us at the door the moment we arrived, to giving us a lift to the local restaurant when it was raining, to waiting on us hand-and-foot virtually the whole time we were there. I can honestly say that they didn't put a foot wrong the whole time, right down to the smallest of details. In more than thirty years of staying in B & Bs of one sort and another, I've yet to come across one that would beat this; in fact, I've stayed in four- and five-star hotels that would struggle to compete, and I say that without exaggeration or hyperbolae. The room itself was excellent; very comfortable bed indeed, a spacious, clean, modern bathroom / shower area and more than ample room within the main bedroom to sit down and watch TV or just relax - although the adjacent conservatory was our home for much of the time!

In short, we really could not find fault in any respect. When considering where to stay in Bourton, I checked out a large number of B & Bs and virtually all of the hotels in the area, including both Chester House and Dial House. There is no doubt whatsoever in my mind that we made the right choice. If you want to pay more than twice as much, it may be the case that Dial House would be an acceptable alternative, although personally I'd probably still go with Cranbourne House; in terms of value for money, from what I saw of it, even Dial House cannot hold a candle to this place. Certainly I don't imagine for a moment that the service would have even come close to being as personal or as attentive as Shona and Graham's was. If you're looking at Trip Advisor, you're probably doing exactly as I did when I first started looking for accommodation in Bourton : comparing one B & B with another, checking out facilities, prices etc. Cranbourne House isn't the cheapest you'll find; if it weren't for Dial House and even Chester House, I'd quote the old adage that you get what you pay for, but certainly in terms of VALUE for money, you won't beat Cranbourne House. Do yourself a favour and save yourself hours of checking out all the others - if Cranbourne House have the dates you want, book them while you still can!!

Room Tip: We'd strongly recommend the Westcote Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    14
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
154
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

What can we say - Shona, Graham, and Choco are the perfects hosts. The accomodations were wonderful (we had the Notgrove Room ) which was spacious and beautiful. The breakfast was great, the hospitality second to none. We would definitely stay here again and recommend it to others !

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2011

Stayed only one night with another retired couple. Shona and Graham came out of the house to welcome us as soon as we drove into the driveway and helped carry our heavy bags up to the two front second floor bedrooms. We had the one with the double basins and great shower stall with the soothing rainfall shower head. The rooms were very clean, neat and uncluttered as was the entire house. Both couples left our dogs in the states for our UK trip so interacting with Shona and Graham's friendly dog was a pleasure. Shona was extremely helpful in giving directions and recommending places to see. She even made last minute reservations for us in a popular Bourton restaurant. We were encouraged to leave our car in their drive after checking out the next morning so we could walk to the Slaughters. This is a beautiful walk for those who can manage the trip through several sheep pastures required to go from lower to upper Slaughter. A shoe washing brush near the stream on our return to lower from upper was welcome since dodging the sheep "land mines" along the path is near impossible. Wear smooth soled shoes for this walk if you have them or be prepared to spend some time cleaning your cleated boots. This should not discourage you from taking this serene hike.........it is just part of the natural ambience and beauty of the Slaughters.
Bourton is a beautiful town and a must-see if you are traveling the Cotswolds. Cranbourne House is only a few minutes walk to town and away from the hustle/bustle of the tourist crowds.
Graham served our morning breakfast which include a wide choice of good things to eat. We chose eggs, bacon (ham in UK), sausage and toast.
Overall, we loved staying at Cranbourne house and were very impressed with the its cleanliness and especially with the sincere welcome from Shona and Graham who we felt went out of their way to make our stay memorable.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2011

We stayed at Cranbourne House at the end of April and we had a wonderful stay there. The hosts Shona and Graham (and Choco the Dog of course) are lovely. They are so welcoming, friendly and helpful, they certainly made our stay a memorable one. Bourton-on-the-water is a gorgeous town, really worth a visit, as is the rest of the Cotwolds. Such a beautiful part of the UK.

We were greeted on arrival by Shona and Graham and although they were busy with the other guests which was a family of 7, they made us feel so welcome with a hot cup of tea and some lovely treats. They sat down and joined us in the conservatory and we got on so well with them we ended up chatting about our trip for the next hour. It was lovely after travelling so much over the last 5 weeks to come to a B&B and feel so at home, so quickly, we really appreciated that. Choco the dog's presence was very much enjoyed as I had missed our two dogs so much whilst being away.

Being a bank holiday weekend, Shona realised that getting a reservation for dinner might be impossible, so she got onto the phone straight away and organised a table at a lovely restaurant in town. She also organised another table for the following night which was so good of her, as it meant we didn't have to worry about that. Both restaurants were fantastic, the food, wine, staff and location were brilliant.

We stayed in the Icomb Suite which was exactly as it looked on the web. Beautiful furnishings, clean and comfortable and a gorgeous bathroom as well. There is only a bath in the bathroom, no shower although there is a hand held shower rod in the bath. We acutally didn't mind not having a shower at all as it was quite nice to enjoy the spa and soak. We love having the ability to have fresh air in our room and was pleased to see that we could have the window open at Cranbourne without any worry of noise disturbing us as the area was very peaceful and quiet. The location is great, it's within walking distance to town, restaurants & shops and there's a large Tesco's supermarket nearby. You can also walk to Lower & Upper Slaughter as well.

The breakfasts at Cranbourne were beautiful, hot and tasty and the local bread was amazing. We loved our two night stay at Cranbourne House B&B. Thank you so much Shona and Graham for everything, you are the best hosts we had on our trip. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2011

Very nice B&B with great rooms and wonderful service. You are certainly made to feel at home here. Hosts were ever so helpful with everything regarding our stay. The rooms we had was lovely, beautifully furnished, with a big comfortable bed. Only thing I'd improve is if you had an ironing board and iron available in the room. If you're staying in Bourton would recommend the Croft restaurant - very nice food.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2011

The hospitality, location, premises, food, decor........all 100% perfect. Cranbourne House and it's owners and staff gave us just the break we needed. If you want a trip, day out or even just a meal out the owners and staff are very helpful with local knowledge, also a variety of leaflets were available for other suggestions. We would strongly recommend a visit!!! We had an absolutely perfect time and can't wait to return ...

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2011

Came here by pure chance. We clearly had luck on our side that day! A beautful place, excellent food and warm and very friendly service

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cranbourne House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cranbourne House

Address: Moore Road, Bourton-on-the-Water GL54 2AZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Bourton-on-the-Water
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Bourton-on-the-Water
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Cranbourne House 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our stylish and self contained Bed and Breakfast in the heart of the “Venice of the Cotswolds” Bourton on the Water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Cranbourne House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cranbourne House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.