We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rye Windmill B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rye
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rye Windmill B&B
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Rye Windmill, off Ferry Road, Rye TN31 7DW , England (Formerly The Windmill Guest House)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 33 Rye B&B and Inns
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

My Husband and I have just returned from a one night stay here and it was beautiful.
The room (#3 which is not in the actual windmill) was clean, warm and nicely decorated and the bathroom was wonderful!
Tea and coffee making facilities including hot chocolate and herbal teas. Complimentary biscuits and chocolate :-)
There's also a travel size hair dryer so no need to pack your own.
The lady looking after the B&B whilst the owner's were away was very helpful and we felt totally comfortable.
Breakfast was plentiful and you can choose what time you want it.
We had a lovely Full English but you can have continental, cereal, scrambled eggs etc all with plenty of coffee, tea and a variety of juices.
You are given a fob so you can come and go as you please so we were back and forth to Rye Town Center all day as its only a few minutes walk.
The Antique Shops, Old Pubs, stunning Church and quirky house names kept us happy as pigs in mud :-)
I would definitely stay in Rye Windmill again but next time I want to stay in the actual mill itself :-)

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    143
    52
    11
    3
    2
See reviews for
9
158
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
kent
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

We have just spent 1 night at the Windmill, bed and breakfast in the four poster room. Which is one of two rooms that are in the actual windmill (all the others are in a more recent annexe).
The room is quite beautifully presented, spotlessly clean with a large bathroom with super hot, powerful shower and (joy of joys) large super fluffy white bath sheets.
Standard hospitality tray with the addition of a bar of chocolate and biscuits.
The view is onto the local railway line and the river beyond. The trains were in no way a disturbance due to there infrequency.
The honesty bar is a welcome touch, and I think we would have used it, if the log fire in the .'lounge area' had been lit, thus inviting us to linger and interact with other guests.
At the time of our visit the owners were not working, however the lady who checked us in and provided breakfast, did so with a smile and great charm.
You are asked on check in what time you would like breakfast (the last slot being 9.20am) which didnt phase us in the least, although we did hear grumbles from another guest.
Breakfast is standard-full english or variation there of. Continental or vegetarian is provided with prior warning. We opted for poach eggs - which were perfect.
We had a thoroughly lovely stay and will amost certainly return.
Just a couple of quibbles: the feather pillows on the bed were past there best and offered no support and the sound proofing is pretty poor, however I suspect this is probabaly due to the age and style of the building.
In summary a prefect little hideaway-a great little escape!

Room Tip: definitley take one of the two windmill rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

Recently had the pleasure of a 2 night stay at Rye Windmill B&B and would most highly recommend it. From the moment we arrived we were made extremely welcome by Gill, the owner, who gave us details of local area and suggestions of places to eat and visit. Our bedroom and en suite spotlessly clean, tastefully decorated and really comfortable. Little touches in room, e.g. toiletries, bottled water and even a bar of chocolate each morning left with tea making facilities added to make our stay more enjoyable. Massive full English breakfast really set us up for a busy day's shopping in the local antique shops. Located just a few minutes walk from the town and train station. Although close to the train line we weren't bothered by noise. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Last minute night away, super welcome, well appointed room, comfy bed.
Breakfast was very good and set us up for a day in Rye,
Would recommend.
Can walk into town from there.
Can recommend the Fish Cafe on Tower Street for an amazing meal.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

This is a very nice place to stay. The rooms are well appointed and the breakfast is superb. The bed was very comfortable and the hosts very welcoming. We could see the river from our window and the train spotter still dwelling in me was satisfied by the railway crossed by a footpath nearby. In spite of this the trains never bothered us during the night. Lots of parking space and free Wifi. We spent two days here exploring the town and walking to Winchelsea and back (10 miles).

Room Tip: Book early as the Windmill is very popular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

This is the 4th time We've stayed at the Rye windmill and it's a great B&B to stay in. Very close to Rye town centre and has lots of parking. The breakfast is excellent , served in a lovely dining room that was the base of the old windmill. We'll defiantly stay again.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 4 . Has a great 'wet' room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Have just had a three night break at the Windmill. This was our first visit to Rye. We had room 7. We had a spacious bathroom with walk in shower. The bedroom was well appointed and the hospitality tray was restocked daily with drinks and treats. Would have like a little more storage space. Breakfast was excellent, I had the full English and my wife had the continental. On arrival the owner was extremely informative of where to visit in the town and several options for evening meals. We visited Webbe's and went twice to Ambrette, both of which were excellent . Being less than 5 mins walk to the town and with its own parking , this B and B is ideally situated for those wishing to visit Rye

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rye Windmill B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rye Windmill B&B

Address: Rye Windmill, off Ferry Road, Rye TN31 7DW , England (Formerly The Windmill Guest House)
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Rye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Rye
Hotel Class:4 star — Rye Windmill B&B 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rye Windmill Bed and Breakfast offers guests four star licensed accommodation with guaranteed and free car parking, a huge asset in Rye. Situated on the River Tillingham, Rye Windmill is ideally located, with the town and Strand Quay a couple of minutes walk. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rye Windmill Bed And Breakfast
Rye Windmill Hotel Rye

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rye Windmill B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Rye Windmill B&B to your Saves list