We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Distinctly underwhelmed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of milsoms

milsoms
Stratford Road, Dedham, Colchester CO7 6HW, England
(01206) 322795
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 10 Restaurants in Dedham
Cuisines: Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating
Description: Please note that we do not reply to reviews posted here. Please contact us directly if you would like to discuss your meal. At milsoms, guests enjoy 'global' cuisine, with our chefs taking influences from all over the world, as well as daily specials that take full advantage of the local, seasonal produce available throughout the year.Guests can dine inside in the two-tiered restaurant or outside on the terrace. Covered with a gigantic 'sail' with super efficient heaters, the terrace is very much an extension to the dining area. With the added dimension of the stunning gardens, outside dining at milsoms is a reality for most of the year. And, of course, the younger members of the team aren't left out at milsoms - a specially designed kids menu is available all day as
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Distinctly underwhelmed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Perhaps we arrived with too high expectations, but we certainly left Milsoms feeling distinctly underwhelmed. Having been told which table to sit at, we found ourselves squashed into a stuffy dining area where we could barely hear ourselves think, yet alone hold a decent conversation. On my daughters suggestion we moved outside to a lovely terrace to enjoy the late September sunshine. And relax. Unfortunately it is virtually impossible to totally relax here as there is no table service for drinks, so someone needed to keep hopping up and down to order from the bar. The menu was basic, not much more than pub food, and not exactly inspiring. To top it all the majority of the staff seemed to put it mildly, disinterested. A beautiful property and grounds but does not live up to its reputation.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    116
    64
    28
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“happy birthday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

A birthday dinner with the family. We all had three courses of excellent food. There wasn't anything that we didn't like and the service was excellent. It was our first visit and will definitely go back.
We sat out in the garden as it was a warm evening. It wasn't cheap but I have spent more on food that wasn't as good.I have already recommended this place to friends and family.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Lovely dining experience, pretty surroundings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

I was invited here for lunch and liked it straight away from driving in.
The food is really tasty, fresh, perfect portion sizes and a selection. The service is also good.
Nice selection of drinks and wines. Good prices for the food quality.

Pretty outside area for drinks after your meal.
There was a wedding reception starting when we where finishing and it added to the prettiness of the gardens.

I look forward to my next visit. I will take my partner here next time.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Always good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Enjoyed a meal with my wife and 4 friends - always good food!

Only problem is that Milsoms at Dedham and Kesgrave do not take bookings. Arrived at around 7 pm on a Monday evening and fortunately there was one table which could seat 6!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
“Pleasant enough food but miserable staff!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

The food here is good, the ambiance relaxed and informal but goodness me the staff are so miserable & unfriendly. It isn't a one off either, I go to Milsoms regularly because its convenient given that we live in Stratford St Mary but wow, something's definitely amiss here and the staff are clearly not happy.

Please sort it out Milsoms because you have a great location and the food is good. It's the overall dining experience people remember and when you're faced with apathy and indifference from the staff it really spoils it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed milsoms also viewed

Dedham, Colchester
 

Been to milsoms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage milsoms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.