We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great to be able to bring a dog!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ypres Castle Inn Restaurant

Ypres Castle Inn Restaurant
Gun Gardens, Rye TN31 7HH, England
+44 1797 223248
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 59 Restaurants in Rye
Price range: $11 - $45
Cuisines: British, English, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: As new owners to the pub as of mid December 2013 we have carried out a refurbishment to the pub bringing a new lease of life to a great pub. The Ypres Castle Inn (Wipers) is a 17th Century pub that offers a large selection of local real ales along with lagers and most others drinks found in public houses. We provide a lunch and evening menu of local produce all cooked within the pub kitchen. At busy times you may incur a slight delay with food orders due to large order volumes and small kitchen facilities but the wait is worth it. We have a large beer garden with pleasant views. We are child and dog friendly. We have live music on a Friday night from 9.30pm and again on Sunday evening from 7.00 until 9.00pm In August we have an outside stage for music for a few weeks please check the website for more information on this nearer the time. The pub is located next to the Ypres Castle which is adjacent to Rye Church We look forward to seeing you soon
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great to be able to bring a dog!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

Overall we had a lovely meal at this pub. I really liked the pared down decor and colour scheme and thought the windows look great undressed giving more light and views, even if this is unintentional. I don't think this pub needs to add any more pub features either, just some artwork would be more than adequate. Most pubs are too dark, so this made a welcome change. The food was very good, although I did feel both of the dishes we ordered from the dinner menu just a little overpriced for the portion size. The Romney Marsh lamb was delicious but I would have appreciated just a little more ratatouille and potatoes. My husband had the pork belly which didn't really have a lot of meat on it for the price.

The service we received from the waiter was very friendly and efficient but we did think that the manager could have looked a bit more welcoming when we arrived. We were the first guests of the evening and it almost felt like we had intruded. Maybe he's a little shy but a warmer smile and greeting would have made us feel more welcome.

Overall a lovely pub though that we would be happy to return to. It was also a real bonus to be able to bring our dogs!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garry D, Owner at Ypres Castle Inn Restaurant, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Thank you for the feedback
We are still trying to source more suitable artwork and since your visit have added a few more pictures to the pub interior we are pleased your liked what has been done so far to the pub.

Regards the food I will pass your comments on to the head chef usually our portions are considered generous not sure why you received smaller dishes for which I apologise.

With regards to the pork we have been obtaining this through a local butcher as we do all our meat. We have however lately had some belly's of pork that have been rather fatty we have already passed our concerns onto the butcher who assures us he will provide a better cut of pork. We will continue to monitor the quality

We hope to see you again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    67
    16
    9
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Excellent Lunch and surroundings!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

We had Sunday lunch at the Ypres Castle Inn. Portions were great and the food delicious. Would dealy love to know the secret of the mushy peas. I am not normally a lover of mushy peas and we about to give the pot to my partner but decided to have a little taste and am so glad that I did! Definitely the best EVER mushy peas ... would love the recipe. It is worth a visit for the chips alone! Sadly it was raining quite hard or we would have stayed to enjoy the great jazz in the garden. Will definitely re-visit each time we return to Rye.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garry D, Owner at Ypres Castle Inn Restaurant, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Thank you for your kind feedback we are pleased you enjoyed the food and surroundings along with the home made mushy peas (chefs secret) we look forward to seeing you again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southend
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Just keeps getting beter....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

We have just returned home after 3 weeks in Rye and visited the Ypres several times, a couple of times with family who were visiting us. We had the wonderful fish and chips, and our guests said it was the best they had ever had. How previous reviews can say this is frozen baffles me as it is thick, full of flavour and perfectly cooked. There is live music here on Fridays and Sundays and we enjoyed both of the acts we saw. I can honestly say this place just keeps getting better. Lovely food, great beer/wine and most importantly very friendly staff. Looking forward to going back over the Bank Holiday.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garry D, Owner at Ypres Castle Inn Restaurant, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Thank you once again for the fantastic review, we will strive to continue to impress. We look forward to seeing you over the bank holiday weekend and hope the sun shines for all in Rye.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faversham
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best pub in Rye”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Great location, excellent beer, friendly service and good, hearty food. Just needs to add a little character to the decor and restore some traditional pub features.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garry D, Owner at Ypres Castle Inn Restaurant, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to pass on your review of the pub. We are pleased you enjoyed you visit to Wipers.
We are still trying to complete the pub refurbishment and are always looking out for suitable local artwork etc to complete dressing the pub with.
We are still to sort curtains and other windows surrounds which hopefully we will finalise in the near future we just seem to always be short of time.
We look forward to welcoming you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A real Gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We visited this pub on a trip to Rye with our two Cockers and wasn't disappointed ..... What a lovely place.....very friendly staff, food very good, excellent pint , fresh interior.....very dog friendly , even had a jar of biscuits for them on the bar....lovely touch, one of nicest pubs in Rye ( and we've been to most of them ! )

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garry D, Owner at Ypres Castle Inn Restaurant, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Thank you for your kind words we are glad both you and your dogs had an enjoyable experience and we look forward to welcoming you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ypres Castle Inn Restaurant also viewed

 
Rye, East Sussex
 

Been to Ypres Castle Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ypres Castle Inn Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.