We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great insight into Rye's history” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rye Heritage Centre

Rye Heritage Centre
The Old Sail Loft, Strand Quay, Rye TN31 7AY, England
0044 (0) 1797 22 66 96
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 8 Attractions in Rye
Type: Tourist/ Visitor Centers, Specialty Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A perfect way to discover Rye.The Rye Heritage Centre and Information Centre provides an ideal introduction to the town bringing together the story of Rye set within the famous Rye Town Model sound and light show. Historic and Ghost Audio Walking Tours are available for hire, with guided ghost tours available on selected dates during the winter months.The Heritage Centre is host to a fantastic working collection of Old Pier amusement machines, and has a variety of gifts, books and maps.
East Sussex
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great insight into Rye's history”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We were recommended to visit the Heritage Centre to experience 'The Model Town Show'....and what a surprise, expecting very little we were very impressed with the model and the audio/light show.
Both interesting and informative even to those not especially into history - must go again soon.
The collection of old penny slot machines was very nostalgic too, certainly worth a visit.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    28
    7
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Interesting diorama”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

There is only the model town with a 15 minute sound and light history of the town, but it works well and is interesting. (otherwise there is only the gift shop.)

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire, England
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Sound show interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

I found the sound show very interesting although I would have liked more information about the port becoming silted up and how the landscape changed over time. My children liked the penny slot machines upstairs!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“sound and light show very good indeed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

if visiting Rye, this is the place to go to start with and if you have time take the audio tour around the town - self guided and comes past all the interesting buildings and churches etc

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Informative heritage centre with very helpful staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

During our recent trip to Rye we visited the Rye Heritage Centre several times and on one occasion watched the "Sound and Light" show of Rye's history and heritage, this only lasted 17 minutes but was extremely interesting and informative and featured a large model of Rye as it was in Victorian times. Upstairs there was also an exhibition of old-fashioned end-of-pier moving picture machines and were given a couple of old pennies so we could try 2 of them out. The staff were very helpful and informative about Rye and its attractions.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rye Heritage Centre also viewed

 

Been to Rye Heritage Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rye Heritage Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.