We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wish it was even closer” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Plough

The Plough
Udimore Road, Cock Marling | Udimore, Rye TN31 6AL, England
+44 1797 223381
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 77 Restaurants in Rye
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $6 - $76
Cuisines: Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The Plough will be closed for re-decoration and refurbishment for January, we will be re opening at the beginning of February. While we are closed why don't you try our sister establishment, The Union Steakhouse which is at No 8 East Street in Rye!
Sussex
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“wish it was even closer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We visited the Plough for the first time even though we only live a few miles away. What a find! They are so welcoming. There were three of us and we had dinner there - it was delicious. The homemade soda bread was beautifully crunchy on the outside and soft in the middle. The trio of scallops was super - as were the other meals we had. Some of the ideas behind the food were really good - such as scooping your own stilton rather than a cheeseboard. It all added up to a really relaxing evening. We will definitely return

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    197
    32
    12
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic pub, outstanding food and wonderful staff.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

After reading some great reviews on trip advisor we decided to pay The Plough a visit for Sunday lunch. I was taken aback by how fabulous it was. I love going for Sunday Lunch but am normally disappointed but not today. Wonderful home cooked food, fantastic staff and service and a gorgeous traditional pub with log fire. We will definitely being going back to sample more from their menu. I strongly recommend you pay this pub a visit. Cordelia and Dan.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northiam
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“WELCOME TO RYE BAY SCALLOP WEEK AT THE PLOUGH”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

On day 1 of Rye Bay Scallop week we went to the Plough and had Scallops cooked 3 ways.
1 ceviche - thinly sliced, served on a chicory leaf, marinaded in lime,lemon and chilli - 1 devilled - 1 seared in vanilla sea salt on a bed of pureed sweet potato. WOW where do we go to compare this inovative dish. Thank you Toby, Gareth and Harry for fab lunch x

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Brilliant bunny burger served by very friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Found the staff very accomadating and friendly. Tasty local food and very good value for money. I strongly advise people pay the plough a visit.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“The plough - can't wait to go back already”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

I visited Rye for the weekend with friends and we walked from Rye to this pub for a Sunday roast, after reading reviews on TripAdvisor, and we were very happy with it. In the snow it took us 1 1/2 hours to walk, but when we arrived there were 2 open fires and very friendly staff behind the bar to warm us up and give us a good feed.
A choice of lamb or beef for lunch, we all took the lamb and it came with ALL the trimmings - huge yorkshire pud, broccoli, leeks in cheese sauce, roasted root vegetables and all the gravy we could ask for.
Lovely house wine, both red and white, and an exceptional sticky toffee pudding with vanilla ice cream to finish.
The young bar staff (a young man and lady) could not have been more helpful and kind, and as the snow was so bad, the man drove us back to Rye!

I shall most definitely go back again with friends and family, and I would drive a long way to get there. Can't recommend it highly enough.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Plough also viewed

 
Rye, East Sussex
 

Been to The Plough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Plough, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.