We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I was tempted to stay longer...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oaklands

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rye
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Oaklands
Save
You added Oaklands to your Saves list
Oaklands Udimore Road, Rye TN31 6AB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 36 Rye B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“I was tempted to stay longer...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

My wife and I spent a weekend here to attending a nearby wedding. Tony and Diane are very welcoming (tea and cake on arrival!) and also very flexible to enable us to return at midday to change for the wedding as well as a late return from the evening reception. Our room, with a compact but well-designed en-suite shower, was clean, comfortable and spacious and the two breakfasts we had were excellent (Tony makes ace porridge). Our room was at the front and there was some road noise but the double-glazing kept it down - and we did not need to have the window open, fortunately. This is a minor quibble, compared to the warmth of the welcome and the care which Tony and Diane take of their guests. The location is very convenient for the old town of Rye and there are views across fields to Winchelsea from the front of the house and a glimpse of the sea!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    2
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
15
73
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for a week and found the room very well equipped and comfortable.As for the food it was different each day and excellent.Also both Tony and Diane were very friendly. We are already planning our next stay

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

We stayed at Oaklands on the recommendation of friends (who also stayed there the same weekend). They had said how much they has liked it on a previous visit and we were not disappointed with our experience.
We were welcomed with coffee or tea and a slice of cake (is there any better welcome?) and shown to our room (Tillingham) which was a very comfortable double with a large shower en suite. Our room looked out of the back of the house, over the large garden and rolling countryside and was a site for sore eyes (the weather was cracking, which helped!). Our friends were on the other side of the house, looking towards the sea.
Our room was spotlessly clean, the bed was very comfortable and the hosts were very friendly.
Breakfast was served in their dining room and on both the mornings we were there, was of an amazingly high quality; lunch wasn't strictly required after that!
That the surrounding area is beautiful almost goes without saying, but we had a great time visiting Dungeoness, riding the Romney, Hythe and Dimchurch railway and spending a very pleasant afternoon on Hythe beach as well as visiting Camber Sands and Rye.
Highly recommended!

Room Tip: With only four rooms, you can't really go wrong. There is an annex for self catering, but this i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We spent 2 very relaxing nights at Oaklands at the end of July. Our room (the Rye Room) was beautifully decorated, spotlessly clean and extremely comfortable. The friendly hosts, Tony and Diane gave us a very warm welcome and had really thought of everything to ensure we had a comfortable stay.

The house is stunning with lovely grounds and ideally situated for exploring Rye and the surrounding area. Our delicious homemade breakfasts, including homemade bread and jams, set us up well for the day. We really could not fault our stay and have recommeded Oaklands to many family members and friends. A truly 5 star B and B experience! Thank you Tony and Diane.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Summary
Oaklands is a great place to stay: clean and comfortable accommodation, lovely location overlooking countryside, with knowledgeable and friendly hosts who serve up a cracking breakfast.

Location
Situated on its own good-sized plot with surrounding gardens, overlooking countryside to the rear, sides and front (the front also offers views over the sea). It is a short drive the town of Rye, which offers lots of nice little shops / places to eat.

Hosts
Tony and Diane were very welcoming and it was a pleasure to have stayed in their accommodation. Nothing was ever too much and it is clear that Tony and Diane place a lot of emphasis on their service. Some great ‘stories’, ‘knowledge’ and ‘tips’ on offer!

Accommodation
We stayed in the Tillingham room (8th July 2012 for 5 nights). The room was clean, a good size, warm, well ventilated with good views. Overall it was very comfortable with little room for improvement. The house itself contains 3 B&B rooms; is well maintained, clean and a great place to stay.

Breakfast
First Class. Fruits; pastries; cereals; porridge; home-made jams; toast; full-English (sausage, egg, bacon, tomato). All of excellent quality.

This B&B and the hosts deserve nothing short of 5 out of 5.

Room Tip: The Tillingham room is very nice, clean and overlooks the rear garden and countryside. This is the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

From the moment of arrival Tony and Diane were super hosts. Bedroom was beautiful with outstanding views. Breakfast was scrumptious...fresh fruit, yoghurt, full cooked breakfast, homemade bread and conserves had nothing else to eat till middle of the afternoon!!!
Would I recommend this b and b? Without doubt.
Would I stay again? Most certainly.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Very warm welcome from the owners Diane & Tony. Superb breakfast. Stunning house with spectacular views. Would highly recommend this B & B for a short stay (or long). Very helpful and lovely people. Ideally situated for the coast and lots to do in the surrounding areas. Definitely 5 star accommodation. Hope to go back one day.

Room Tip: Tillingham stunning room over the back garden and fields. Winchelsea lovely looking out over the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oaklands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaklands

Address: Oaklands Udimore Road, Rye TN31 6AB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Rye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Rye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning B&B in Edwardian country home offering a warm welcome and five star luxury. Blessed with stunning uninterrupted views over the sea and surrounding countryside, yet only just over a mile from Rye.Delicious 'Sussex Breakfasts' with homemade bread and preserves. Fairtrade tea and coffee.Good for walking, cycling and birdwatching. Unwind in the garden, maybe play croquet. Celebrate special occasion with us. A Great Break! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oaklands, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.