We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and helpful staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Colchester

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Colchester to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Colchester
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Birchwood Road, Dedham, Colchester CO7 6HX, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Dedham
Ashford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good value and helpful staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

Stayed here for 2 days early december. Very helfpul receptionists Josh and Ani. Room modern and very clean. Downside not near town. Breakfast stocks were not replenished quick enough and scrambled egg didn't look quite right! No decaf coffee in breakfast area had to ask. Cooked breakfast also not hot enough. Rest of breakfast absolutely fine.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at back of hotel overlooking countryside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    116
    43
    26
    9
See reviews for
78
73
14
65
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Driffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

Stayed for one night and we were pleasantly surprised by this hotel especially for the price. Breakfast was busy, but perfectly acceptable, particularly as it was 'free'. The room was of a good standard and pretty clean, a little bit of dust here and there. We were on the first floor at the back and it was surprisingly quiet, bed was comfy and I slept well. The staff were very helpful and welcoming. A couple of negatives, the condition of the carpet in the upstairs corridor, some very dubious staining and a strong smell of disinfectant, fortunately the room was fine. I expect a new carpet would be a significant outlay, but it really does need doing, as it is quite off putting. And no whisky available on the bar at all, unless you count Jack Daniels, which we don't. Good place to stay for a night or two, but don't expect a five star experience and you will have to travel to get into town.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

Very nicely updated, clean and bright, and arguably the nicest hotel I have stayed at in 4 weeks bouncing around southern England. The location is not near anything but the A12, but the price was right, and I'm glad I stayed. The front desk staff was also very pleasant and professional.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

Booked advance non-refundable rate @ £39. Was allocated rear-facing room with countryside view. Room basic but modern and pleasant. Small but neat shower room. Decent quality TV offered reasonable choice of TV and radio channels. Nice welcome from Receptionist. Breakfast disappointing - no cheese, overcooked weirdly coloured scrambled egg, the most disgusting coffee imaginable and very dilute, powdery orange juice. But cereals, yogurt, croissants, pain au chocolat, bread rolls and baked beans all good. Kitchen 'chef' miserable as can be - all attempts at getting a smile, response to any request, or even eye contact proved fruitless. He was clearly unhappy and/or uninterested. When checking out I noticed a sign advising that the company running this hotel is in administration. Might that explain things?

Room Tip: Ask for rear facing room to avoid A12 traffic noise and ask for first floor if you want any sort of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Colchester, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear John A,

I appreciate you taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. I am glad that you had a good check-in experience and you found our rooms to be comfortable enough. However, I am disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your breakfast with us. I have taken note of your feedback and this shall be addressed accordingly with our team to consider for improvements needed.

We hope that you give us a chance to change your perception of our hotel.

Regards,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South West
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

They do the so-called "pre-mixed" eggs and instant coffee. There's a perfectly good kitchen since they must be washing dishes, keeping things in a fridge, zapping the egg premix. How hard can it be to crack some eggs?

They've also "just run out" of toothpaste and, presumably, everything else so don't count on them having a razor or toothbrush if you forget to pack something.

There seems to only be WiFi in the lobby.

This place is proof that you can take saving the pennies a bit too far.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Colchester, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Dear ontheroadagain222,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am pleased to note that you liked our rooms. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service and quality of its product. It is regrettable to hear that our breakfast option and bathroom amenities did not live up to your expectations. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience it may have caused you. We take all reviews very seriously and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

We value you as our guest and hope you will continue to choose IHG for your future travel needs.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballymena, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

Hairs in bed!!!
No soda water!!!
No vodka!!!
No cheese
Only for the 2 staff on duty I would have been outta there (young female & male)
Still waiting for points and hopefully I won't have to chase them for months like my last stay here!! Don't think I will be back...

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Colchester, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear Avril S,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the room conditions prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Just returned from a 3 night stay in Colchester. Generally very good for the money, friendly staff, good breakfast, clean & bright communal areas. The only problem was the lack of attention to detail in our room. The first night was fine but the next day there was only one hand & bath towel, the next day no tea had been left & a empty water bottle was on the floor at the side of the desk during our entire stay

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Colchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Colchester

Address: Birchwood Road, Dedham, Colchester CO7 6HX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Colchester > Dedham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Dedham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Colchester 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Colchester has 101 air-conditioned bedrooms all with wireless internet access, invigorating power shower and tea & coffee making facilities. Complimentary Hot Buffet Breakfast sets you up for a day exploring Colchester sights. Children under 18 stay free when sharing parents’ family room. This newly opened Colchester hotel is located just off A12 north off the Colchester Town Centre, with excellent links to Ipswich and Chelmsford. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Colchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Colchester Hotel Dedham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Colchester, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.