We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a special place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Mermaid Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Mermaid Inn to your Saves list
The Mermaid Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mermaid St., Rye TN31 7EU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Rye
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“What a special place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We stayed one night in may to celebrate our 25th anniversary. It was a beautiful day & we enjoyed a lovely pre dinner drink outside. The food was fantastic with excellent old fashioned service. We had the Elizabethan room which was massive, & very atmospheric. It was above the bar & you could hear the chatter from below but no more than normal hotel noise really. It has secret passage & lovely views across the valley. No ghosts seen luckily & the creaking we heard all night was found to be the central heating system which we had though we had turned off!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    112
    64
    31
    23
See reviews for
46
283
18
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

As a regular visitor to Rye and to the Mermaid, this year I decided to arrange a weekend get-together with seven friends to the Mermaid. Some years ago I wrote a review about the poor service but, as I love the building and location, I wanted to give it another chance for a very special occasion. I was very happy with the experience: lovely old room with great character; very good lunch of Skate Wings and friendly service. The breakfast was excellent and, if you're looking for a quiet time, they have two rooms in the morning: families with children in one room and couples/ adults in the other (personally I am happy to have families in the dining room but some of my party thought it was a nice touch from both the perspective of the families who can allow their kids freedom to make noise etc and the other guests who can enjoy a peaceful start to the day). I will definitely rebook.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have lovely views of Mermaid Street, although there was some noise (not enough to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chestfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

We stayed in the Mermaid for one night to celebrate our friends' 60th birthday. Beautifull building, full of quirky passages, antiques portraits and pictures. We had a lovely room and so did our friends. The staff were friendly and helpful. We would definately come back

Room Tip: Rooms at the back or side are quiter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandgate, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

The Mermaid Inn oozes history from every beam and creaky floorboard. Some rooms have secret passages, others four-poster beds. From the second floor the spacious rooms look across the valley, others look out on to the famed cobbled Mermaid Street. The bar boasts one of the country’s largest open log fires. This is a fantastic slice of real English history.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

The Mermaid is a beautiful hotel and with a rich history and is a must visit whilst in Rye. I visited the hotel for lunch with high expectations of the food. The menu promises much, and is more expensive than neighbouring premises. The presentation was excellent. But the food was average. I had the fish and chips. The haddock was good, but the batter was under cooked, as was my friends. I watched fellow diners leave large portions of their meals. The staff were friendly, the atmosphere was good. The food was average and over priced with more effort going into the presentation rather than the cooking of the food.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

Agree with a previous reviewer: five star prices, one star service - especially at reception. Evening meal and breakfast also disappointing. Many better places to eat in Rye if you are looking for local fresh seafood.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

Arrived in bar for lunch Wednesday afternoon . Bar man very nice and helpfull . Ordered food , burger and chips , rack of ribs and half roast chicken.
Food arrived on hot plates , rack of ribs large and very nice , burger and chips ,ok ,salad very limp, not fresh.
Roast chicken , what a shame a three star hotel can't cook a piece of chicken ,I cut into the chicken and it was totally cold inside the outside was warm .
I called over the waiter and told him quietly that my chicken was not hot , and very surprised that it was not fresh and only heated up , or should I say not even heated up.
He took it away and informed me they would do another one , after some time ..... My husband and son had now finished their meals , the waiter brought out my chicken , again on a hot plate , by now I was really hungry . I cut into the chicken it was hot on the outside but still only warm on the inside ,so I only ate the outside , if I hadn't been so hungry I'd have sent it back..
Why is it you can't check the inside heat of the chicken before you send it out to a customer or even cook it from fresh and not just try and heat a pre cooked piece up?
Tables and chair arms were very sticky , maybe the odd wipe off would help.
Ladies toilets needed a good clean , blood and dirty marks on wall in right hand toiled cubicle . AlsoThick old dust on nearly all services .
On back of door cleaning rota shows no sign of being used .
My husband also said the mens toilets needed cleaning as well .
What a shame , I know the Mermaid is an old building , but no excuse . Get a good cleaner .
I will say the Bar man and waiter , were very polite and friendly .
And it was a nice place to have a drink.
When we came to pay the bill I was charged half price for the chicken , I'd rather of had a proper cooked chicken and paid full price .

Room Tip: Sorry rated rooms average , I clicked wrong rating and then couldn't delete it . We didn't s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Mermaid Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mermaid Inn

Address: Mermaid St., Rye TN31 7EU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Rye
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Rye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mermaid Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally, dating from 1156, the Mermaid was rebuilt in 1420, much as it still stands today, as the principal Inn of Rye. The Mermaid now caters for those who appreciate tradition and charm, coupled with the modern facilities required by today's guest. So, from a picturesque cobbled street; step back in time to experience the unique atmosphere of one of England's oldest and loveliest Inns. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your The Mermaid Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mermaid Hotel Rye
Mermaid Hotel Rye
Mermaid Inn Rye
Mermaid Rye

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mermaid Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.