We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“IDYLLIC!!!!!!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Meadow Rise Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bourton-on-the-Water
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Meadow Rise Guest House
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Pock Hill Lane, Bourton-on-the-Water GL54 2DD, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“IDYLLIC!!!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Myself and my partner stayed in this delightful 4 star guest house on the 29th of June. We were greeted with a warm welcome from Hana (the owner). Our room was absolutely beautiful and clean with a gorgeous view of the meadow. Beautifully decorated also. Hana was extremely friendly and accommodating. The guest house is literally a hop, skip and a jump from the centre which was great. A lovely breakfast with plenty of choice. Would highly recommend and will definitely go again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    72
    14
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
65
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Croyde, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 1 night on Bank Holiday Monday, whilst viewing our newly-purchased property nearby.
The location is its real attraction - on a beautiful quiet lane facing fields and gently-rolling farmland, yet 300m walk from the local pub and village facilities.

Our room, though a little small for 2 people and luggage, was very clean and attractively presented.

Hannah, the owner, was very friendly, welcoming and helpful - we are very happy to heartily recommend Meadow Rise for a short stay in this beautiful village.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

It's on a quiet lane with a lovely front garden with great views on both sides of the house. The house is remodeled, sparkling clean, beautifully appointed and charming. The attention to detail towards comfort was astounding. Our hostess Hanna was considerate and helpful. We loved it. Excellent breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uxbridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We stayed at this lovely bed & breakfast for two nights for our Anniversary.It was literally a couple of minutes walk from the main village but was extreemly quiet which was perfect for us. We stayed in the Premier Room which was very spacious very clean and had a beautiful view over the meadow. Hannah made us feel very welcome was very kind and nothing was too much trouble.
Breakfast was delicious but unfortunatly didnt include the seeded brown bread that was mentioned in a previous review but apart from that was very good.It is served early 8 until 8.30am although Hannah did say we could have it a bit later but is does mean you get the whole day to enjoy the Cotswolds.We would definitly stay here again.

Room Tip: The Premier Room is really big with a sofa and a lovely view just mind your head as is a loft room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlow, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

The best B&B we have stayed in. clean, Friendly, just on the edge of the village. Our bedroom overlooked the fields. Bathroom was spacious with separate large shower free standing bath, very well designed. Decor was light and airy. Very good breakfast. If you are thinking of staying over night I would recommend this lovely house.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We stayed this guest house for two nights.Our room was located in attic,very lovely,very clean,and made you feel happy.The host was very nice and prepare delicious breakfast in the morning,gave us wonderful and unforgettable memories staying there.Besides,it was just few minutes walking distance to the main street,very convenient.It is very good choice if you want to live in Cotswold.

Room Tip: Room in the attic is most lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Very warm host. The room was quiet, very clean and everything looks new and neat. It was a cold day when we got there so the heating was on, which made for a pleasant, cosy sleep on a comfortable bed. We had a nice view over a green field from the window.

Good quality breakfast, with seeded brown toast, a healthy choice I would make at home, and grilled sausages and bacon. If you want beans you have to ask.

For a walk along the river on Windrush Way footpath you have to take a narrow left turn just after the Wellington pub, five minutes away from the B&B, there is a blue sign for a footpath. We walked to Naunton, Lower Slaughter and Upper Slaughter, a pleasant walk.

Only downside overall, you have to wake up very early for breakfast, latest at 8.30, and to vacate the room at 10. If this is a weekend and you want to rest, they could really do better than this.

All in all a good stay, but expected for the higher price that you pay here than in other parts of the UK for a B&B.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Meadow Rise Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meadow Rise Guest House

Address: Pock Hill Lane, Bourton-on-the-Water GL54 2DD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Cotswolds > Bourton-on-the-Water
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Bourton-on-the-Water
Hotel Class:4 star — Meadow Rise Guest House 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hanna & Beverley Gent welcome old & new customers to their newly established home right in the heart of the very lovely village of Bourton on the Water, sometimes called the Venice of the Cotswolds because of the River Windrush that winds its way through the main street. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Meadow Rise Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Meadow Rise Guest House to your Saves list