We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The pub you always dreamed of...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Plough

The Plough
Udimore Road, Cock Marling | Udimore, Rye TN31 6AL, England
01797 223381
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 65 restaurants in Rye
Price range: $24 - $64
Cuisines: European, Italian, British, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: A charming 17th Century pub offering deliciously different local food band Tapas from the local farms and fishing fleet.
London
1 review
“The pub you always dreamed of...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

I doubt there is a better pub in this corner of England. The Plough is the boozer you always dream of stumbling across on lazy weekend trips in the countryside. From the warm, jovial smiles that greeted us when we walked in to the imaginative, relaxed home cooking this was an experience worth straying very far from home for. The pub is run by a father and son team. Dad is a former chef at the Savoy and cooks fresh local produce that is unpretentious but has far more flair than usual pub fare. Highlights were the Bunny Burger and the Gurnard Stuffed With Lemon Rice (apparently 'work in progress' but difficult to see how it could be any more delicious). The son working front of house was the perfect host - warm, attentive, and on hand with a five foot toy alligator to keep a toddler very entertained. The passion and energy they have put in to make the pub a success is there for all to see. It makes The Plough a very special experience, worth a detour wherever you are.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    174
    25
    9
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Brilliant Easter Sunday Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

What a fantastic place!

The father / son team at The Plough have created something very special here. Fantastic food, a warm and welcoming environment complete with board games and cozy fires, friendly, relaxed service and it won't break the bank - what more could you want?

I have eaten here a couple of times now - and I can't fault the food. The first time I came I had the pigeon and wild mushroom risotto - which was just fabulous followed by yummy honey combe ice cream. I suggested to my mum that we try it out for Easter Sunday lunch. The roast lamb with all the trimmings (including exceptionally delicious cheesy leeks) was exceptional. Beautifully tender meat - served pink, delicious crunch roasties and delicious veg. The only better one I have had is my mums!

We had a brilliant day - and will be back! What a find!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ewhurst green
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great pub, excellent food and service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

We have visited the Plough several times and will be back many more!! The ambience is just right, very friendly and welcoming and the food is superb. Local produce, cooked with flair and imagination and proper portions! My wife and children loved it too and anywhere that can keep the whole family happy deserves five stars. Well done and keep up the great work. We will be back soon.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northiam, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A lovely warm welcome and stunning, delicious menu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

We had the Tapas for our firsth visit and the quality was superb ! The manager and chef were very friendly and welcoming as were all the other staff too.
You can even look for the 'Crocagators' in the garden ! This kept me amosed so Im sure it would amuse kids too !

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, United Kingdom
1 review
“'Absolutely Fabulous'”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

What a find !!!!! Great hospitality and service, Wonderful Creative menu with lot's of choice, cooked superbly and tasted out of this world. Could not recommend enough, cannot wait to go back for more Locally sourced, Highest quality food. Thank-you for such a positive Dining experience.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Plough also viewed

 

Been to The Plough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Plough, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.