We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hospitable friendly hosts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Malvern House

Malvern House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Seaford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Malvern House
Save
You added Malvern House to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Alfriston Road, Seaford BN253QG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 9 Seaford B&B and Inns
Bad Neustadt an der Saale, Germany
1 review
“hospitable friendly hosts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed four nights in Seaford and really enjoyed it very much, above all because Jean and Eric are such friendly and welcoming hosts. The cooked breakfast is very good and we got a lot of helpful advice referring to pubs or sights and activities. Seaford is a quiet resort but you really can do a lot in the area. A lovely place and good value for your money!

Room Tip: The silver room is very nice with a spacious bathroom and a separate toilet.
See more room tips
Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MalvernHouse, Owner at Malvern House, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Monika

Thank you so much for your lovely review - we enjoyed your company - trust
you had a good journey home, with our thanks again, Jean and Eric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    3
    0
    1
    2
See reviews for
3
13
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newtownards, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

I spent three nights at Malvern House and have to say what an enjoyable stay. Jean and Eric were so welcoming and as a solo traveller visiting relatives I was quite nervous. I had a great room very clean and my bed was most comfortable. I only eat a light breakfast but I must say the cooked breakfasts looked delicious. I was able to walk into Seaford which took me 20mins . I will be going back in November and look forward to staying again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MalvernHouse, Owner at Malvern House, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you so much for your review - we appreciate you taking the time to comment. See you soon ! kindest regards, Jean and Eric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

My husband and I spent a lovely weekend at this bed and breakfast. Jean and Eric are very kind and welcoming hosts and Cracke is amazing! The house has all you need for a comfortable stay and both Jean and Eric are very helpful and hospitable. Delicious breakfast, comfortable beds and calm surroundings - all you need for a restful weekend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MalvernHouse, Owner at Malvern House, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you so much for your review - and apologies for taking so long to send our thanks. It has been a very very busy season ! We appreciate you taking the time to comment on TripAdvisor for us. with kindest regards, Jean and Eric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Another excellent stay at Malvern House. All the usual stuff. Warm welcome. Spacious and spotlessly clean roon. Lovely breakfast. But what I didn't expect when I arrived with a flat tyre was for Eric to change the wheel for me using my temporary emergency tyre. Then the next morning whilst I was eating breakfast Eric sourced and fitted a permanent replacement. Where else could one hope for that kind of service..

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MalvernHouse, Owner at Malvern House, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for the lovely review - and apologies for taking so long to respond. It has been a very very busy season ! Hope to see you again before too long - kindest regards, Jean and Eric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We would thoroughly recommend The Malvern to anyone looking for a comfortable, clean, homely and welcoming B&B in the Seaford area. Jean & Eric are so warm and friendly, the Silver room had everything you could wish for, including a separate loo and spacious luxurious bathroom. Lots of tea and coffee making facilities, the comfiest of beds and a hearty full English breakfast. Secure, free parking. The Malvern is truly home from home....and Crackles the Collie is an absolute sweetheart. If you are in the area, you won't find a better B&B. Thank you both for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MalvernHouse, Owner at Malvern House, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Graham - many thanks for your lovely review - and for mentioning Crackle ! We are delighted you enjoyed your stay - the weather wasn't too awful, but it's getting worse ! If you are this way again, we would love to see you again. Thank you for taking the time and trouble to send your view - we do appreciate your contribution. kindest regards, Jean and Eric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orleans, France
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Once again I have been staying at Malvern House.If I keep coming back it's because it's an excellent B and B.Jean and Eric always make their guests feel welcome and I particularly like the familly atmosphere of the place.The full English breakfast is excellent and hearty.The bedrooms are spacious,spotless and well equipped -comfortable beds,large flat screen TV set,wifi,tea and coffee making facilities and a few delicious biscuits...-The house is only a few miles from the Newhaven ferry terminal and there is a large enclosed car park.Thank you very much Jean and Eric.I wish I could come more often.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MalvernHouse, Owner at Malvern House, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Many thanks for the lovely review - we appreciate your time and comments. We have enjoyed the company of returning guests and look forward to their visits. With our thanks, Jean and Eric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

I wanted somewhere to stay the night in Seaford at short notice and found the Malvern House B & B at the recommendation of another, already fully booked, Guest House. I telephoned and went straight round to find myself welcomed like one of the family. Nothing was too much trouble and the room was ideal - spacious, light and airy and with separate WC and bathrooms. Everything was clean and tidy and the following morning's breakfast was just what I would have had at home. I highly recommend Malvern House and hope to return myself one day. I travel a lot in Europe and regularly pay around £100 or more a night for three or four star Hotels. For the £35 I paid for my night in Seaford as a single guest, I had everything I needed for a comfortable night's stay and extremely good value as well.

Room Tip: The Silver Room has a double and a single bed. No experience of the other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MalvernHouse, Owner at Malvern House, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Thank you very much for your lovely review - we appreciate your time and your comments - do come and see us again if you are this way - with our best wishes, Jean and Eric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Malvern House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malvern House

Address: Alfriston Road, Seaford BN253QG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Seaford
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Seaford
Hotel Class:3 star — Malvern House 3*
Number of rooms: 3

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Malvern House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.