We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“B&B to Self Service - May 2013” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holmes Lodge

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Seaford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Holmes Lodge
72 Claremont Rd, Seaford BN25 3JB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 9 Seaford B&B and Inns
Isleworth, London UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“B&B to Self Service - May 2013”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We arrived on Wednesday 19th and was welcomed in by the owner. The B&B was clean and tidy but clearly having work on while early in the season so we were ok with this.
The room are named but that is about all to do with Sherlock Holmes. Bed and room was comfortable and ok.
Sadly we were left on alone Thursday evening as owner had weekend away in Cornwall which left no one on site to make beds, wash up, answer door etc so making the B&B self catering (cereal,fruit, milk etc was left).
The emergency contact was by phone which they didn't answer and a neighbour across the road who had trouble contacting the owner.
Friday there was guests booked in trying to find there room and where the keys had been left. They ended up staying next door at the White Lion Hotel
More people ask us outside on Friday and Saturday if rooms were available as Eastbourne was getting full because of the tennis. So with the tennis on you would think some would stay...?
Now we know what is on offer here at the Holmes Lodge B&B we feel the price was £15 to high per night.
Location is good but let down by the service we had those 4 days

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    0
    2
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bedfordshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

We stayed in the family room ( king size plus 2 singles) for 3 nights, at £85/night, which we thought was good value for a family of 4. The room was nice and clean, with a kettle, a sink and a terrestial TV- a traditional B&B room really. The shower and toilet were shared but directly opposite the room, and the kitchenette was just across the hallway. This was an area with a microwave, toaster etc in which you could make your own meals, with cereals, drinks etc provided. I can imagine if the guest house was full it might be tricky but we didn't have any problems using these facilities! Overall, I liked having this area, as it meant you didn't have to go out for all your meals. The owner was friendly and helpful, but mostly left us to it, which was fine! The guest house is very well-located; a ten minute walk to the station and shops, five minutes to the sea, a newsagents, chinese takeaway and off-licence across the road and the bus stop right outside the door! Seaford is a lovely little town, and a great base for exploring, and this guest house is a good choice for couples or families wanting a place to lay their head at night. It's not a luxury hotel, but we found it a good value place to stay and would definitely consider returning!

Room Tip: Downstairs rooms probably best, as they are best positioned for use of facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011 via mobile

Lovely position for sea. Did tell me no cooked breakfast but dining room table thick dust. Milk, fruit juice etc all been used by other guests and long way from room. Bedroom cramped. Bathroom had to go through owners part to reach. Moved to hotel in Eastbourne much cheaper, cleaner and had service and cooked breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn NY
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2009

We found Seaford, a small town neatly located between Brighton and Eastbourne, a good budget choice for staying while visiting its bigger neighbors. Sherlock Holmes is the inspiration for the names of the rooms and decoration of this clean and cheerful medium-sized B&B, with a very friendly host and a fine breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holmes Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holmes Lodge

Address: 72 Claremont Rd, Seaford BN25 3JB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Seaford
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Seaford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holmes Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Holmes Lodge to your Saves list