We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“its like staying with friends” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Larks Rise

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bourton-on-the-Water
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Larks Rise
Save
You added Larks Rise to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Old Gloucester Road, Bourton-on-the-Water GL54 3BH, England   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
warwickshire
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“its like staying with friends”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2009

Have read some of the other reviews on here which we feel are incorrect so had to let you know of our experiences at Larks Rise.
This is now our fourth visit to Barbara and Bills guest house and it really is like we are stopping with friends. Nothing is too much trouble, it is great to chat to them and catch up. Location is just outside of Bourton so you are not troubled by lots of people but is close enough to have a pleasant walk into the village in the evening. You are made to feel very welcome and "at home" instantly. The breakfasts are plentiful and as usual we had a very relaxing time. We have tried a couple of eating places in the village and would highly recommend The Mousetrap Inn. The service is good, staff very friendly and the food was brill.
You must visit - you wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    7
    1
    2
    2
See reviews for
11
92
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
england
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2009

We enjoyed our stay so much we didn't want to go home, the service was brilliant, Barbara explained all we needed to know about the room, available areas to guests, the best way into the village by foot and offered us torches to use to come back with for the evening.We enjoyed the quiet garden and watching the free range chickens.
Our room was very clean and tidy with a comfortable king size bed and spacious en-suite shower room offering all toiletries we could need. Duriing our stay it was cleaned to a very high standard,
Although we thought nearby traffic would keep us awake we were surprised that it didn't.We were pleased not to be in village centre as traffic is quite busy during the day.
Barbara and Bill run an excellent homely, comfortable bed and breakfast in a friendly professional manner and we shall be returning on a regular basis and telling our friends about it

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham Buckinghamshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2009

We booked at the last minute and we were so lucky hat Barbara and Bill were able to accommodate us. Barbara sounded friendly on the phone and we were not disappointed. She welcomed us with a cup of tea and then showed us to our spotlessly clean, beautifully decorated room. The ensuite had everything you could wish for with shampoo etc of the best quality. The breakfast was yummy with a variety of cereals, fruit, yoghurt followed by wide variety of cooked foods.For my daughter and I it was real luxury and we will definitely return and would recommend Larks Rise house.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2009

This B&B was everything you look for in somewhere to stay in the country. Great location, charming setting - clean, stylish, atmospheric rooms - wonderful breakfast, fresh eggs laid by the hens that wander the plot, all taken in a lovely conservatory overlooking the garden. Above all, Bill and Barbara are natural hosts, both warm and welcoming - two people who obviously enjoy opening their house to guests.
I would thoroughly recommend Larks Rise to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2009

After reading all the positive reviews I was very disappointed by Larkrise. Bill was pleasant but Barbara was not at all helpful and it was puzzling to be treated in the way we were especially on departure. The house is out of Bourton and it would have been useful to be informed that the road has no street lamps. I would not recommend this to other travellers.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe in Cheshire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2009

My husband and I had a very enjoyable 2 night stay at this bed and breakfast. Barbara, the hostess, is a lovely lady who goes out of her way to help her guests, and her home is beautiful. Very comfortable, spotlessly clean, good food, and we were made very welcome. We would certainly return here in the future and be happy to recommend Lark's Rise to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2009

We've just returned from a lovely weekend relaxing at Larks Rise and thought we'd hop straight online and submit our review. It is one of the best B&Bs we've stayed in and had all the characteristics one could ask for in a B&B - friendly hosts (Barbara & Bill), very clean, rooms were well stocked with tea/coffee/biscuits, toiletries etc.

The location wasn't right on Bourton-on-the-Water, but offered us the opportunity to enjoy the walk out into the town centre and even to Upper and Lower Slaughter. We stayed in a room facing the main road, but could barely hear the cars outside.

All in all a fantastic B&B and highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Larks Rise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Larks Rise

Address: Old Gloucester Road, Bourton-on-the-Water GL54 3BH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Bourton-on-the-Water
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Bourton-on-the-Water
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Larks Rise 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Larks Rise is the perfect B&B for visiting the beautiful village of Bourton on the Water, or for touring the Cotswolds. Enjoy first class accommodation and facilities, a beautiful house and garden and Bill and Barbara's friendly hospitality. Guest sitting room, garden patio with far reaching views, and just a 12 minutes walk into the centre of the village. Nearest pub serving food just 5 minutes walk. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Larks Rise, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.