We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday treat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Swan Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Swan Hotel to your Saves list
The Swan Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   on the B4425, Bibury GL7 5NW, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bibury
Gloucester
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Birthday treat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

My wife took me away for my 65th birthday to stay at this hotel. We got a good 2 for 1 offer and stayed in Room 1 'Owl' with a four poster bed and large Jacuzzi in the bathroom. Don't expect much of a view from this room as it's front windows look out onto the roof of the Brasserie. We couldn't otherwise fault the room, nor the service from reception
During our stay the normal bar was being refurbished and to get to the Brasserie (which has recently been refurbished) for dinner it was necessary to go outside across the courtyard - umbrellas were provided as it was raining. Service in the Brasserie was good, but the food was disappointing (perhaps it was the head chef's night off?). The worst thing was how cold the restaurant was, probably due to the newly tiled floor. We were not the only guests to have to return to our room to get an extra layer of clothing.
After dinner we went to the temporary bar which had been set up in a lounge with a roaring open fire. We decided to have dinner on the second night in the bar from the bar menu and had a much better meal in comfortable surroundings.
Breakfast was also served in the Brasserie and was very good on both mornings, but on the first morning our cooked breakfast was brought to the table before we had finished our cereals.
Overall a very good hotel, but the food was not up to the standard of other members of the same group where we've stayed (The Lamb at Burford and The Bear at Rodborough).

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front as the hotel is right up against a hillside at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    134
    53
    39
    20
See reviews for
77
289
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We visited here as we looking for somewhere for lunch before visiting Bibury trout farm and could not find any tearooms which is what we really wanted. We later found one when we wandered down to Arlington Row and wish we had gone there instead, as am sure it would have been better than this place.

We chose to sit outside here, as are not really “Puby” people. The courtyard garden was the only nice thing about this place really. We went inside to order our food (no table service). We were ignored for ages, as were most people. Two gentlemen were so annoyed they kicked up a fuss and then left. When we eventually got served they weren't overly friendly.

We then went outside to sit and wait. We waited for what seemed like ages just for our drinks and a further 35 minutes for cold food! When it came it was not great. We had ordered 2 sharing platters for the 4 of us. It was meant to be for 2 people, but was only enough for 2 small children really. For example there was not 2 of everything like egg or meat. We didn't complain as we did not want to wait another 35 minutes for them to put it right. They also forgot to bring out my husband's coffee. He was so fed up by now he said he would rather go without than have go back and stand at the bar for another 15 minutes just to be ignored!

I know restaurants say “you should of complained at the time” but we have learned over time that any eating establishment that keeps you waiting for ages to order, ignores you, doesn't welcome you, takes 35 minutes to bring a measly lunch and then forgets your coffee does not really care whether you complain or not and no doubt would have been “annoyed” if we had complained. They should put more effort in, in the first place.

We left hungry as did not want to wait for desserts. The bill was far too high. We don't object to paying good money for good quality food and service, but we have eaten much better in much cheaper places. We later realised on looking at our receipt that they had charged us for the coffee we never had either! Was really annoyed.

We went across the road to Bibury trout farm and bought some cakes and drinks for us all. I would not recommend this place and would never go back. No doubt they rely on tourists because of the trout farm and the famous Arlington row in the village.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We have just returned from an excellent two night break.All the staff we encountered were excellent-very professional but friendly and welcoming.We had a comfortable room of character, with an excellent bed.
Bathroom toiletries were by Molton Brown.
The food at both dinner and breakfast was of high quality, served in very pleasant surroundings.
A special bonus was the "Friday night fizz" -between 5 and 7 p.m. we were able to but a bottle of house champagne for just £19.75
Definitely a place we would like to return to.

Room Tip: a front room with a river view would be good
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

All met at the Hotel on Sunday for Mother's Day. Very disappointed with the food, which we had to wait along time and when it arrived was cold. The Hotel did appologise for the wait and did discount two meals. Unfortunately after we complained we were ignored even more from the staff. A real shame because we were not looking for a discount but to enjoy a meal out.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Witney
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

We stayed on Friday 22nd December having booked a special package ( the name escapes me!) We paid aprox £165 for 1 night which included the a superior room, 3 course meal for 2, half bottle of champagne and breakfast. Great value for money in a stunning venue. The service was great. A lovely lady on reception upgraded us free of charge to the Honeymoon suite as I mentioned that we got married at the hotel 02.07.2011 but were unable to return on our 1st anniversary as planned as I was 38 weeks pregnant with our 1st child, so this was somewhat of a late celebration ( and also my husbands birthday!) The food my husband had was fantastic as was mine although the menu choice for myself was limited as I only eat chicken, turkey and fish. The menu mainly of various game meats which my husband loved! I found this unsual but could be just me being fussy! Hope to return again and again, great place , great service and great food!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

A really lovely cosy and comfortable 4 star hotel. Stayed here with friends to celebrate my husband's birthday. Did pay for a room ugrade and the room was very nice and spacious with a good sized bathroom and a longer than average bath, which was great! A bottle of still and sparkling water provided in the room, a nice touch. Food was good, not a great choice but well presented. Reception staff very helpful and obliging, one of our friends wasn't very happy with their room and they were able to change rooms with minimum of fuss. The rooms do differ in size and whether they include a double or king size bed, Lovely place to stay for a special occasion.

Room Tip: rooms at the front overlook the hotel courtyard and river, so a lovely view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

Tranquil venue, with very little to do around, so if you're after some down time this is ideal. We stayed in whistling cottage which was beautifully decorated very narrow but sufficient for the two of us. We had an evening meal there the first night, my risotto was a little "crunchy" but no need to complain and my husband had the beef which the empty plate spoke volumes. breakfast was outstanding both mornings - more than enough smoked salmon. The staff were only too pleased to accommodate at reception, bar and restaurant. A wonderful weekend, would certainly return if you just want to get away from it all. Huge kisses to my husband for my valentine present.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swan Hotel

Address: on the B4425, Bibury GL7 5NW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Bibury
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bibury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Swan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
History surrounds you at The Swan Hotel, located in the picturesque village of Bibury, described as the 'prettiest village in England' by William Morris. The Hotel offers you a relaxing stay in comfortable surroundings, featuring cosy lounges, roaring log fires, antique furnishing and rich decor. Our dining room is home to great English cusine and a fine wine selection. In our Bar meals are served all day.The tranquil Swan Gardens offer residents the delights of the outdoors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swan Hotel Bibury
The Swan Hotel Bibury, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Swan Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.