We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food & service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Catherine Wheel - Bibury

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bibury
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Catherine Wheel - Bibury
Save
You added The Catherine Wheel - Bibury to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   Arlington Row, Bibury GL7 5ND , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Bibury B&B and Inns
Maidenhead
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Good food & service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

16 of us ate here after a Sunday monring's ramble. The service was good and all the food arrived together, hot and delicious. The roasts were generous with lots of veg. Other meals also delicious.
We did not stay so cannot comment on the rooms.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    50
    12
    5
    0
See reviews for
25
66
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Providence, Rhode Island
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We were literally the only guests staying here on a Monday night, off season, so while I didn't expect a spectacular experience, I was still greatly disappointed. The room was motel standard, definitely not what I expect for the price or the star rating of the hotel. The bed was two twin mattresses pushed together, both of which were absolutely spent with broken springs poking us and popping all night.

However the biggest bummer was the staff. Again, I know we were the only guests, but that is no excuse for sub-par service. The girl who checked us in and served our dinner later that day was new. She told us as much and we would have more than forgiven a little disorientation but she was just simply apathetic. We had to flag her down anytime we needed ANYTHING at dinner as she just stood at the bar the whole time reading. We were the only people dining and had our infant with us who was really fussy so after waiting over 30 minutes for our appetizer, I asked if we could get our some bread or anything she could eat. About 5 minutes later, our entrees came followed by the app.

Breakfast was far worse. We had a plane to catch and asked the night before if we could get breakfast a half hour early but were told no- only cold breakfast would be made available, ok, we'll survive even though we're paying an awful lot for a room with a hot breakfast. The girl on in the morning (also about 18 or 19) was simply downright rude. She rolled her eyes, literally snapped at us when we asked for toast, and it went downhill from there.
An older woman, perhaps the owner was very friendly and trying to make up for the server, but it just wasn't happening.

Stay elsewhere in Bibury or the surrounding area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

This review pertains only to the food served at the Catherine Wheel.

My wife and I ate here during our road trip around the Cotswolds, and loved the outdoor garden at the back of this pub. You should definitely have your meal outside if the weather permits. We ordered the Catherine burger, and the smoked trout salad which were both well cooked and presented (see photo). The food quality (and that of the coffee/drinks) was generally good. The service however may be a bit inconsistent depending on the crowd. We took awhile before we managed to order our food with the waiters most interested in serving the locals ordering drinks, and there was no proper system of deciding who was next in line.

Other than that, it was a good experience, hearty food, in a lovely setting.

Tip: Parking here is free and you can take a stroll around town, including Arlington Row, before heading off.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

As our third time in Bibury and the Catherine Wheel we brought my in laws along for a treat. Same excellent standard of rooms, dinner was well presented and breakfast didn't disappoint. My in laws are now total converts and will be adding the Catherine Wheel the their list of great places to stay!

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

The Catherine Wheel. It's set in a beautiful part of the English countryside, and this helps make it appear at first to be a very high-end country gastropub/luxury guest house, and while it is certainly charming it's not at the coal face of either. The food was nice, no dramas or issues and it was obviously locally sourced which I applaud but it didn't blow my socks off in terms of imagination. It was standard, adequately cooked and speedily dispatched. The room was nicely designed to show off the oak beams in the roof and was a good size with a tasty bed full of comforts. Clean towels, working free wi-fi and a decent TV set. Nice pressure in the shower and toiletries provided. I'm marking it average instead of very good purely because I can't see why the prices are so high. It's a decent B&B - albeit one in a lovely setting - but essentially that's all it is so I don't know why one night cost over £100. I didn't hate paying it because I had no real complaint, but at the same time I just couldn't shake the feeling that I hadnt the foggiest idea where that money was going. So overall it's average because it lacks value for money HOWEVER if you need somewhere to stay in that area then don't worry about the comfort of your stay in The Catherine Wheel, don't worry about the quality of your food or how well you will sleep, it's all perfectly adequate.

Room Tip: Room 1 is lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012 via mobile

My partner and I had dinner there on tuesday night, the food was outstanding, service was great with a good selection of wine. Very impressed, so much so that I had a chat with the chef, just to tell him how much we enjoyed the food. Well worth a visit.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Living in a neighbouring village i have been here many times over the years. I have never had a proper meal here, just the odd snack (although they are delicious cheesey chips!). It is lovely sitting in the garden having a drink, esepcially in this sunny weather, and a great atmosphere. Polite and friendly staff everytime i have been to visit. It is in a great location; Bibury is a stunning village and it is set just up the hill, making a lovely walk. Will definitely carry on visiting!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Catherine Wheel - Bibury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Catherine Wheel - Bibury

Address: Arlington Row, Bibury GL7 5ND , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Bibury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Bibury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Catherine Wheel - Bibury 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 15th century Cotswold pub is the perfect destination and is situated on the main road through the ‘most beautiful village in England’.A warm welcome, great food reasonably priced, an orchard garden, restaurant with contemporary touches, free WiFi and ample parking. Whether starting your day with a great breakfast, having a fresh coffee, celebration meal or quiet drink, every need can be catered for. In addition to the varied, extensive menu which features local Bibury trout of course, we have traditional Sunday lunches and delicious stone-baked home-made pizzas which are available to eat in or take away. We have a wide drinks’ selection from wine to Cask Marque-accredited real ales and many soft drinks too. Beamed bedrooms with en-suite shower rooms, refurbished completely in 2011, have been awarded 4* by the AA. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Catherine Wheel - Bibury Hotel Bibury
The Catherine Wheel - Bibury England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Catherine Wheel - Bibury, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.