We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic English Countryside” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arlington Row

Arlington Row
Arlington Row, Bibury GL7 5NJ, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Bibury
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Fairfield, Australia
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
60 attraction reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Classic English Countryside”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Visiting this place just summed up the English countryside in my mind. Was beautiful, quaint, and very well maintained. I love it that people still live there in those tiny houses, and that they are happy to preserve the history of the place. We also got to sample "Brooke's Ice Cream" from the trout farm shop. As my name is Brooke I was very excited by this; and it was also delicious.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    55
    19
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A real representation of an English Village from the sixteen hundreds beautifully preserved and still inhabited.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

Arlington Row is a beautifully preserved row of cottages still lnhabited.I am not sure of the exact age but certainly built at least in the sixteen hundreds. A quintisentially English village well worth a visit . We met a resident who told us that only people born in the community had the right to own or occupy these gorgeous cottages.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“A beautiful and peaceful village”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

This is certainly a beautiful and peaceful village. Carpark available and you can spend a leisure one hr stop here -- just walk around and enjoy the peace and beauty of nature and the ancient village. You can visit the trout farm or the well stock gift shop.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Truly delightful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We happen to take our wonderful friends from America to Arlington Row. It was quite the quint essential England and we all thoroughly enjoyed our time there.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“One of the prettiest places you will ever visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

It is exactly what the title says it is. My one tip would be to get there early on the day you plan to visit to avoid any tourist laden coaches, as these get in the way of any photos you will no doubt be taking but also because there is nothing more annoying ( for me anyway) than hundreds of tourists getting in the way,taking pictures of anything that moves (or doesn't) or walking about in sandles and long white socks or saying in an extremely loud voice "Oh my god,it's soooo quaint"( Americans take note).
You should park on the road and as close to the wooden bridge that leads to Arlington Row as you can. Cross the bridge to view the cottages and after that walk along the footpath that follows the dried up stream.It's marked with a public footpath sign so you can't miss it and has a tiny footbridge that crosses the pre mentioned stream. This will bring you out opposite the Mill and the Trout Farm and coffee shop. Visit the Farm and shop and after that take a leisurely stroll along the road and over the main stone bridge which will enable you to watch the trout in the river and take any pictures of the Swan Hotel, which has to be one of the prettiest Hotels you will see. You can then walk back to your car whilst again watching the trout in the river and, if you're lucky, someone fly fishing too. If you're even luckier you will set off exactly as three or four coaches turn up and ruin the picture taking opportunities for eveyone and the peace.

Richard Boorman

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arlington Row also viewed

 
Chipping Campden, Cotswolds
 

Been to Arlington Row? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arlington Row, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.