We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pure Heaven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maison Talbooth

Save Saved
You added Maison Talbooth to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Maison Talbooth
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Stratford Road, Dedham, Colchester CO7 6HN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Dedham
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Pure Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

11 of us stayed the weekend to celebrate a friend's surprise special birthday. This is a fantastic place to stay, it is not the first time some of us have stayed, but for those whose first time it was could not believe it. The rooms, the service and the food were amazing, nothing was too much trouble for the staff who all seemed happy in their jobs. They even opened the pool and had a log fire burning for all of us when we came back from having lunch at Milsom's. It is one birthday our friend Jen is never going to forget.

Thank you all for making the weekend so special for all of us, we will definitely be back.

Room Tip: We had rooms on the ground floor and they were all amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    130
    20
    3
    1
    3
See reviews for
16
104
1
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maldon, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

This is such a lovely place to stay. This is the second time we have stayed here this year & it was even better than the first. We were celebrating our 40th birthdays & Christmas with our friends at Le Talbooth & stayed the night. Staff can't do enough for you. The breakfast was so nice as was the room. It's a little pricey but worth every penny. The view from the front bedrooms is amazing. There's an added extra of an outside pool, bar & log fire which is very nice. We didn't have the afternoon tea but saw somebody else having it & it looked stunning.

Room Tip: I like a top floor room so there's nobody walking around above you but when I saw the second flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Wow,,the moment we arrived people were there met us at the door smiling and we genuinly felt like we had gone home to the family ,the lady who seemed to always be there was so lovely and happy and warm and welcoming ,we had the BEST massage ever,and we have had a few now but this top to toe hot stones massage was utterly perfect from every finger tip to each tippy toe was tended ,we were there celebrating our 2nd year together so a real treat for us including afternoon champers !! The room was the kipling -a beautiful room and just could have been hand picked for us ,it was perfect,comfy and relaxing yet sumptious and glam too ,,we ate at milsoms and to which i will be leaving an exceptionally poor review however we got picked up talbooth staff and bought home and they fixed us a mini afternoon tea at 11pm ,where else could you get that ?? Truly enjoyable and beautiful place to stay ,thankyoy to all

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

My partner and I met family for afternoon tea then stayed the night. The staff could have not been anymore helpful.

They took our bags to our room whilst we had tea and didn't hang around for a tip. Ordered us a paper for the morning placed quietly outside our door.

The restaurant wasn't open on the Sunday evening so they drove us down the road to their sister restaurant and brought us back free of charge, which was complete their suggestion.

The room was huge with complementary soft drinks and water. The bed was amazing with duck feather pillows and duvet. Although we didn't use the bath that looked lovely and huge too.

The next morning on check out they provided us with a piece if fruit and bottles of water as they knew we had a long drive home.

Our stat wasn't cheap by any stretch of the imagination but it was definitely worth every penny.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benfleet, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

I must admit that I had never heard of the hotel until my visit. It was booked as a surprise for my birthday by my husband. The hotel is set in the countryside of north essex not far from the A12. It's a large house which has been wonderfully converted into a luxurious and elegent hotel with the added extra of an outside pool which is heated to 85 in the winter and pool house as well as a spa with wonderful treatments. The hot stones massage is the best I have had and I have had them all over the world. The staff are attentive and friendly and nothing was too much trouble. I just wish I could have stayed longer but hopefully next time.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

Took my family of five there for a 2 night stay in August. We opted for the dinner, bed and breakfast option, which was very good value and lots of fun. The hotel has 12 rooms and they all seem to be individually designed. Bedroom furniture is of a very high standard. Nice unique pieces. Breakfast is served in the hotel, but dinners are taken in Maison Talbooth's other properties in Dedham; Milsoms and Le Talbooth. On our first night we had an excellent family dinner in Milsoms, a cool and relaxing bar-restaurant. On our second night the hotel provided a registered nanny to babysit our three kids whilst the Mrs and I went for a night of fine dining at Le Talbooth. What was really cool was that the hotel provided a complimentary Range Rover to drive you to and from the restaurants. This made me and the family feel very special. Service across the hotel and restaurants was very, very good. One thing which really must be mentioned is the outdoor heated pool and buildings. Beautifully designed with high-quality poolside furniture, an honour bar and a lovely open fire which is lit in the afternoons. All of this is under 2 hours drive from central London in an exquisite village on the Essex-Suffolk border. Don't muck about - book this place. You'll be delighted.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

Lovely pamper day, treatment was thoroughly relaxing. lunch was delicious and service throughout was exceptional. However both Milsoms and maison Talbooth look tired and very much in need of re decoration. Didn't spoil our day though

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maison Talbooth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison Talbooth

Address: Stratford Road, Dedham, Colchester CO7 6HN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Colchester > Dedham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Dedham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Maison Talbooth 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When Maison Talbooth opened 40 years ago, it did so with a huge amount of publicity andit certainly had the WOW factor. At that time, there were very few quality hotels in the country, hardly any en–suite bathrooms and certainly no televisions in the rooms. We have since added 3 fabulous new bedrooms, the Garden Room restaurant, a swimming pool (open all year and heated to a sizzling 30 deg) with outside hot tub, pool house and tennis court.During your stay with us, be sure to book in for a relaxing massage, facial, manicure, or range of other treatments, in our Day Spa. A highlight of your stay will be lunch or dinner at Le Talbooth restaurant, a minute away by courtesy car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Maison Talbooth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maison Talbooth Dedham
Maison Talbooth Hotel Dedham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maison Talbooth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.