We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceded all expectations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The George in Rye

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The George in Rye to your Saves list
The George in Rye
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   98 High St, Rye TN31 7JT, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Rye
Newbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Exceded all expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We chose to stay here during the week of the scallop festival. The menu was superb....we both chose scallops ceviche and then I had lobster, my partner lamb. Although it was very busy the staff were attentive and the meal, piping hot arrived promptly and was delicious.

Room Tip: To floor has wonderful views and is very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

696 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    325
    207
    92
    48
    24
See reviews for
66
472
7
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We stayed one night at the George. I absolutely loved it. The room had a great decor, very individual. Nice touch to leave a Style Inc magazine! The bed was very comfy and the room was very quiet so we had a great night's sleep. We had dinner at the Grill which was lovely. The only thing I would say was that there were few veggie options but the meal itself was great. Breakfast was amazing, A great choice of food, all of the highest quality. We found that all the staff were super friendly and very efficient and they seemed to really care. Loved the stripy tops, jeans and converse as a uniform, nice touch. Rye itself was great, beautiful old streets with some great shops. The weather was ghastly, but that did not matter as it just meant we could spend more time in our lovely room (and more time shopping of course...)
All in all, a great experience!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

My husband and I stayed in this hotel using a Travelzoo voucher and had a very enjoyable stay. The hotel in in the centre of Rye and convenient for all the local attractions. The room was very comfortable and luxurious. The toiletries and refreshments in the room were top of the range. The staff were friendly and nothing was too much trouble.

We ate in the restaurant, which was part of the deal, the food was above average but not fantastic.

There is no parking but parking is available near by.

Room Tip: we stayed in a superior room that faced on to the High Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We came here for my birthday in December. The hotel is in a fantastic location and has a cosy, warm atmosphere. The bar downstairs is perfect for a pint and a game of cards. The restaurant food was excellent once it came but the service was very disappointing - over an hour to receive our main course and no apologies from the staff until we complained. It's a great shame as the rest of our experience was fantastic and this really let it down.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

stayed one night in a room at back of main building.Extremely large and comfortable.Staff were helpful and attentive. Allot of time has been spend on attention to detail to ensure your stay is of a high standard.Ate in the main restaurant where the food is divine offering fresh local produce especially the sea food.A really good gastro experiance .Would've have liked to have stayed longer .

Room Tip: Room 45 is well worth the stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Went back to the George for a pre christmas chillout.
Sadly not as enjoyable as the last time, nice room and surroundings as ever, lovely meal.

What was totally unacceptable was the leaky bath. Pre dinner the bath leaked considerably from the plug and overflow pipe, had to use every towel to mop it up.

Reported this to staff on the way down to dinner that only one of us had managed a bath and all the towels were sopping wet in the bath.
After dinner no change, next morning no change, not even a new towel offered.
Not happy customers!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeinRye, Guest Relations Manager at The George in Rye, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Fellow Trip Advisor,
I apologise sincerely for the problems you experienced during your stay and I thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback on your experience. I am sorry that we, clearly, did not live up to your expectations but also I am sorry that the problem was not handled or managed very well. In the event of such a problem occurring in a room, it is the responsibility of the Duty manager to do whatever is necessary to resolve the issue and this has not happened on this occasion. Also, as loyal guest of the george, it is terribly important that you do feel we have handled your comments accordingly and, therefore, I ask you if you would be as so kind as to contact the General Manager to make yourself known and we will be able to offer a personal apology for the inconvenience caused to you during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

Just back from a 1 night stay at The George in Rye.
We were lucky enough to park directly outside the hotel on the main st. From the moment we walked into the hotel I wondered if we should have extended our trip to be a 2 night break- hotel decor and ambiance lovely

Gorgeous bar and restaurant areas
Although we paid for a superior room I did find it quite small
Great Ren products in bathroom, bottles of both sparkling and still water in room which was a nice detail

Felt the bathroom could have done with some refreshing- despite immaculate decor thoughtout the hotel, I felt the lino bathroom flooring and bodyshop inflatable bath pillow a little off the mark. Also some marks on wall that needed retouched

Dinner at the hotel was great- we had oysters and scallops to start with followed by a main of lobster- really very good!

Breakfast next morning also great- but would have liked some fresh berries with my French toast! Great service.

I struggle to find any major fault with the george- a pricey stay, but relaxing, confortable and enjoyable. Would definitely go back

Rye is a fantastic little town, beautiful old streets to explore, quirky arts and gift shops, lots of antique shops if that's your thing.. And lots of great independent shops, pubs- a lovely place to spend a weekend wandering around- a lot prettier than I had imagined.

A great weekend break away from London

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeinRye, Guest Relations Manager at The George in Rye, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Fellow Trip Advisor,

TOP MARKS!!! Thank you so much for such a wonderful review and we are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay at The George In Rye. You have offered a very helpful and valuable insight to the hotel and what we offer and your suggestions have been passed to the team. Also I have passed on your comments to all the staff who work so hard to please all our guests, locals, and corporates no matter what who. Many thanks again and please do come and visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The George in Rye? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George in Rye

Address: 98 High St, Rye TN31 7JT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Rye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Rye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The George in Rye 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The George in Rye reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George In Rye Hotel Rye
George Hotel Rye
The George Rye
George Rye

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The George in Rye, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.