We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect hotel for Christmas” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bibury Court

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Bibury Court to your Saves list
Bibury Court
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bibury Court, Bibury GL7 5NT, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bibury
Seattle, WA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“The perfect hotel for Christmas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

First and foremost I want to say that The Bibury Court Manor Hotel is exactly what you expect if you are searching for that quintessential British Manor full of history, charm, luxury and fine dining. We were fortunate enough to spend 5 days over the Christmas holiday at Bibury and it was perfect. We were an extended family, coming in from all corners of the globe and everyone agreed that the service was worth every penny. Bibury Court, especially for the Christmas package, isn't inexpensive. But it was a trip for the ages.

The staff at Bibury was professional, and went above and beyond to make our stay great. Most of the staff are new, as the hotel recently went through a management shake up. But all were 100% on top of everything. When one of our group was sick one night, Yvonne, the new general manager, quickly moved his suite mate to another room so as not to get sick too. This was done free of charge. Tatiana, the reservations manager, was excellent at keeping in touch with me, organizing rooms for our large group (we were over half of the guests at Christmas). The dining room was elegant. Chrystal and china galore. As a large group they gave us the conservatory. The dining room manager was there for our every need. The Servers were beyond great. Adrian and Marco, you deserve raises!

In the end it was perfect. I can't recommend The Bibury Court Manor Hotel enough. We will most definitely be back.

Room Tip: All rooms are great. Remember, this building is 400 years old, so it dips and curves a bit. This i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yvonne S, General Manager at Bibury Court, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
I can't tell you how delighted a good review makes us and on behalf of the staff, thank you so much for taking the time and trouble to write a review. Christmas and New Year is always a time when staff are working long hours and missing their families - that we have the pleasure of such nice guests more than makes up for the absence of family. Thank you once again and I hope we will be able to welcome you to Bibury Court in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    66
    33
    25
    23
See reviews for
65
165
7
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We had a conference for 7. Venue was excellent, food wonderful and the staff were polite, helpful and friendly. Excellent, would use again, and it would also be perfect for holiday visits. Beautiful building and wonderful surroundings.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yvonne S, General Manager at Bibury Court, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you very much for the time and trouble to write a review. It's the best pat on the back the team can receive and is much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with my partner the night of Saturday 5th Jan. We arrived and were instantly amazed by the gorgeous old mansion situated in expansive, manicured grounds with the River Coln flowing past the hotel.

When we went to check in the staff couldn't find our reservation which was slightly embarrassing, But after reassuring myself I had booked the right night I showed my email from late rooms confirming this to the receptionist. She apologised for the mix up and said it was their fault, even though I assume it was the fault of laterooms.com, and offered to upgrade us to a bigger room!

We looked at the menu for the Restuarant, but as it looked to be a black tie affair and we had no formal clothes we opted to go into bibury and eat at one of the village pubs. We came back after dinner to have a night cap and I can definitely recommend lounging in the large drawing room by the bar, the Sofa's are comfy and the roaring fire is cozy.

We were impressed with the room (room 26) it was quite large with a big bed, the only downside was that we were right next door to the boiler and every time someone had a shower (some had one at 3am!) a loud noise start which would wake us up. Finally after returning home, I'd realised being the forgetful soul that I that I'd left a charger in the room. I phoned up the hotel, they were very helpful and posted it back to me free of charge. You can't ask for more than that.

If you're looking for a Cotswolds getaway, look no further. You won't regret booking with Bibury Court!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yvonne S, General Manager at Bibury Court, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Anytime a guest takes the time to write a review is much appreciated by the team here at Bibury. Good or bad, the feedback is always helpful. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope that you will come back and visit us again. Please do not feel you have to wear black tie in our restaurant - we are not stuffy here. As long as dress is respectable, we won't turn a hair! The main thing for us is for guests to try and enjoy the fruits of our Chef's labours. As for the boilers well, I wish I could say a problem never to be experienced again but this building is a very old lady and some creaks just have to be put up with. We are delighted it did not deter from an otherwise enjoyable stay. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didcot
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We come here whenever we are are need of a short break, which in our case is quite often. In fact 2012 saw us at Bibury Court in Spring, Autumn and again in winter. We used the 'dine and stay' option for three nights in each case. What we are chiefly after is clean and comfortable accommodation, good food and good service, with somewhere warm, spacious and relaxing to read during the day. The food here has always been of highest quality. We enjoy all the meals, although, being old-fashioned, we sometimes wish the excellent chef were not quite so adventurous in the evening. Not being very mobile, we miss the glorious country views from the upstairs rooms; it's a pity there is no lift.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yvonne S, Manager at Bibury Court, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind and favourable review. We too regret that you are not able to enjoy the glorious views. The trouble with being a listed building is that we can't get permission for a lift. On your next visit we will have to see if there is a clever way to get you upstairs!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snodland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We booked this at the last minute and every aspect of our stay was great. The building and location is lovely. The staff were extremely helpful. We had the 7 course around the world banquet . It was innovative, full of surprises and well worth the cost. As a special night at a special place Bibury Court really ticked all the boxes.

The late brunch was made to order using finest ingredients, just what was needed after the excesses of the banquet.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yvonne S, Manager at Bibury Court, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed New Year with us and the staff always get the feelgood factor when they have delivered well. It makes all the hard work worthwhile!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Just wanted to say thank you to the hotel team which delivered excellent service today. It was a very busy lunch time service and the team helped with providing food promptly for my hungry daughter we had a very convivial time. The team went beyond the call of duty and let me use their main line phone for a (very long!) conference call after lunch. Much appreciated!

Lovely grounds for a walk - even if it was a bit wet with all the rain!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012 via mobile

Probably just unlucky, maybe the wedding reception refocused the staff attention, not sure. All I know is that the room we`'re staying in is fantastic. The restaurant was empty, maybe this was a clue to what was to come, but the food was up there with their worst meals I`'ve had. The first attempt at the main course resulted in cold food for both myself and my wife. We sent both plates back and asked politely for them to try again. Whilst the second attempt was a little better, there was not much in it with a Luke warm meal. I`'ll be eating elsewhere for our second night and it`s enough to put me off returning. What a shame as the rooms and location are fantastic.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yvonne S, General Manager at Bibury Court, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
It is always nice when customers take the time to write and let people know how they enjoyed their stay - or not as is sometimes the case. After all, it can be difficult to meet and surpass everyone's expectations, even when you try your best. I do recall the gentleman in question and he did indeed ask politely if we could reheat his meal. In fact during the several occasions it was returned to the kitchen it was probed, probe recalibrated and probed again. The core temperature was 70 degrees - in all cases. There were elements of the garnish that were to room temperature - I am not sure that this is what the gentleman was having a problem with. A lot of food is not served "microwave" hot as it ruins the taste and flavour of the dish and what the chef is highlighting. But cold the food is not as every good Chef with a probe knows.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bibury Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bibury Court

Address: Bibury Court, Bibury GL7 5NT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Bibury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bibury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bibury Court 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bibury Court is a beautiful Jacobean mansion, situated on the outskirts of the village. This Cotswolds' setting is glorious which many picturesque views across the riverside grounds and gardens. The house is a now a private home, no longer a hotel and restaurant and is available for hire exclusively for very special occasions, weddings, events, private house parties and business meetings. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bibury Court Hotel
Bibury Court England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bibury Court, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.