We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible” 1 of 5 stars
Review of China Town Restaurant

China Town Restaurant
1A Victoria Street, Bourton-on-the-Water GL54 2BU, England
(01451) 821818
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget, Doing business, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Bad Homburg, Germany
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Terrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2011

The quality of the food was terrible - especially the meat. Service was not helpful. When confronted with the statement that the quality of the duck meat was appaling (dog food like), they just said "Oh you just don't like duck!" - what kind of reply is that? Really can't understand the good reviews previously posted. DON'T GO THERE!

  • Visited March 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    59
    24
    3
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“great restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2011

this a very good restaurant,the food and service is 1st class so if in bourton on the water treat your self if you like chinese food

  • Visited March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
1 review
“An Absolute Gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2011

My husband and I went to China Town for my Husband's birthday weekend in bourton-on-the-water on a sunday evening on the back of the reviews we'd seen on here. We were so pleased we did. We were delighted to see they provide an 'eat-as-much-as-you-can menu' for only £12.80 per head! Contrary to what you usually find with these 'eat all' deals the quality of food was superb! We often partake in chinese food, both take-away and in restaurants and this was probably the best so far. The service was also great with the staff being very helpful and friendly. Our waiter was a real character and even gave us a complimentary free wine and beer each! It is obviously a very popular place and there was a surprisingly buzzing atmosphere for a dank cold sunday evening in February!

Don't be put off by the tacky decor which does leave alot to be desired - this really is a gem and we will return!

  • Visited February 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton
1 review
“Great food and the staff are very friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2010

This place is a hidden gem the food is great and the menu is the best I have seen. We ate twice in this restaurant and would recommend you try it.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“'A hidden gem'”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2010

My wife and I travel far and wide and we try out eateries where ever we stay.
The quality of the food here is among the best we've had in a chinese restaurant. The staff we're friendly and the place itself very cosy. Bourton on the waters' restaurant scene is patchy at best but the China Town was superb!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed China Town Restaurant also viewed

Bourton-on-the-Water, Cotswolds
Bourton-on-the-Water, Cotswolds
 
Bourton-on-the-Water, Cotswolds
Bourton-on-the-Water, Cotswolds
 

Been to China Town Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage China Town Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.