We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Cotswold Mansion” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harrington House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Harrington House to your Saves list
Harrington House
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Sherborne St, Bourton-on-the-Water GL54 2BY, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Cirencester
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Pleasant Cotswold Mansion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Harrington House is owned and run by HF Holidays so expect comfort, not luxury. The food is excellent, the rooms are perfectly comfortable but the one I was in was in need of an upgrade and had the sort of lighting which made the room look darker when you turned the light on. The bar was very small given the numbers of people that stay here whilst the ball room is rather empty and uninviting but right for the briefing and activities associated with the holidays. The dining room is intended for communal eating which is a feature of HF Holidays. Again the decor is a little passé.
Despite my comments overall this is an excellent place in which to stay.

Room Tip: Avoid the house in the cottage facing the main road. Rooms in the main house are probably best
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    11
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
2
13
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bonita
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

When I book a tour, I have few expectations where we will stay or eat. Well, we were very pleasantly surprised! We were in the main building. I had wanted a deluxe room but they were all gone. The room was very nice. Bathroom and shower were good. It was quiet. Liked the bar. Where we were extremely surprised was the quality of the food. This isn't a typical B&B. The people at the House were very helpful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

I think some people want everything for the lowest price. My daughter and I stayed at Harrington House at the beginning to July 2012. We had beautiful weather in a somewhat miserable summer. So this was great.
We had a twin room in Jubilee House, and it was large with a large bathroom. Beautifully clean, with crisp white bed linen. (There were no protectors on the pillows under the pillowcases, which would be an improvement).
The floor in this old building sloped in a rather endearing way.
The food was excellent. Broad choice of breakfast options. Packed lunch was amazing, so much choice and you could take, what you needed.
Supper was good as well, three courses and all this for less than I have paid for a very average B and B.
There is a beautiful garden with tables and umberella's, a bar, the availabilty of croquet stuff. The staff are so helpful and the whole house is well organised in a very gentle way.
I would go again at the drop of a hat.
Oh and Bourton on the Water is stunningly beautiful.

Room Tip: Our room in Jubilee House was great, could be noisy in the morning as it is in the gate house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

Our room was very small and dark and the shower had very little water pressure. The food was good and there are plenty of public areas to relax after a day's walking. The staff were all very pleasant and willing to help.The one thing that particularly let Harrington House down was the boot and drying room. There was not enough room to hang wet clothes. No proper drying areas and only pegs not airers. We had a very wet week walking and this drying area was not up to the job. Please HF sort this out.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgraded room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah D, HF Holidays at Harrington House, responded to this review, May 31, 2012
Thank you for your feedback.
Sarah – Research & Quality Manager
HF Holidays Ltd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Lovely stay and very lucky with the weather - good location - room OK although a little small.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

We spent last week-end there as a base for a walking group of 30 people and we had great food , good staff , lovely location and really no faults except the SALT condiment in the Restaurant does not work. That is the only niggle I had,

Room Tip: Our room was in the main building , there are rooms in an annex but the main building would be the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stewart Island, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

Wonderful old mansion with lovely spacious rooms and good foods. Discovery Tours with Chrissy are a must. You'll see so much. Great hosts Mia and Daniel. Fabulous week.

Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Harrington House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harrington House

Address: Sherborne St, Bourton-on-the-Water GL54 2BY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Bourton-on-the-Water
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Bourton-on-the-Water
Hotel Class:4 star — Harrington House 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dating originally from the Tudor period, and of considerable historic interest, Harrington House mirrors the mellow architectural style of the Cotswolds. With an enviable location in the centre of Bourton-on-the-Water, and surrounded by beautiful rolling countryside, it's not surprising that many of our guests return year after year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Harrington House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harrington House Hotel Bourton-On-The-Water

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harrington House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.