We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice stay despite a few drawbacks” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Ship Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Ship Inn to your Saves list
The Ship Inn
Strand Quay, Rye TN31 7DB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 32 Rye B&B and Inns
London
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“A nice stay despite a few drawbacks”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

A lovely location, friendly atmosphere and service. Great previous reviews seem to be a bit overblown although food was good but eggs over easy for breakfast were a call too far for the chef as they arrived solid.

The bar area is a good as you would expect from a lovely pub, good selection of Beers and wines.

My only complaint would be about the room we had, although we booked quite late, small and a very small double bed- more like a Queen size.
The room and bathroom were very well equipped and decorated. We did see the economy doubles and they were even smaller.

The biggest problem was the extractor fan from the kitchen right below our window so we were forced to keep the window closed and even then a smell of chips and the noise were ever present until 11pm and again at 7:30am.

At these prices we expected what was previously said about this hotel but as far as the room and noise was concerned we felt let down.

I would be very very wary about staying again with out cast iron guarantees about the room and its location. Shame really as everything else was good.

Why in this day and age do we have to put up with noisy extractors from kitchens designed to cause the maximum nuisance to guests in hotels across the country.

Room Tip: Stay away from any room near the extractor from the kithcen
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    47
    11
    11
    7
See reviews for
23
112
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Online I was able to book for one night starting on a Friday, but when I called reception to discuss the room options I was informed that weekends are a two-night stay only. I pointed out that the online booking system on THEIR website allowed a one-night stay. After getting off the phone, I checked again online and found this still to be the case. I then selected a Saturday night arrival to see what happened and that did indeed flag up a message saying that a min. two-night was required, which is why I had planned to stay on the Friday. Disappointing, as I had negotiated the Friday off work and childcare for my young children in order to book this evening, only to find I'm back to the drawing board. I wonder how long it will take them to amend their online system. Being a journalist in the leisure industry, I'm pretty non-plussed by this discrepancy.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at The Ship Inn with our 10 month old daughter. The team at The Ship couldn't have been nicer. We felt totally at home from the moment we arrived. We were welcomed into the lounge area at early hours of the morning when one if us had to get up with the baby, offered coffee, and had Elvis films put on!

Room 8 had a bathroom just big enough to fit a travel cot which was really helpful. We had no issues using the baby monitor in the bar/restaurant area which was brilliant.

The evening food was delicious, and breakfasts amazing. Thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

My partner and I headed down to Rye from London for a quick getaway for the weekend. We stayed at the Ship Inn and had a great experience. The staff was excellent, the food was impeccable for an Inn and the rooms were lovely cottage style. The old inn has all the nuances which you would expect in a medieval town. Woods floors, large fire place, low hanging beams in the dinning room etc etc. Very relaxing and in a great location. Breakfast AMAZING.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Super breakfasts e.g. homemade granola, amazing fresh orange juice. Nicely styled rooms. Good water pressure for showers. Very friendly staff. One thing that could be improved - better black out blinds.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

My Husband, myself and our two year old daughter stayed at the Ship Inn on 5th & 6th of September along with my Father who also booked a room here. We all stayed here as were we attending my Brothers Wedding in Rye. We had a lovely comfortable stay at The Ship. We had room 8 and my Father had room 10. Our room was very spacious and clean. The Decor in The Ship is very Quirky, we loved it. However the fist night was a little noisy from outside, but the second night was much better. The staff were friendly and the breakfasts were lovely. We would highly recommend the Ship. Also it is not too expensive compared to the other hotels in Rye. We would love to go back again sometime soon.

Room Tip: Room 8 was a good sized family room however it was a little noisy at times.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

4 rooms for a party of 7 plus baby plus dog for 2 nights. An old pub but v well presented (shabby chic so I'm told by my adult children). Very helpful (young) staff, good food (evenings and inc huge, huge, wide variety breakfasts), clean rooms with a "seasidy" feel, and all in all very relaxing. Will book again should we want to stay in Rye. The only downside is the lack of free parking, but with cheap all day parking at the station, about 10 mins walk away, and other parking nearby, it is not a problem. Also liked the Burt's Bees bathroom products - I'm a sucker for good quality "smellies".

Room Tip: The 8 of us had rooms 5 (small), 8, large with bath, 9, large with bath and 10 (small). Room 9 is t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ship Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ship Inn

Address: Strand Quay, Rye TN31 7DB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Rye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Rye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ship is in central Rye, at the bottom of Mermaid Street. Built in 1592, it was originally a warehouse to store contraband seized from smugglers. It is now a characterful pub, with beams, wooden floors & log fires. Open from eleven every day for freshly prepared food, local fish, Bloody Marys, real ales & organic cider. 10 comfy modern rooms - all with en-suite bath or shower. Children, dogs & would-be pirates are all welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your The Ship Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ship Hotel Rye

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ship Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.