We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Local meat and fish” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hope Anchor Hotel Restaurant

The Hope Anchor Hotel Restaurant
Watchbell Street, Rye TN31 7HA, England
01797 222216
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 68 Restaurants in Rye
Price range: $6 - $45
Cuisines: English, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The Hope Anchor is one of the more notable hotels in Rye being the inspiration for the Traders Arms in EF Bensons Mapp and Lucia books and also the Gay Dolphin in Malcolm Saville’s childrens’ books. It is even mentioned briefly in the famous Dr Syn books. Combined with its smuggling heritage, as the watering hole of the Tenterden Gang, it has had a most exciting and lively history. Nowadays it is more sedate, although never boring, and provides a relaxed and tranquil setting for those who wish to enjoy the more sophisticated things in life.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Local meat and fish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

Saturday evening meal booked on reputation alone and we were very impressed.
The local dover sole and local lamb was excellent and overall quality was good.
Plenty of attention to filling upwine glasses and genuinely friendly.
Would definitely go again.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    25
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, Kent
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Lovely Sunday lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

My son and I enjoyed a very good Sunday lunch. Despite them having no record of our booking the staff were excellent and found us a table.. The food was well prepared and looked very attractive. Tap water was offered without having to ask. The meal was good value for money.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“No wwelcome on the hillside”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

My husband & I were staying in Rye, researching hotels for future stays. We went to the hotel bar one evening for a drink, we were the only customers there. My husband tried to make conversation with the bar man but to no avail. He only asked us one question, 'were we residents' when we said no he made no effort to talk to us. Begrudgingly he told us that he was a local landlord prior to working at the hotel, he must have left his customer service skills at his old pub. After one drink we left, as we did not feel comfortable. We did not expect to make friends with the bar man just polite conversation & a welcome he didn't even say, thank you or good bye. First impressions of this hotel was poor, we would not return.

    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fabulous meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Visited last Friday as a group of 4 friends. Warmly welcomed, excellent service but not too intrusive. Water glasses topped up throughout the meal, appropriate breaks between courses. Food fresh, well cooked and beautifully presented. Excellent value for money. Would recommend and will return soon.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redhill, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Really great food & v reasonable special offer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

I booked a table at the restaurant based on the reviews and was v pleased I did. The staff are v friendly and food was really tasty. We had the offer of £25 a head for 3 courses which included a bottle of wine. Wine was good too. Both of us really like the food. We were left long enough between courses to have a break but staff were attentive when we asked for something. I've only knocked off one star as the restaurant was a little quiet at times.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hope Anchor Hotel Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Hope Anchor Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hope Anchor Hotel Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.