We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and cosy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ship Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Ship Inn to your Saves list
The Ship Inn
Strand Quay, Rye TN31 7DB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 32 Rye B&B and Inns
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Comfortable and cosy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here one night in the middle of Oct with our family on a visit to Rye. It was cosy, warm and inviting. The food was great, especially breakfast. The home-made muesli was very good. Rooms were comfortable and the bathroom was fine. I loved the decor of the place, fun and quirky. It is well worth a visit. They are also dog friendly and were very accommodating toward my family's four month old puppy.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    47
    11
    11
    7
See reviews for
23
112
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sharnford, null, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Called in with four friends looking for an evening meal, everywhere was very busy the owner/manager advised table would be half an hour we waited for table but didn't get a drink at the bar as staff seemed too busy. Once sat at table ordered drinks and meals. Long wait for meal and when two arrived they were only lukewarm, a short wait later the three other meals arrived, the two that were cold we sent back. These meals must able been redone from scratch good but by the time they arrived again the other three diners had finished. The food was nice and apologies were made but it was poor that we weren't eating at the same time. A little disappointed with this service. Nice pub and buzzing

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

I haven't stayed at the Ship, but we've have eaten numerous times over the last 5 years. Meals are always inventive, well cooked and the service matches the presentation. Wine is very well priced, with the superb Cuvaison £20 cheaper than a London restaurant.
Great for a leisurely pint on a Sunday evening too!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

What a delight to find a hotel with such individualism and homely touches (rubber duck and bright green digital radio) . My room, although compact, was light and airy and the anthesis of the usual hotel blandness I end up in, week in week out.
There was not one thing I would change or request and I really hope I am back in the area soon.
Staff were smiley and efficient and nothing was a bother.
The bar was nice and comfortable and the breakfast choices were a pleasant change with a table full of free newspapers and a cracking mug, yes mug, of tea.
Groovy place, start a chain, only joking...

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights,breakfast was fantastic,really good quality food,staff could not do more for you,on our last day after we had already checked out they supplied us with towels to dry off,after we had got caught in the rain.we would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

Comfy rooms, not pretentious, above the pub but not stuffy or noisy. Great pea soup and fish pie in the bar on Friday night, huge breakfasts with particularly tasty granola. Friendly staff. Took the whippet who was made welcome everywhere in the building. He was even given his own cooked sausage for breakfast.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantwich
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Would recommend this pub to everyone!
Stayed on our way from Dover to Cheshire.
The evening meal was simply fabulous.
Fabulous beers and a home-made coffee liquer made from coffee beans
steeped for many hours by the owner.
The breakfast was truly wonderful:
Home made granola, stewed fruit, freshly made muffins.
Great choice of breakfasts.
Full marks and we'll be back!

Room Tip: Rooms 8 and 9 were spacious and quirkily decorated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ship Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ship Inn

Address: Strand Quay, Rye TN31 7DB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Rye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Rye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ship is in central Rye, at the bottom of Mermaid Street. Built in 1592, it was originally a warehouse to store contraband seized from smugglers. It is now a characterful pub, with beams, wooden floors & log fires. Open from eleven every day for freshly prepared food, local fish, Bloody Marys, real ales & organic cider. 10 comfy modern rooms - all with en-suite bath or shower. Children, dogs & would-be pirates are all welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Ship Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ship Hotel Rye

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ship Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.